You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Old House, Revisited

in HiveBloPoMo2 years ago

My husband built this house from the ground up and I just couldn't imagine living anywhere else. We built to suit are needs and he was in the process of an aging -in-place addition when he died at Christmas 2020. I am now the GC and working to finish the addition with the help of a 77 year old carpenter.

I've lived here since 1983 and while we moved often as renters, once we had this, we had no interest in being anywhere else.

So I'm really curious what you would be seeking in a new place.....

Sort:  

It's mostly to do with zoning. I'd love to keep her, but the area is zoned for units and I'm slowly being surrounded by them. The zoning also means I can't do a lot of the improvements I'd like to or split the block to reduce the amount of upkeep it requires, so it was better to make the decision to move and find somewhere suitably zoned that I can pour my money and time into than to continue on here.

Ahhh, that makes total sense!