You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lane Creek, Oregon to Spokane, Washington

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

That was my first home test-I waited at least 20 minutes hoping that the second line would go away :)

Well, Miranda (my niece) had originally asked my BIL and I to check prices as we were on our way to get supplies for a small building project. By the time I got to my brother's place it had become a THING. Larry (my brother) really wanted a lighter saw and I think the trade was way more about that than saving his #1 daughter from herself.

He bought the saw and 15 minutes later we were at the edge of his yard where he's adding fire protection and a bit of landscaping. Half an hour later he had 12 trees down ranging from 6 to 16 inches diameter and up to 40 feet tall. He left one marked tree for his son in law (the landscape guy, not the saw guy) because he has a bucket and he wasn't sure he could control the fall adequately. I can't believe how quick a new saw and an experienced operator could be... The landscape SIL is the one that did the lawn and pavilion in the photo.

Sort:  

Very nice. Makes a lot of sense to wait. I have heard that bringing a tree down is the single most dangerous thing you can do on your property. I saw it on one of those homesteading shows I think!

I've taken a few down, basically when I lived way out in the country and had lots of room. I've hired an arborist for any work I've had done in town :)

I should tell the rest of the story, I suppose. Larry went in right after he dropped the trees and built enough of a road for the landscaper to get his equipment where he needed it. Used nothing but a loader because all his equipment is out on site. I could have done what he did with a dozer and loader and a few hours. He was only about an hour at the job. Amazing.