Why do people fear personal blogging? Do you need help?

in Inspire People3 years ago (edited)

Hello Inspire People Community!

Today I would like to talk about the "Why do people fear personal blogging?" question.

Probably because why they fear everything else. But also because who likes to talk about their problems?

And they fear critique. They fear that the most. And unreliability. Failure.

But we should talk about our problems without fearing anything. And the "problems" may include even more serious things than everyday problems. For example if you are in emotional trouble, do not be afraid to express your problems. Do not be afraid to ask for help.

img_0.6528205893013126.jpg
Image source: https://thewell.unc.edu.

It is important to many people to write a personal blog, but many of them do not like to reveal their identity (full name and face). They would like to live in satisfying anonimity, where they are certainly allowed to keep their self-identity, where they do not need to hide nor when they love themselves, neither when they consider themselves unworthy to live, neither their fight for a balance between the two. There are many kinds of problems. And many people do not even write personal blogs.

Either way, anonymously or with identity, if you have any problems, do not be afraid to explain it in blog posts. Or even in a comment under this or any other post.

I am also going through hard things in my life, and I (and many other people) will try to help (motivate and inspire) you as much as I/we can. After all this is why this community is created for.

So, do you need help?

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

My anonymity is not likely because I am afraid to show myself to the public. I made a promise to myself to go public once I achieved my goal of becoming a proper writer and when I'm able to publish a proper book. I understand that my identity wouldn't be a secret anymore one day, but right now, I'm fixated with being anonymous under my pen name.

In my personal opinion, I shouldn't be saying this because I might break that promise. But what's written here call for it. So I just said it without thinking twice.

I hope @playfulfoodie, @wakeupkitty.pal, @asktanj and @samuelvoncocceji can join us in the community. I'm glad that you appreciated what our dear moderator @xplosive has put into this article. Thank you for engaging. ^^

 3 years ago  

We are all humans. Sometimes we make mistakes. Including breaking promises and saying/doing something without thinking twice. I have also done many mistakes in my life, which I regret, but I do not blame anyone for any of their mistakes.

Sure, thank for inviting me at your group

You're welcome. 🙂

It's funny, I don't really mind random people on the internet to read my personal blogs, but when people I'm close to read them, I feel kind of exposed and uncomfortable. Ofcourse everyone can read whatever I put online, including that last group, but I don't encourage it.

I agree, it's good to talk about your problems. Honestly, it can even be easier with strangers. It might help yourself to talk about your issues, but I think it also helps others just to read them and realize they're not alone. We all go through tough times, life can't all be fun and games, although most people tend to only share the good.

For me, just writing the crappy stuff down helps a lot, which is part of why I like blogging. Just send it out there, so it's not just stuck in my head.

 3 years ago (edited) 

It's funny, I don't really mind random people on the internet to read my personal blogs, but when people I'm close to read them, I feel kind of exposed and uncomfortable.

Most people I am close to do not read my blogs (some of them do not even have internet connection), but even if they do, I would not feel exposed, nor uncomfortable, even when they get to know that I have done some mistakes. Some of them even know my mistakes (not from my blogs, but by my honest face-to-face admitting), and they honestly express their opinions about it, and I accept it. I trust them and they trust me. Being honest with each other is giving me good feelings, like being free. And admitting my mistakes also giving the feeling as if a great weight was lifted from me.

I agree, it's good to talk about your problems. Honestly, it can even be easier with strangers.

Not necessarily. there are bad people in the world, who look for any (even for the slightest) mistake you make (or simply for any of your problems), and they either use it against you or simply attack you for it. So because of this, it requires some kind of bravery and strength to admit your mistakes (or talk about any of your problems) in public, but I still encourage people to do it.

It is better to give out than suppress in yourself.

The only fear I can think off is that everything you write can be used against you. It's not said that talking about your problems helps. If I look around me it feels as if in most cases it does not.

 3 years ago  

The only fear I can think off is that everything you write can be used against you.

Yes, this is a valid point. Some people may do that, but luckily/fortunately I have not experienced it so far.

It's not said that talking about your problems helps. If I look around me it feels as if in most cases it does not.

It often does. You just have to ask for help in the right place. I have received a lot of help from various people and communities in my life. And if you are in the right place, you do not even have to ask. For example my current boss and my co-workers are very friendly. They are constantly giving me things like clothes, food and other things. I work in a 4 hours per day part time job, because I live with multiple disabilities. Besides the salary for my job, I also receive a pension-like income, but the life is still relatively hard for me, because I live with an income less than the minimum wage.
Yes, the salary and the pension-like combined together does not reach the minimum wage. But I still try to be happy and positive, because a lot of people are in worse situation than me. I am happy and grateful for what I have, and I appreciate every help I get. I am very grateful for them.

That was me before but now I'm already to face the socializing world at internet. Also looking for help sharin my life and personal blogs.

 3 years ago  

It is good to see that you have so good friends that you see them as family. Something similar is happening with me at my current workplace. My boss and my co-workers are very kind.

On the internet will be at the end only stereo types.

 3 years ago  

There will be only stereotypes on the internet at the end?
That is a little bit shortsighted viewpoint.
But that is okay. Everyone has their own.

Sure, you have can spear the time to evaluate everyone

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@xplosive! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @d-zero.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

 3 years ago  

Thank you. I also give you some !PIZZA.

Connect

Trade


@d-zero! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @xplosive.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

 3 years ago  

I think what most people fear, when it comes to getting down-and-dirty and REAL with their personal blogging, are the labels - and the inevitable stigmas attached to those labels. The world is doing very well in breaking down some of those stigmas, especially mental health; having major depression and/or anxiety is no longer "frowned upon" (at least not from my perspective and experience). However, the ones like "Addict", "Alcoholic", "Anorexic", "Suicide Survivor" etc., while requiring the greatest amount of balls to claim (which is often the first step in healthy recovery), are the ones that are most judged. And it's the judgement that most people avoid, hence online anonymity.

 3 years ago  

The world is doing very well in breaking down some of those stigmas, especially mental health; having major depression and/or anxiety is no longer "frowned upon" (at least not from my perspective and experience).

Somewhere I read a study that even social media itself contributes to depression. Probably more people suffer from depression than we think.

However, the ones like "Addict", "Alcoholic", "Anorexic", "Suicide Survivor" etc., while requiring the greatest amount of balls to claim (which is often the first step in healthy recovery), are the ones that are most judged.

It may be hard, but I know people, who show online, even on YouTube videos that they are addicted and/or alcoholic.

And it's the judgement that most people avoid, hence online anonymity.

Even with all the judgement one may receive, it is still worth it to admit these things, and seek help (professional, if needed). It helps to start taking steps towards recovery, like you said.

 3 years ago  

Somewhere I read a study that even social media itself contributes to depression. Probably more people suffer from depression than we think.

Absolutely..! One of the major roots of suffering is comparison...and even when we KNOW that social media is just the highlight reel, you often can't help but be sucked into that they're-so-much-better-than-me mindset...

It may be hard, but I know people, who show online, even on YouTube videos that they are addicted and/or alcoholic.

I applaud those people a million times over, I truly do admire them, and wish everyone could do so without fear of judgement! For many people the problems that often arise are at their places of work, and for their kids (if they have). I myself am a recovered alcoholic and addict, so I've attended many AA and NA meetings - the main focus of those groups is anonymity, because we ARE so aware of the judgements of others. Some folks I spoke to had even gotten fired when they posted online about being part of AA.

Even with all the judgement one may receive, it is still worth it to admit these things, and seek help (professional, if needed). It helps to start taking steps towards recovery, like you said.

100% - it's the only way to get to recovery, is to admit the problem. Own the "label", but don't let it engulf your whole being. However, we are so fortunate that, while the judgements of others and the stigmas still exist, there are safe spaces (like meetings and recovery centers) to admit our problems and start working on them privately, along with others who TRULY understand.

I fear that society at large is not yet able to fully comprehend the nature of certain beasts such as addiction, eating disorders, and all the other "embarrassing" afflictions. Until then...we forge along resiliently, but discreetly 🙂