You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Maintaining the perishable

in Outdoors and more6 months ago

Today you made me think about perishable skills.... and as I was reading I was thinking about my own, even before I got to the end.

A lot of what I read I didn't know, like how that muscular ability gets lost if you don't exercise it, now I understand it and I'm glad that little by little you're getting back to it, because I know it makes you happy.

As for animals and killing, I know it's necessary, I don't think I could do it, except by force majeure, but I am aware that it's necessary and if someone with responsibility does it, it's better.

The perishable skill that I thought about is my knowledge of design, you have to keep using the programs, otherwise the lack of practice makes you forget details, for example Photoshop is something I use all the time, I don't forget it but another program like Premiere, recently a colleague asked me to help him with the editing of his videos because due to technical issues he can't do it himself and I told me .... you have to refresh that knowledge... it was there but I had somehow forgotten it because I haven't practiced it in the years that I've been in Spain. I used to give classes on that programme. Now I can help and I have in mind to learn a new one that makes designs like illustrations and I will be able to make my own drawings on the computer, it will take me some months but I will do it. The brain is a muscle and I like to train it.

I know... a very long comment hahahaha

Sort:  

The skills on a computer, a design software thingy are just as perishable as anything else so it's good to utilise the skills from time to time. The brain, just like any muscle, needs to be worked to keep it sharp - especially so as one ages.

That's why I exercise it every day and make my 70 year old mother do it too, always learning something new, always active!