Where to buy silver in Canada?

Silver, Coin, Proof Silver Eagle, Numismatic
source

I'm looking for a trustworthy and affordable site for silver in Canada. I have a couple of coins now but would like to buy some more for a little bit of diversity. After our debit system was shut down over telecoms the other day I got thinking more about what I would do and I remembered this community when I used to be on Steemit but Steemit doesn't look like I want to hang out there.

Basically, I don't want to get ripped off on shipping or getting fake coins or something but I don't know enough to know if I'm getting ripped or not. I also don't want to get charged a bunch of customs fees and I don't want to deal with crooked ebay.

Thank you in advance!

Sort:  

I have done business with these Canadian Retailer's websites;
https://silvergoldbull.ca/
https://www.colonialacres.com/
https://thecoinshoppe.ca/

In person (Vancouver, BC);
https://www.vbce.ca/
https://www.bordergold.com/ (website sales too)

This would be a good start I hope.

Thank you very much! I have seen that silvergoldbull.ca on facebook recently. Probably because I started looking at coins. I generally don't trust facebook advertisers so I didn't look into them.

edit: I just went to look and I am confused.

What makes the Marilyn Monroe 1 oz $5 coin worth so much less than the Helios 1 oz, $2 coin? I am thinking maybe I should just stick with bullion or something because some of the coins I have looked at are way out of whack for the size of them for me. I couldn't imagine paying $110 for an ounce of silver, even though it's probably the art you pay for.

Stacking, collecting, or both? What is your objective in buying Silver or precious metals? Investment, Hedge, savings, or for fun? Do you have a Stacking plan?
I've asked myself these questions early back in 2015 when I started. Understood why was doing this. Budgeted accordingly, then started out simple until I achieved a few financial objectives before becoming more specialized.

Well I just want to have something that's tradeable in case of emergency down the road. My great uncle died and left three chests full of silver and gold coins for his kids but it was for an emergency. He didn't trust the banks very much and when he died there was $140000 in coins in these chests. I am just thinking that if I pick up some affordable silver that I could put away, it would be a good thing to have on hand. I do like a lot of the coins but I was thinking of silver for trading as silver, not as a piece of art.

Sorry for the delay.
I started out with Maple Leafs back in 2014 and at the time the premiums were much lower than today. They are Legal Tender, recognized by banks and financial institutions being backed by the RCM and therefore very liquid and less hassle in Canada.
The next best option would generic silver, lower price but may be subject to some Buyer scrutiny.
Sometime the Retailers would have deals of Legal Tender coins selling at decent prices compared with generic.
Stay away from Numismatic and semi-numismatic.

I just looked up numismatic and I will stay away from that. I think the ones I have, are all numismatic. I just find it weird that a coin containing an ounce of silver can be a $2 or $5 coin. I think I will probably buy some generic silver as well as some Canadian coins. I heard there is a card and collectibles shop in town that sells coins so I will check it out tomorrow when we go in. I imagine the prices will be high because it's an oilfield town but you never know. I will check the pawn shops too. If nothing else it will let me know if I am getting a deal online.

I tried Colonial Acres and got these. The Temple of Artemis is for my wife because she got her firearms license this weekend and will be my goddess of the hunt. Thanks for the help.

Looking forward to Show-and-Tell.

I will have even love to buy some silver coin in my country here Nigeria but there is no seller

In your whole country? Wow. Can you buy it online from somewhere else? Maybe that would be a good business to get into there.

Congratulations @fromthebeginning! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!