You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A night out

in Outdoors and more6 months ago

I just some things about being a knucklehead, but that's ok. It's a pretty interesting way to decompress from a tough week. Also, isn't there a danger of getting bitten or attacked by a weird animal in the open?

But besides the point, the views on the place are amazing just to get there and breathe and stay still for some time.

The idea of being a responsible shooter makes a lot of sense. That's a high-caliber arm. With bullets like that who knows where the missing shots will go or even ricochet from something.

Sort:  

There's always things to run into that might bite I guess, the worst of which out there is the Eastern Brown Snake. (google it.) I've been going to places like this my whole life so know what's up.

I'm really lucky to have access to this property, a privilege created by years if doing the right thing on other properties really; farmers talk and word gets around. I treat it like it's my own, with care and respect.

Don't need to Google it. That's the most venomous snake on world if I'm not mistaken. Yesterday I saw a Goliath Stick Bug and knew it had to be Australian. Gotta give it to the Aussies and their Bad-Boss-Tier animals. Anyways, I guess there's lots of bad things you could find around.

That's a cool thing. Hard-earned trust is a luxury commodity these days.

Ah ok, so you know about it...Getting bitten by one isn't pleasing I'm told...best not to find out. Lol.

We have some crazy shit here man, no doubt, but it's generally safe, if one has a little understanding, So many (in the cities) would never have seen a crocodile, snake, shark, irukandji, deadly spider and so on in person other than maybe at a zoo or aquarium; out further though it's common place.

Yeah, I used to watch a lot of Animal Planet. Very crazy stuff you have around there. But it seems interesting to be in a place where you can talk about the dangers of going into the open with such amazing creatures.

seems interesting to be in a place where you can talk about the dangers of going into the open with such amazing creatures.

with some knowledge and respect it's generally safe enough. I mean, things happen like people getting taken by crocodiles and sharks, stung by irukandji (which is agonising and can result in death) but if the warnings are heeded then no worries. Well, except for sharks, they can be anywhere I guess and strike indiscriminately. I don't like snakes and spiders man, but they're there across the road from my house only a hundred metres away (and all over the place as well) so we have to live with them. Going to places like in this post increases the chances of seeing them but if one makes some noise they bugger off before they can be seen usually...which is an issue because when stalking game one has to be very quiet.

I hope you get to find out someday, I'd be happy to show you how it all goes if the opportunity permitted. Well, not with the sharks though, you're on your own there.

Ha, ha, ha, ha. Don't worry. I don't need to be near sharks. The other part sound interesting. It would awesome to go around the Australian outbacks with someone who knows some interesting facts about it.

DDid you know we call surfers shark biscuits. Lol.

It's all good though, they know the risks and seem happy to accept them.