You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 1888 Coins, Part 4: SEATED LIBERTY DIME

Nice coins and great music, and hearing the music brought a question to my mind.

Screenshot_2020-08-05 Kid with beer Meme Generator - Imgflip.png

So I did a little sleuthing about on the old inter web.

Screenshot_2020-08-05 BEER Meme Generator - Imgflip.png

Yep TWO GALLONS of Beer!

Screenshot_2020-08-05 Quarterly reports of the chief of the Bureau of statistics showing the imports and exports of the Uni[...].png

The price was 50 cents a gallon!

I am sure you were just as curious as I was to know that answer!

Another useless piece of information now forever etched in my brain.

Sort:  

WOW, $700M for liquor for 3 years in 1886 at a time when beer was 50 cents a gallon! Did women eat as much chocolates during that time too? or maybe chocolates were not invented yet?

CHocolates.jpg