JUST FOR THE REAR GEM {AN ORIGINAL POETRY}

Though I have a lot of junks running helter-skelter in my brain
And my sense of thought lay in a state of dilemma
Yet memories of a rear gem remain intact in my head
Not even a bit got missed.

diamond-161739.png

Image Source

Blessed is that day I find her
Gently seated like a dove on a flowering tree
But getting my eyes off her charming look became uncontrollable
And her caring heart made me a helpless victim of love shackle.

I am not in love with you; I proclaimed
But right within me; I was gradually dying of love
While I kept the pain to myself
And manage to survive the grieve of not claiming the treasure I stumble upon

Losing a rear gem is uncalled for; I said to myself
I better summon the man in me
Make my feelings known
And claim this treasure to myself.

Woe! Time and tide showed up as enemies,
And no matter how hard I tried to reach this gem,
I got distracted with how to survive,
And my sense of thought couldn’t notice this gem slip of my hands while I try to catch my breath.

Life is filled with ups and downs; I agree.
But I wonder why the journey to the gem my heart desire is filled with mountains
While valleys seem to be a mystery
as I journey through love realm.

Funny enough
That rear gem I earnestly desire
Is that same person reading through the words of my poem at this very moment
yes, you are that treasure earnestly desire.

Though I can’t make it up to you even till now
But I believe sooner or later,
I will surely catch up with you
and make my dream come through.


WRITTEN BY:
ILESANMI OLUWASHINAAYOMI
29th DECEMBER, 2021.