You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Maintaining the perishable

in Outdoors and more6 months ago

Dang, 300 to 400 rounds? That can't be in one day can it? Wouldn't your barrel warp? Now that we are in rifle season I have seen quite a few cars driving down the expressway with deer strapped to the top. It's just a way of life around here and most people accept it. I'm sure some don't like it too much, but they are smart enough to keep their opinions to themselves 😃

Sort:  

Yeah, it's a lot...and then I have to make them all again. No, not in a day with rifles, in a month...although with my handguns I'd shoot that many every weekend...and also have to remake them.

Wouldn't your barrel warp?

With a rifle, if I put 400 continuous rounds down it the barrel would be destroyed but eight to ten is ok. Remember, that's long range shooting, like over 1000 meters, so it's not like it's a spray and pray scenario, each is very calculated. Generally the barrel is allowed to cool between groups of shots. With handguns, I'd put maybe 50-100 rounds down and then let it cool a little, but a handgun is at far less risk of damage as there's simply not as much powder used in the ammunition.

are smart enough to keep their opinions to themselves

Lol...yeah I get this in a location such as yours. Here it's not as prevalent, the deer on a roof scenario. When I bring things home care is taken to ensure it's not done ostentatiously.

Oh wow, no, it's definitely a point of pride here! I remember when. I was sighting in my 30-30 that I used to own I had to let it cool off every couple of rounds just to be safe.

Yeah, best to let the barrel cool.

I did a log chop once, thirty people shooting in pairs at 4 inch square timbers propped upright in stands at 300 metres away from the shooting position. The winner was the team whose log was shot in half. I put 60 rounds through the rifle in under two minutes (.308) and the barrel was almost red hot. I was changing out the barrel after that shoot so figured I might as well. It was destroyed. With my long range guns I keep a logbook so I know exactly how many rounds it's fired and I borescope barrels at intervals looking for damage. They're precision instruments and I keep mine in top shape.

Wow, that is impressive! Totally next level compared to most of the stuff I have done or seen :) Now the big question is, who is the joker that downvoted your comment?

Nobody that matters.