Super Early Morning in the Finnish Nature

!04metällä.jpg

As if I look this happy to been waken at 5.30am and already out in the forest after 6. Must be some sort of delirium. To be honest, I wished we had gone out an hour earlier to catch the best of the sunrise and fog.

One good thing about the days getting shorter is that soon the sunrise will be at 10am and you can snooze a few times and still be up and out to catch the best of it. Positive thinking!

We weren't out there in the forest just to get me pictures, but to train the doge for the upcoming hunting season. Peppi the drever was looking for rabbits for a couple hours, she got a scent but no luck driving up the bunnies from their hiding places. Doesn't matter much since one is not allowed to shoot them long eared furries until the first of September.

It was a good morning since we got out of there just as the moose flies defrosted in the sun and we only had to deal with a few of them. I can take wind, rain, snow and cold but dear lord I despise moose flies.

Shot with the Nikon D750 and Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8.

!06peppi.jpg

!05peppi.jpg

!09metällä.jpg

!10metällä.jpg

!08peppi.jpg

!03metällä.jpg

Sort:  

Excellent shots @eveuncovered! Good composition, lightning, and framing. The cobweb image is my favorite because it is dreamy and elicits the mysterious and profound sense of aesthetic beauty that the Japanese call yugen.

Thank you very much! Yugen, I like the sound of that even though I don’t know how you actually pronounce it.

Great snaps Eve. There's nothing quite like a crisp morning in the wilderness. Nice work. I'm a little jealous!

Do you actually ever get crisp mornings where you live?

Here in Adelaide it can get down to about 0-2C which I call crisp. It can be much colder in other places. It snows in parts of Australia so cold is a thing here too. just not as cold as your region of course.

0 degrees on an early morning with cool clear skies and a bit of frost on the ground is what I call crips :)

We get that, not as often as you would though I'm sure. I like mornings like that too. Nice time to get out and about.

This shot are really beautiful...the nature the animal everything seems to be perfect... well done..

I like to find the beauty, where ever I am.

That obvious...well done

This will make you laugh ... but they work .

image.png

The Wing Man

If you have one of those hanging from the peak of your cap or th collar of your jacket, you won't see a moose fly. I doubt it would be practical to have one shipped from Canada ... but I'd imagine you could find something similar ... perhaps someone who make fly fishing lures could whip one up.

Have you personally tested that out? Seems too good to be true. And it doesn’t mention moose flies, just deer and horse flies, which are very different. I need more info but I’m intrigued!

I even have a friend who has one strapped to the front and the back when she is kayaking and hasn't seen a deer/horse fly near her ever since.

image.png

I wear one on my cap when riding/hiking and I haven't been bitten since.

So, for about $10, I haven't been bitten once in about 4 months.

It could be coincidence .... but I'm currently a believer.

It also seems to scare the annoying flies away (the ones that don't bite, but get in your mouth/eyes)

I forgot to mention ... we don't have moose flies in my area ... so it depends if dragonflies are a predator of them or not.

Moose flies find their target by sensing heat, so I don’t think they give a shit about a toy dragonfly :(

A-Salt Rifle

Since this is in the Pew-Pew section. Perhaps you should get a salt gun. Or two ... in side holsters....

I've played with these at BBQ's and they definitely work at splattering the bugs ...and you can look cool while doing it.

What the hell is that, hilarious gadget 😂

I imagine it's what @galenkp uses to add some flavour to his meal ... from 100 yards. :-)

Nice pics!