You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First Coin From A Coin Shop

A fine tribute to the long running 25 Cent Caribou since 1937.
Sweet! You've even knocked off $10 of the price tag too.
8500 mintage.
If you have to handle it outside it's capsule, use clean cotton gloves over a padded surface. You're new to opening capsules so I'd suggest practicing with a stunt coin double first.

Sort:  

I have taken the other coins out a lot but didn't wear gloves. I don't think I will take these out because I don't want to take the chance with my clumsy hands. I'm looking forward to using my scrap money to buy more coins. He had some sets of old Canadian coins that were $1500 and up but I don't like those that much. These special coins are fascinating though. I remember when the quarter came out with the coloured poppy and stuff and was amazed with how cool it was.

Do other countries have mints that produce unique sets like these? I remember trucking in the states many years ago and they had the state quarters that were pretty cool but they didn't have colour on them.

The RCM has been on the cutting edge experimenting with different coloring and hologram technologies over the last decade. I'm starting to see some colored coins coming from other countries over the last few years especially from Europe and the Pacific Islands.