A night out

in Outdoors and more6 months ago

gigglyoppenthwacker (1).jpg

The last few weeks have been intense and I've had to expend a lot of time, effort and energy into bringing it all together and doing what's required to move situations forward - with so much riding on it I have been focused. It's meant I've neglected other things, first and foremost of which has been my own needs so with that in mind I decided I needed a night out.



This is where I went tonight although it was 'this afternoon' when I initially arrived. What, did you think a night out for me meant clubbing in the city? Nope, fuck that, I go to places like this to reconnect with myself, relax and find space.

I hiked around before deciding the spot you see below would be a good place in which to sit back and relax - You see, it's in places like this I feel most comfortable and where my shoulders drop, where I relax and find space to breathe and just be me.

It was very peaceful for a while and that's what I needed...no human noises, just nature...my secondary purpose was to hunt to be honest, but I wasn't really that much into it tonight so I let nature take hold and allowed the stresses of the last few weeks to dissipate somewhat...and then I saw a deer.

The fallow deer was right on the fence line in the distance of the photo below. It was only 380 metres away, a pretty easy shot, but beyond the fence line is the next property so shooting and missing would mean my bullet would travel into that property and hit...who knows what, so taking a shot was not possible; I'm a very responsible shooter after all. I'll have to track and stalk the deer, I thought to myself, so stood up pulled on my backpack, slung my rifle and set out.

gigglyoppenthwacker (2).jpg

It was well over an hour later and I'd had no luck. I'd seen the deer a couple times but was unable to get into a position from which I could take a shot even at longer range so did the only thing I could...sat down and took a break. That's where I took the shot you see in the very top image right before the sun went over the horizon.

I stayed at the property until well after dark looking for targets and even found some, but I wasn't really into it to be completely honest so everything survived intact; I didn't take a single shot and was happy with that.


I can be an intense fellow at times, results-oriented, driven and focused; I like to feel like I'm performing at my best also whether it's a work-related thing or my personal life...it can be draining, but I've always been this way and don't really know how else to be. Being that way has meant I've also needed to understand when to, and how to, pull back, find a gap, and let things fall away for a time and that's what I needed tonight: Relaxation, quiet time, nature, no other people and the fresh air that can only be found in places like this...That's what the five hours out upon this awesome property wandering about in nature permitted me to do and I took full advantage.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own

Sort:  

That is a pretty great view. How many acres is it that the farmer who lets you shoot there owns? This has the feel of being out in Montana or something like that. It's quite beautiful. I can see why you like spending so much time here.

It's big, not sure how big but several hundred acres definitely. I've walked it all and it's all beautiful. The cool thing is that it has beauty in all seasons. There's no snow in this part of Australia but it's lush and green for seven months of the year and golden brown the rest, (heading that way now), has underground springs bubbling to the surface, a creek, a couple ponds...it's legit.

Oh yeah, that's awesome. I mean not that it wouldn't be great without the water, but the springs and creeks just take it to another level. I'd love to own a piece of land like that someday. I was actually just thinking about the land rush back in the 1800's or whenever it was and being able to stake your claim on a piece of land like that.

This property was handed down to the current owner from his father and it's worth a lot of money. I like how it's big, but reasonably easily maintained, not big enough to be a massive burden...and only fifteen minutes from everything one could ever need, just down the hill. It's pretty good indeed.

I was raised on land not dissimilar to this, rural, and it was an amazing place to be brought up. I'd like to move out further one if these days and this place would suit me fine.

We had the same thing in the 1800's, tracts of land being snapped up for next to nothing and much of it still owned by descendents too!

That is cool. Minus the natives being displaced for it to happen, but still. There's something about it that kind of stirs a spirit of exploration or something inside of oneself.

That is a beautiful view and at the best time of day. I always wish I could make the golden time linger. I hope you stayed to watch the stars come out. Not going to lie...I was rooting for the deer ;)

It's a pretty special place, and yes I stayed until after dark, got half frozen and watched the stars...that's part of the show.

And yeah, the deer will live a little longer, maybe for a full term of life even. I'll let you in on a little secret...I could have shot it a half dozen times but chose not to, it didn't seem right on this particular occasion. 😉

Wow! Look at the view..😍
It is really beautiful. I totally gets you. As I get older, I find that I'm more comfortable being surrounded by nature. I don't have any interest in partying or having fun at night like I used to. For me, the most comfortable place is somewhere quiet and not too crowded with people. It helps me think more clearly.

It's a pretty cool spot and I'm fortunate to have sole access to it whenever I like - I go there a lot.

the most comfortable place is somewhere quiet and not too crowded with people

This sounds like my kind of place! 😊

That place looks very peaceful, nice pictures, I need to spend some time like that again, this one I am reachable from the hospital 24 hours a day, it will have to be next week 🙌🏻

I hope you manage to find the time to relax a little; it's easy to think pushing forward without it is productive, but often people are far more productive if they take a little time out and then get back to it with renewed vigour.

Wise decision. There is a lot of wisdom in you. Observing the landscape and being able to breathe it, becoming part of it, is something so wonderful... I imagine that many reflections will come in the next days and many will surely have that breeze, those colors. 😉

It was a nice time, relaxing, which is what I needed. The last several weeks have been pretty intense and it's looking like the next few months will be also - I need to look after myself I guess and this is one way I do that.

I hope you're going well and doing the same thing, looking after yourself.

;) thank you... I try.

Do/Have you camped here as well? I don't know how dangerous it is there since there are wild animals, but it seems like a really nice place to spend the night and extend your peace and relaxation while looking at the stars.

Yeah, I have at times. Hunt at night and early morning after a night around the camp fire. It's nice. There's not much that would kill me out there, just the Eastern Brown Snake, one of the worlds most venomous...but as I wrote in another comment, they keep to themselves unless one was to step or sit on one. Getting bitten by one often goes badly, but it's not as common as you'd think and is more prevalent in September/October when they emerge from hibernation and are out looking for some sexy-time for breeding purposes. It's actually the baby ones that are the worst, just as venomous as the adults but they don't have a way to regulate how much venom they pump in so those bitten often get a shit load...which doesn't go well.

Generally though, camping is my thing and this is a nice place to do it. Campfire, stars, fresh air, quiet...it's all good.

Yeah, that sounds wonderful. And it being a perk of the job is nice. I guess it is good the joke that "Everything in Australia is trying to kill you" doesn't apply as much here.

Haha, yeah it's a favourite saying I guess, here and abroad. It's also not far off the truth.

thats an amazing scenery...sunset looks beautiful. are you not worried about snakes when laying there?

I would not be that responsible with that bird that annoys the shit out of me every morning around 4.30. really start losing my mind over this. I love birds but if I would have the chance in the morning...i don´t know :)

Always worried about snakes man, we have some deadly ones as you know. The problem is when I'm laying prone, quiet and still. I've not had any issues so far though, not at this property anyway.

Haha, it's incredible how annoying something as small as a dog barking or bird calling out can be when one is trying to sleep. Good luck, and if you really need, I have a shotgun you can borrow.

I can be an intense fellow at times, results-oriented, driven and focused;

You, as a person, have been shown by the posts and photos in your posts.

I'm not surprised when it comes to writing that you didn't fire your shot (even though it was easy for you) just because the deer was near a fence that had property behind it. You are truly a responsible person.

In fact, I can remember very well that you once said that you would shoot your targets at a point where they would die immediately so that they would not suffer from being hit by your bullets.

Well, when someone doesn't know what to do, that's where their focus should be: enjoying and being fully involved with what is in front of them, even if they don't know what to do.

Btw, I really like the photo of you with your legs extended and the rifle with the hunting arena in the background. But the first photo is also very beautiful.
Have a great night out.

I pride myself on being a responsible firearms operator and shooter and that extends to all facets of it from safety and maintenance, understanding the complicated concepts well and of course, when despatching a target humanely. A great deal of damage could be caused by a stray bullet so I ensure there are none.

Oh my that is one beautiful place!!! I'm glad you got some restorative time, that you know how to do that. So many don't have that skill, or even know that's what they need. I'm with you - I go out into nature all alone (with my dogs) and let the peace there wash my cares clean, if only for a few moments.

I find I'm more productive if I do this, not always this exact thing, I mean take a break from the complexities and stresses. It sometimes doesn't even take very long, but is just enough to feel refreshed enough to get back to whatever life has thrown up.

Be careful about hunting deer, mate. (They might be some kind of witches in the form of deer roaming around). I read this in a story 😅

This place is so soothing, so beautiful. Perfect place to relax 🙂

It was relaxing indeed, a nice place to find some peace and quiet.

First of all, let me tell you that it is a beautiful place and even though there was no deer, the connection with nature is also worthwhile and recharges one's energy.

Discotheques? What is that? I don't like them, I never liked them, in fact that's why I suffered a lot of bullying in my adolescence and because my life was studying. So nature would also be my option.

I love that rifle! It's great, I can't deny it, I can't!

A beautiful evening, I loved reading you!

It was a nice night...cooked down quite a bit but I was prepared for that of course. Overall it was a nice few hours spend recharging myself to some degree. Worth the effort and I'll be back into the grind if life better for it.

It's worth that moment with nature, always. It's great! Good morning to you!

Morning.

Agreed! I think I'll go to sleep in a little while...

I just some things about being a knucklehead, but that's ok. It's a pretty interesting way to decompress from a tough week. Also, isn't there a danger of getting bitten or attacked by a weird animal in the open?

But besides the point, the views on the place are amazing just to get there and breathe and stay still for some time.

The idea of being a responsible shooter makes a lot of sense. That's a high-caliber arm. With bullets like that who knows where the missing shots will go or even ricochet from something.

There's always things to run into that might bite I guess, the worst of which out there is the Eastern Brown Snake. (google it.) I've been going to places like this my whole life so know what's up.

I'm really lucky to have access to this property, a privilege created by years if doing the right thing on other properties really; farmers talk and word gets around. I treat it like it's my own, with care and respect.

Don't need to Google it. That's the most venomous snake on world if I'm not mistaken. Yesterday I saw a Goliath Stick Bug and knew it had to be Australian. Gotta give it to the Aussies and their Bad-Boss-Tier animals. Anyways, I guess there's lots of bad things you could find around.

That's a cool thing. Hard-earned trust is a luxury commodity these days.

Ah ok, so you know about it...Getting bitten by one isn't pleasing I'm told...best not to find out. Lol.

We have some crazy shit here man, no doubt, but it's generally safe, if one has a little understanding, So many (in the cities) would never have seen a crocodile, snake, shark, irukandji, deadly spider and so on in person other than maybe at a zoo or aquarium; out further though it's common place.

Yeah, I used to watch a lot of Animal Planet. Very crazy stuff you have around there. But it seems interesting to be in a place where you can talk about the dangers of going into the open with such amazing creatures.

seems interesting to be in a place where you can talk about the dangers of going into the open with such amazing creatures.

with some knowledge and respect it's generally safe enough. I mean, things happen like people getting taken by crocodiles and sharks, stung by irukandji (which is agonising and can result in death) but if the warnings are heeded then no worries. Well, except for sharks, they can be anywhere I guess and strike indiscriminately. I don't like snakes and spiders man, but they're there across the road from my house only a hundred metres away (and all over the place as well) so we have to live with them. Going to places like in this post increases the chances of seeing them but if one makes some noise they bugger off before they can be seen usually...which is an issue because when stalking game one has to be very quiet.

I hope you get to find out someday, I'd be happy to show you how it all goes if the opportunity permitted. Well, not with the sharks though, you're on your own there.

Ha, ha, ha, ha. Don't worry. I don't need to be near sharks. The other part sound interesting. It would awesome to go around the Australian outbacks with someone who knows some interesting facts about it.

Having that alone time would have worked something beautiful in your heart, body, and soul.

And it is needed after all the intensities, which is why this part resonates most with me.

no human noises, just nature..

I like this part so well.

Humans often complicate things so I like to separate myself from them in places like this as it permits a faster and deeper sense of relaxation. This is a nice spot to do it in, I'm fortunate to have access.

That's right. It is a trait that we have. I am glad you had that. Have a good day 😊.

Connecting tjme with nature alwsys give a good vibes. I goes out for a stroll down the woods every evening and it makes a lot of sense. I wanted to be me and I never carried my phone untill, something urgent....those times comes out to be fruitful....tough you sight dears.....i have lot of foxes around....last evening it got dark while returning and I tried to take a shorter route through the farming fields when around 4-5 of them tries to target me...but thanksfully I was carrying my mobile...I switch on the flashlight and they went away....it was scary for a moment

Taking that walk is a great way to recharge a little and even helps us think better, find answers to problems or maybe not think at all, that's the best part...the space we place between everyday life and our true selves, even for a short period can be refreshing.

We have foxes here too, an introduced species which cause a lot of damage. When I see them I shoot them.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

You are a rockstar @steemflow

Cheers mate.

not yet...trying to find a way 😉

Lol, keep looking then, you'll find it.

Your post has been curated on behalf of the outdoors and more community.

ODL.jpg

#outdoorlife

All images belong to galenkp and none are for your use