Sort:  

Then I should stay too. Will definitely check it out :)

Is the Billie Holiday version called Strange Fruit?
I don't find her with "Blackberry Winter" - but do find Marlene VerPlanck.

Blackberry winter comes without a warning
Just when you think that spring's around to stay
So you wake up on a cold rainy morning
And wonder what on earth became of May.

Blackberry winter only lasts a few days,
Just long enough to get you feeling sad
When you think of all the love that you wasted
On someone whom you never really had.

I'll never get over losing you
But I've had to learn that life goes on
And the memories grow dim like a half forgotten song
'Til the blackberry winter reminds me you are gone.

And I get so lonely, most of all in springtime
I wish I could enjoy the first of May
But I know it means that blackberry winter
Is not too far away.

Oh I think I got my singers mixed up! Detour Ahead is Billie's
I learned blackberry winter via Marlene's recording, her rendition is very close to the music as written. No stupid frills. Straight.

Why did you bold those two lines?

I was thinking of Tezmel's comments on being unable to move on from a lost love when I highlighted those lines. I've #BeenThere, #DoneThat - wasted time lamenting the loss of what never was, never would be. Seems to be part and parcel of the human condition. We should be more like dogs and live in the Now, but we live in the past and the worlds of what we wished for, not the world of what is here.... no Tezmel I am not trivializing your loss or your pain. Only saying I've had more years on me to think about Buddhist mantras and to try to detach. I'm nowhere near achieving "detachment" and "Letting go" and "Moving on." But I'm at least cognizant that we all must do that. And that moves me up a few tiles from Square One, right?

I was thinking of Tezmel's comments on being unable to move on from a lost love when I highlighted those lines. I've #BeenThere, #DoneThat - wasted time lamenting the loss of what never was, never would be. Seems to be part and parcel of the human condition. We should be more like dogs and live in the Now, but we live in the past and the worlds of what we wished for, not the world of what is here.... no Tezmel I am not trivializing your loss or your pain. Only saying I've had more years on me to think about Buddhist mantras and to try to detach. I'm nowhere near achieving "detachment" and "Letting go" and "Moving on." But I'm at least cognizant that we all must do that. And that moves me up a few tiles from Square One, right?