Memories from Vicenza - Italy!

in SaturdayMemories2 years ago

IMG_20220705_190317.jpg

Oh my... it's not the first time I have had some memories on Saturday, decided to write a post in the Saturday Memories community, but I published it on Sunday! And actually memories about the same city I visited this summer. With the same people even. Must be something connected with all this place/people/community/day mixture or is it just me who gets distracted or unable to do what I plan to do? A slight migraine thing and an afternoon walk longer than it was planned kicked me out of the writing time for Saturday. Not really happy that I break the rules now and publish this on Sunday...

Wait!
There are no rules in the description section that it has to be published on Saturday!! Cool! So here it comes, our visit to Vicenza in the summer of 2022.

IMG_20220705_200912.jpg

Vicenza, a medium-sized city in the north of Italy was visited by us already for several times. We usually take here a break from driving and believe it or not, even the hotel is always the same where we book. Ok, it happened in August when we had to delay our travel back to Spain due to illness that we didn't find a room in that hotel so we went to Padua, but in July we had luck.

IMG_20220705_191658.jpg

The interesting thing about Vicenza is that it is always cloudy or raining when we are there. And it's always summer we are there 😂

This time... it was a nice day with blue sky but just a little bit cloudy in the afternoon when we were there (though in the night it rained, I even woke up to the sound of the thunders)

IMG_20220705_192721.jpg

As you may know from this post, we met with the Italian Hivians. Talked to them the day before from our accommodation in France, and made the plan to meet in Vicenza. They had to drive from Venice to get to that mini meet-up but I think they also liked the small excursion to Vicenza and having some hours with us. Talked to them on the phone when we arrived, took a small rest and agreed to meet in the city park.

IMG_20220705_191536.jpg

IMG_20220705_191409.jpg

It is a normal and ordinary park, with a lot of greenery, nothing special and nothing out of this world, though it displayed a lot of statues and artworks. Also, a fountain - without water!! As they have to save water so all the fountains are dry... 🤔
We just passed through this park and went to see the city centre and the buildings I like to observe.

IMG_20220705_191522_BURST1.jpg

In old Italian cities, we can see a lot of old churches and temples. This one is the Temple of San Lorenzo, located in the same named square, San Lorenzo. The clouds were there just to threaten a bit, but no rain came from the sky. Just warmth, so we stopped here and bought a few bottles of water in a small shop we found near there.

IMG_20220705_192851.jpg

IMG_20220705_193432.jpg

The interior of the same church. I liked the symmetry and the striped columns. Also, the ceiling is stunning and so bright. In France, when you enter a cathedral, you don't see so much light... the interior of them is much darker.

IMG_20220705_193243.jpg

In the San Lorenzo square, I saw a statue...

IMG_20220705_193104.jpg

... and interesting artwork, bronze figures challenging the laws of physics.

IMG_20220705_192750.jpg

Another awesome building that you can see in Vicenza is the Cathedral of Santa Maria Annunziata. So unusual with that rounded shape. A bit of research had to be done, and when I saw the name of Andrea Palladio, as the one who planned the cupola, a bell rang. Of course, Andrea Palladio and his architectural influence on the buildings of northeastern Italy, especially in Vicenza and Venice.

IMG_20220705_201227.jpg

Let's get closer to it :)

IMG_20220705_201305.jpg

From here we continued our walk on this palladian itinerary. We saw a board that informed us about the building we can see on our path... Palazzo Valmarana, Palazzo Thiene Bonin Longare, Plazzo Porto, Palazzo Barbaran da Porto, Palazzo di Iseppo Porto, Chieso Santa Mazia Nova, Loggia del Capitaniato, Logge del Palazzo della Ragione, Palazzo Civena... {how did you like this Italian language course? 🤣}
We see a lot of palaces on the list, houses of the lords who lived in the time when Andrea Palladio was an architect of fame in the area. Vicenza is marked by his work!

We arrived at Piazza dei Signori which is the main square of the city. All around work of that noble architect from the past. These two columns give place in the top to statues, the Lion of Sant Mark and the other is called Il Redentore.

IMG_20220705_195955.jpg

The next photo, from the same square, shows the La Basilica Palladiana and Torre di Piazza.
You see here some people working around and a scene, cameras. It happened that a rehearsal was held for a concert, and we listened to it a bit. However, it is a story for another post, as I have recorded some parts of the beautiful music we heard here :)

IMG_20220705_194956.jpg

IMG_20220705_195028.jpg

The parts of the scene and loudspeakers, and cameras all around. So from the square itself I can't show you a clean photo, but you can get an idea about the old buildings that are standing here for several centuries.

IMG_20220705_200611.jpg

But getting closer I could catch this building, Chiesa di San Vincenzo (church of San Vicenzo).

IMG_20220705_200247.jpg

A small bronze artwork detail in the square:

IMG_20220705_200302.jpg

I found several of these figures, so in the passage by the Basilica Palladiana too. I loved this one.

IMG_20220705_200409.jpg

We moved forward, and guess what. I saw again some figures :) I think I started to pay attention to smaller details in the cities. The old historical buildings are cool and have a lot of value, but these small figures give the impression that exists something else than just buildings in this city. There are people, who like to create and play, like the children in this next scene:

IMG_20220705_201155.jpg

Still, more and more buildings are what we saw that afternoon before we found the place where we had our dinner. So, be prepared to see this:

IMG_20220705_194134.jpg

... and more churches...

IMG_20220705_194557.jpg

..and more facades...

...and more squares...

...and more passages...

Well, I think you would run away if I continue with all these squares, passages and facades, so I think it's time to finish this post about the memories of one visited city this summer. Just a last photo, showing a hall from a private house/garden where the main door was open so I ventured myself and entered there, although there was a sign: No trespassing, private.

:D

IMG_20220705_202123.jpg

Vicenza it was, as you could already remember from here, and yes, if we drive again by it, probably we will stop again to rest in the same city and same hotel!

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

but I think they also liked the small excursion to Vicenza and having some hours with us.

It was our great pleasure, without a single doubt! 🙏

My thought is that you are very well inclined to be a tour guide: you are so good at studying and disseminating the artistic heritage of the past, not missing out on interesting details! 😎

I also love the way you know how to create suspense: I can't wait to see the rehearsal of the Vicenza concert, in one of your next posts! 😜

A huge hug! 🤗

Ciao amico!!! 😉

A tour guide!? Why not, but just as a hobby, as piano is still here taking my full attention and time 😇🎹🎶🎶🎶
Maybe, in a city where there are pianos on the streets for everyone to be used, so I can show the city to people and also have a concert 😂
Multitasking 😁

I also love the way you know how to create suspense: I can't wait to see the rehearsal of the Vicenza concert, in one of your next posts!

I will need a small help with that 😬...
As I forgot what they said to you when you asked. Tried to search the events back in July but I am not sure if I found the good one. Will write you a DM these days 🙂

Beautiful buildings!

For sure they are 😉

beautiful, I really hope that one day I will see all this with my own eyes, and of course take photos🙂.it's never to late for positing this kind of pictures and story 😉 enjoy my dear👋👋

Hi there @prudens

It is not that far away from your place, just several hours of driving from Serbia to Vicenza... if the border between Slovenia and Croatia is not congested.
I hope you can indeed visit it one day ;)

I will, I will 🤞

Vicenza seems to be a very worthwhile stop. No wonder you keep returning there ;) The bronze sculptures look really great.
But also the flying appearing figures in the passage are quite great!
I have only been to Rome and the Adriatic Sea near Rimini. It is still my dream to make once a camper tour across Italy. We are missing so far only the camper ;)
Your photos confirm once again that it would be worth it :) Thanks for these great impressions!
!LUV
!PIZZA

Yes, we keep returning there, also as the service in the accomodation was great.
The flying figures are great, indeed. I loved them. :)
Good luck with getting a camper and making the tour 🤞 and thank you for stopping by @karizma

Have a good Sunday ☀️

Wow 😳 this is amazing 😍 so beautiful pictures , I really wish to be here one day.. you have been captivating my souls with different pictures of yours. Keep the good work going 💕.

Glad you liked the place and this post! Maybe your wish come true and you visit it one day 🍀

Thank you for always putting a smile on my face with all your beautiful 😍 pictures that is always captivating. I will love to be seeing more of them 🥰

There's lots of things to see and, and see, and see. Ha, ha, ha, ha. I liked the Italian course. I said all the names doing this gesture 🤌. That makes it sound proper, right?

The photos are amazing. There are always such nice things to see in Europe.

Hahaha, you read the Italian names doing that hand gesture? That's cool.

When I was teaching one group of little students how to say and remember the terms mezzo piano and mezzo forte we were using those hand gestures hahaha, and also mixed there the example of pizza. They loved that lesson, we laughed a lot!

Thanks for coming with me to my travels :)

It's not fair! I wanna go like for real. 😂😂😂 Have go to Europe so I can get my passport with some cool stamps!

Ha, ha, ha, ha. I love it. That's the way to teach children. They became a little bit more Italian. 🤌🤌🤌

Have go to Europe so I can get my passport with some cool stamps!

I have to disappoint you, you would not get a lot of cool stamps. When you cross the borders of the countries that are in the European Union, you don't really cross real borders where they check your passport. I mean, no borders haha. It is only if you go outside of that territory, to the countries that are not members of the EU.

I see. But don't I get one in the place I land? That's a cool stamp to get. And that would be all I need. 😂

Yeah, probably you would get one. But sometimes they just scan the passport and that's all ...
Still, you would not come here just for the stamp, would you? There is so many things to see and I am sure you would enjoy the experience 🙂

Really? That's no fun at all. But I guess it's progress or something.

You're right, there's so much to do and see. And that's what I wanna do. Also, make some great content like this post. ✨✨✨

My first time to know this community.. Thanks for introducing..
Btw, your photos are great as usual. 😊
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @mipiano and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I am glad you got to know now this community :)

It is a nice place, not very active at the moment but maybe more people will start to publish here their memories, on Saturdays. It would be cool :)

Wow! The heritage sites here are very beautiful miss @mipiano, I am also hoping to meet other Hivers around the globe.

Yes, Italy is just beautiful with its architecture.
I already met several Hivers, and that is a good feeling meeting someone you knew before just through the screen : )

Italy, I really want to visit this country, I like valentino rossi, even my account also wears his no arena😅

Really? A Valentino Rossi fan? oh yeah, 46 is his number, I didn't know it was because of him! 🏍️

I hope one day you can visit Italy then 🥂

Hopefully, just pray for me to be successful here so that you can invite you to meet my idol😅

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@karizma(1/5) tipped @mipiano (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Beautiful photography and also great writing friend ❤️❤️

All the buildings has their own unique styles, I really love this kind of atmosphere. I would keep the memory like you too if I had. Well I haven’t meet a Hivers from other country yet, I hope to meet them one day.

I like these buildings too, the Italian architecture in general.
Meeting other hivers is a great thing. If from another country, English is our language, though I can understand a bit of Italian too, but just a little bit :)

Hope you can travel abroad and meet also other hive people. 🥂

The city and the sculptures are really beautiful, thanks for your presentation

Yes, I also liked the place and the details I saw. :) Thank you for reading and for your comment ( I am a bit late with responding these days 😬 )