Code Red - Power Down

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

Code Red.jpg

There are many things we can do to mentally and physically prepare for a SHTF moment, whether it is a situation where you need to get out of dodge ASAP or if you get lost in the wilds. I'm busy working on improving my practical skills that could be used if I ended up in that type of scenario. I thought I'd share my experiences as they may be useful to someone else too.

Most of these are simple things that you wouldn't normally think about, but in a bad situation could potentially save your life or could just make your outdoors experience better.

Power Down


I've recently been speaking to a girlfriend of mine overseas who is really struggling with power situations where the electricity is so unreliable that she's going some days without power for up to 12 hours. It wreaks havoc on her day and she has to plan the meals and kids activities around the power down scenarios. It's certainly leaves her frustrated and annoyed and it doesn't seem to be getting any better. This is apparently becoming more common in certain countries where the infrastructure is just not reliable enough to maintain the supply that is demanded.

With all the issues that are also mounting in areas of Europe due to the gas pipelines being shut down and winter possibly looking like a dangerous time, I've started thinking a lot more seriously about power down situations and how I can start to mitigate them according to what my needs are.

I need to be able to charge my phone, laptop and have my internet working so I've got a battery powered modem that can carry a charge for up to 2hrs without being plugged in. My laptop battery is roughly the same so that would guarantee I am covered for the first 2hrs, but what happens after that?


Mobile Solar Panel and charging block

A few days ago I went to a hardware store to find out what the solar panel options out there are. They didn't stock the ones I'm looking for but I did get a lead on a local company that makes them who I will try. I essentially am looking for a small enough solar panel that it is mobile and if I was sitting at a café I could pull it out and plug my laptop into it. I've secured a battery pack for with two charging ports - one for my phone and one for my internet modem.

I know that these are all basic stop gap measures and wouldn't last very well for a long term power outage. I know that Toby @smithlabs would probably have much better option recommendations for long term outtages and he's been building up his rigs for that purpose.


Solar Powered Lighting

The other problem that I'm facing is the lack of lighting in this scenario. I'm planning on changing my lightbulbs to those that charge when the power is on and then when the power goes down they move over to their battery power with minimal disruption. I'm also looking at solar panel lighting similar to the one pictured below:

Security Light.jpg

The problem with this one is that it has a motion sensor, I would far prefer to find one with a switch and I don't want one that runs on batteries, it needs to be rechargeable outside so I can leave it out during the day and use it at night. The drawback with these is that they don't tend to last very long so I may only get 2hrs of good lighting out of a light like this and that will diminish over time as the solar panel longevity isn't infinite.


Making Meals

I can make most of my food over fires so I'm not that worried about cooking, but refrigeration is going to require either an inverter or a generator...I'll be looking into that next as a more long-term measure, but even then, the price of fuel is so high that a generator is not ideal. It's better to have some form of power than having a complete power down situation.

So this is where I have started. I know I've got a long journey ahead of me.


Where would you start if this was your situation? What is your current experience with power in your country? Let me know in the comments.

Sort:  

I remembered my college life and how tough it was, it's not cold as you are due to super typhoon and the cables of wires was damaged the electricity covered was down for three weeks. I am living on my own in dormitory as night just the candle light and everything was off, as my gadgets need to recharge in the city also takes money.

But still nicely that we knew how to survive and how to manage ourselves in this kind of situations. Other might not

Hi @eunoia101

Three weeks sounds like a tough stretch but you did it then and got through it so at least you have some ideas of what to expect if it happens again. I can imagine it was difficult to study.

It's always a good thing to not just be physically prepared with back up things but also to prepare mentally for this kind of scenario because people that aren't used to it are going to get really upset really fast without the normal conveniences they are used to.

Thanks for your valuable comment and for coming to my blog.

Have a lovely day

🦋
Emma

Hi Emma,

Im not sure what is your exact situation but it might be good idea to get some leisure battery - same as they use for motorhomes or campers and some small solar panel(100W or similar) that would help a lot in short term....other option and i think its quite good is to get a LPG gas bottles, you can get a generator that works of that...a small cooker and also heater....it costs a bit of initial set up but i think its worth to have.....
you would never know how long power will be gone....and i also think that internet is not essential....maybe battery power or crank up radio sure but i would consider to think what is essential to leave if there is no power......
stock up some candles some dry food that is easy to prepare maybe only with boiling water....go to camp shop and see what the option they have.....

Peace and love!
In Lak'ech!

Hi Crypto Paddy

Thanks for your comment. These are all very good suggestions and the solar panel was one that I was looking at but I want a mobile one that can travel with me that isn't affixed to the house. Generators are very expensive here, they are also very noisy and with the rising cost of fuel will probably be very expensive to run, so I would like to get as many things off solar as possible.

That's just the problem with a power down scenario, you never really know how long it might be out for and with the impending issues we face globally, entire grids might fail if the war between Russia and Nato continues.

I've been stocking up on dry goods when possible as I know that's important but I'm still a far way off from being as prepared as I would like. Each day is an opportunity to get more prepared, if not physically, then at least mentally.

Thanks for stopping by.

🦋
Emma

Congratulations @emma-h! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results

Your post has been curated on behalf of the outdoors and more community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

#outdoorlife

All images belong to galenkp