Of Fire and Ice

Sharpenings-1.jpg


There are many things we can do to mentally and physically prepare for a SHTF moment, whether it is a situation where you need to get out of dodge ASAP or if you get lost in the wilds. I'm busy working on improving my practical skills that could be used if I ended up in that type of scenario. I thought I'd share my experiences as they may be useful to someone else too.

Most of these are simple things that you wouldn't normally think about, but in a bad situation could potentially save your life or could just make your outdoors experience better.

So two of the main things that are going to keep any of us alive out there in a SHTF scenario are going to be water and fire, then obviously food.

Fire I've written about a few times before and there are numerous ways to get your fire starting to a point where it will be top notch when you need this skill. Apart from making feather sticks and ensuring that you have sufficient kindling at hand, if you are in a place without dry grass and there is only wet kindling, this is a super easy recipe for a good fire assuming you have ferro rod, matches or a lighter on hand.

If you need kindling, make sure to include a sharp pencil sharpener in your bug out bag. May sound silly but finding sticks and branches that are the right diameter to use will be easy enough as long as there are trees around you. Use the pencil sharpener to create filings and then start your fire.

Another great tip which I only found recently is to make straw packets of cottonwool and vaseline (petroleum jelly) which act as great fire lighters for at least 5 minutes.

To make them, get thick plastic straws and cut them to a feasible length that you can shove cotton wool into. Take your cotton wool and lather it up with vaseline making sure that it is entirely saturated with the stuff. Push the vaseline cottonwool into the straw and then using pliers, burn both ends closed with a lighter or other fire source. These will stay waterproof and airproof as long as they are kept in a container where they don't get damaged (a tin would work well). When you are ready to use one, snip off the burnt edge exposing the cottonwool and light it with a match or ferro rod, then add your fuel to it as you would normally to get a fire burning.


Sharpenings-1-2.jpg


As for water, it's easy enough to look for a source and having a good general knowledge of where the rivers are but more importantly where the source is. Water that has already reached the rivers is going to be tainted with all sorts of bacteria which could potentially end you. Apart from using the water filtration and purification options that I outlined previously, you should try to find water that is either coming from a fresh water spring or from as high up as you can. Mountain water (while it still has the opportunity to have bacteria in it as it is coming into contact with all sorts of substrates as it runs downhill) will be substantially cleaner than water further down. It's still recommended to boil it for at least 10 minutes or use the distillation method to get it mostly germ free.

The other option that people often get wrong is that snow is a good source of clean water. As I mentioned earlier, anything that comes into contact with substrate is going to be infected with bacteria and possibly other nasties along the way. This is one reason that you never eat yellow snow. Well it goes without saying that if there are animals around (like snow on a lawn where a dog lives), there's a good chance that you'll be ingesting bacteria from a dog's behind as well. This goes for birds, squirrels, foxes, cats anything really as well as the soil itself which is teeming with life, but generally not the kind you want in your digestive tract. Bacteria and viruses are not killed by being frozen, they simply go dormant. As soon as they are in the warm, wet comfiness of your insides, they will start to multiply and could lead to septic shock.

The other reason you don't want to eat snow directly is that something of such a low temperature is going to lower your core temperature way below the level that it should be naturally which can send you into hypothermia.

So while snow can be useful in a SHTF situation and a good source of water, it should be heated first so that it melts and optimally boiled so that it kills off the bacteria load.


Have you used any of these techniques before? What was your experience? Let me know in the comments.


Both images are mine

Sort:  

Emma you are a good scout, I remember when I was in that movement I learned the basics of coexistence, survival always being ready to serve I lasted 10 years in that group for my country, then I did it as Akela and volunteered for the cub scouts, it was great I know almost everything you talk about what if I did not know is what the thick straws with cotton full Vaseline well sealed at the edges and the pencil sharpener .

Always something new to learn and put into practice, I told my husband, and he was very surprised about the straw with cotton with Vaseline cotton wool.

I didn't know it until recently myself but I'm glad that I do now as I'd like to make a few of these for my kit.

You sound like you have an amazing source of scout information and background, you should be writing posts like this too. I'm always trying to find simple things that people can use not just now, or when SHTF but in general. This pencil sharpener could have saved me so much effort when making fires through the years!

I'm going to take you at your word and write about my experiences as an explorer in those times, now I'm an urban explorer because of the concrete where I live, Emma.

A big hug to those that make us look at the beauty we have in our hands.

Your post has been curated on behalf of the outdoors and more community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

#outdoorlife

All images belong to galenkp

Many thanks 🙂 I appreciate the support.

 last year (edited) 

Yeah, your post says it all really, so there's not much to add.

Being prepared is mostly about doing and knowing many little things, most of which are completely within the ability of an average person. Being ill-prepared is easier though, and that's why many default to it.

A nice post once more. Thank you.

Thank you for giving me the outlet for my learning and a place to share it with others.

I really like the little pencil sharpener tip, what a great (and simple) answer - affordable and available to everyone. The cotton wool fire starters too, I'm going to make a few for my kit.

Have a great day 😁

Thank you for giving me the outlet for my learning and a place to share it with others.

You're welcome.

I really like the little pencil sharpener tip, what a great (and simple) answer

It's a good tip for sure, simple, proving that being prepared can be done in the most rudimentary ways.

Have a great day

Home from work, dinner soon, a walk then Peaky Blinders. The day was pretty good, some late bad news (work related) but I see the upside and what may happen in the future so I tuned that frown upside down.

Congratulations @emma-h! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record

What a fantastic post you have here! I’m going to seriously put a few of these into practice this weekend. I’ve been looking for easier solutions to add to the bug out bag or the bag we use for our hikes and this has a bunch of great tips! I’m going to get a few tins for sure so that I can store some of these goodies like the straws and the pencil sharpener. That one I loved as it makes complete sense but not something we think about often!

You don’t eat yellow snow?! Come on you’re missing out :D!