Getting away

in Outdoors and more2 years ago (edited)

800x600  (1).png

I still might run in silence, tears of joy might stain my face
And the summer sun might burn me 'til I'm blind
But not to where I cannot see you walkin' on the backroads
By the rivers flowing gentle on my mind

- Glenn Campbell -



I was thinking about running today...I mean running away, not jogging. To clarify, I was thinking about the wilderness, far away places, and the peace and quiet, the solitude I find there, and through getting away.

I mentioned it on an email to someone, that one of the most prevalent thoughts in my mind is of the wilderness, or wandering and roaming free and unfettered. I mentioned a song I love and, more specifically, the accompanying video that always makes me want to run when I see it. You can watch and hear, Gentle on my mind, by following the link to YouTube. Warning: It may make you want to head to the mountains.

Of course, walking off with a backpack and leaving everything behind isn't all that easy in reality, even if I was able to just turn and walk away a certain amount of practicality is required. So with this in mind, I do the next best thing by hiking a lot and camping when possible.

Australia is blessed with some of the most beautiful locations and it's those with four wheel drive vehicles and who know how, and want, to camp that see the best parts; I am one such person.

What's really cool is there's so many free-camp areas where a person can simply pull up and stay. Sure, some care needs to be taken, but generally they are safe and enjoyable locations to camp. One needs to be self-sufficient though, there's no shops, Uber deliveries, running water, and often no phone service out there...just the planet we stand on, the air we breathe and a million stars overhead at night.

Everyone's idea of self-sufficiency is different I guess. I've done the wilderness and backpack thing at times, and have hunted for food, built my own shelter and generally lived off the land; it's not very comfortable though. I have camped in just about every way though, from lean-to shelters, to a swag, tent and my off-road camper trailer which is pretty much camping in luxury. Most has been done a long way from other people, although some has been in established camp sites like National Parks and the like. I prefer being away from others though, so I focus on that.

My thoughts today drifted towards free camping in far away places and the equipment and items required to do so, and I thought I'd mention a few here.

Keeping in mind here folks, I'm not really talking about wandering off with a back pack, knife and pair of boots, I'm talking about some of the equipment I have on my off-road camper trailer, a rather comprehensive camping rig, or my vehicle so if you happen to read this and say, why do you need an inverter...well, because I have the ability to do so and it makes life, and free-camping, far more enjoyable.

So, here's a few items that can make free-camping a little more enjoyable, sustainable and comfortable - it's certainly not meant to be a definitive list as there's so much more a person needs, or could use.

Power

I have a battery system on board my camper trailer and an auxiliary battery system on all my four wheel drives. They exist to power my fridge/freezers. I rarely use both vehicle and trailer fridges though, unless on a very long trip. They systems also power my laptop, LED lights, Bluetooth speakers, camping fan, mobile phones, camera batteries and so on.

I use AGM batteries which are heavy (older technology) but these days some are moving to the lighter-weight lithium version although they are bloody expensive and not readily available in remote places and small towns so failures can mean one has to go without power. That's the main reason I haven't switched yet.

IMG_8437.jpg

This is the onboard fridge/freezer with a 60L capacity on my vehicle. The battery system powers this whilst the vehicle is running and while stopped also. This image shows it on my Ford Ranger.

P1110566-COLLAGE.jpg

Top left is the battery system on my camper: DCDC charger on left, inverter on the right and batteries below. and pure-sine wave inverter on my camper. Also, the fridge/freezer with a 80L capacity on my camper trailer. The battery system powers this whilst the vehicle is running and while stopped also. I can input solar power also as you will see later.

Charging

To effectively charge batteries on my vehicle I use a REDARC DCDC charger which takes the power created by the alternator and pushes it into the auxiliary battery, when the engine is running. With smart alternators in most vehicles that turn off or reduce output in set conditions, the DCDC charger keeps the batteries topped up by boosting the charge to full capacity - This is not the technical terminology of course. I have one of these DCDC chargers on my vehicles and the trailer also.

Power comes out of the alternator to the DCDC charger and into the auxiliary deep-cycle battery under the hood. Cabling also takes power to the back of the car transferring it by Anderson Plug to the trailer's DCDC charger which feeds the battery system on the trailer. You can see it pictured above.

When at camp I feed power in by solar panel which I can plug directly into the trailer system and the DCDC charger on the vehicle. I get about five to six days out of the batteries when camped and not moving, and with the solar input I have virtually unlimited power.

800x600 .png

The green arrow points to a deployed solar panel connected to my camper trailer and feeding power into the battery system. I prefer the moveable ones rather than the vehicle roof-mounted ones as they can be adjusted to chase the sun

Pure-sine inverter

This item provides the same stable power I have at home. It produces constant power rather than the fluctuating power a modified-sine-wave inverter produces and because laptops and camera batteries don't like fluctuating power the pure-sine inverter is required.

The size of the inverter needs to be considered, and what is going to be run off it of course. Hair dryers, kettles and toasters use a lot of power so a larger inverter is needed, (not that I'd take a hair dryer into the wilderness of course), also the auxiliary battery system needs to have the capacity to supply the power. It's a simple matter of looking up how many watts each appliance uses and totalling it. I just run some LED lights, the water pumps and charge my, UHF radios, phone and laptop off it, and never al at once, so mine keeps up nicely. (The on-board fridge runs off the 12-volt system.) You can see the set up in the collage two images up.

Shade and shelter

Australia is a harsh place and heading to remote areas unprepared will often end badly or, at the very least, be totally miserable. This is why shade and shelter is of such importance.

I have an annexe on my camper trailer and for most camping situations will erect it. I can leave it folded back over the tent section if I like, and do for overnight stays, but generally it goes up. This is more about shade although works in rainy and windy conditions also as I can attach sides and make it into a room. You can see this pictures down further.

There are other products of course. Many vehicles have a pull-out awning fitted on the roof-rack on the passenger side. They're simple and effective, although when the vehicle is running they catch the wind and make the interior of the car noisier - this is why I don't like them although I have one on my Ranger; I've chosen not to fit one on the LandCruiser so far. These awnings can also accept sides on them, although they're generally not all that big and for the money I feel there's better options.

P1040009.jpg

The awning packed up and stowed in its storage bag. It unzips down the length, rolls outward and the legs drop down - In windy conditions it's pegged to the ground. This image shows it on my Ford Ranger.

At the end of the day, what's important is shelter from the elements and whether it's a more complex and costly system, or a tarpaulin roped to the vehicle or a tree, it can make the camping experience so much better.

Cooking

I love cooking and eating in the wilderness. The most basic food simply tastes better as does the coffee. Bad food becomes instantly good in the wilderness...although I'm not one to eat bad food when there's no need to and so I have a few different set-ups.

I have a full gas kitchen on my camper trailer with burner and hotplate (no oven) and also carry a portable gas stove with dual burners as well. The latter is used more for lunch stops and overnight stays so I don't need to clean up the kitchen all the time. It's stainless steel so is easily maintained, but can be a pain for short stops.

P1110652-COLLAGE.jpg

Above is an image showing the annexe and walls up, and the kitchen. It has plumbed water and gas.

I also carry a cast iron camp oven which I use in the hot coals to bake bread, pizzas and make soups, stews and even a roast now and then. I have a fire grill also. Food cooked on the fire generally tastes way better and so I prefer to do it this way as it deepens the enjoyment. It's true that it takes more time and is a lot harder than cooking in the comfort of home, but the end result is worth it.

IMG_0966.jpg

Here's my camp oven baking some bread, a traditional Australian bread called damper. The billy is next to it heating water for coffee.

IMG_0910 (3).jpg

Here's my fire grill with some sausages sizzling on it.

Cleaning up

I have a tread lightly ethos when it comes to camping and the environment and that means leaving the area the same, or better, than when I arrived. They don't always have bins available and so campers need to take the responsibility to remove their rubbish when they leave - Unfortunately many do not.

I use a purpose made mesh bin with a lid which accepts a liner and zips closed. When not in use it collapses virtually completely flat.

When I pack up, the full bin liner comes with me and is deposited responsibly in the next town. I also ensure that I don't have an excess of things that will need binning in the first place. Most of my perishable foodstuffs are vacuum sealed in plastic which is binned and I rarely take canned food with me - cans are annoying and take up space in bins. Paper is burned in the camp fire and care is taken not to have excess food scraps through good planning; this is where having on-board fridge/freezers comes in very handy. Basically I take what I need and little more to avoid rubbish.

Before I leave a camp site I'll clean it, including other people's rubbish if I can, and drive away feeling good about leaving the environment free of human detritus.


Ok, I just realised how big this post is getting, which wasn't my intention, so I'll stop here.

I love camping for so many reasons and have done it in so many ways from the most basic being sleeping in the dirt, to the virtual luxury of my camper trailer. I don't really like caravans though as they tend to remove the connection with the planet - sitting inside a caravan isn't my idea of camping to be truthful.

There's so much skill and equipment required to camp comfortably and safely, although a swag and a fire can be just as enjoyable. I suppose what really matters is that a person gets out and about and enjoys nature and whether it's a full-on or basic set-up doesn't matter as long as the person is out there doing what they love.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any images in this post are my own

Sort:  

Wow. There's nothing unprepared, right?
You really are a very mature planner and implementer, Mr. @galenkp.

In all things, you prepare well and you get perfection in all things. Perfection is in nature and away from other people and services.

I prefer being away from others though, so I focus on that.

You are absolutely right. This should be the focus for everyone when they are in nature in independence and serenity.
If there are other people around you, then you will miss that moment.

Don't you have pets, Sir?

There's nothing unprepared, right?

Being unprepared for what might come is placing oneself into the victim column. I'm not that way inclined.

get perfection in all things.

Perfection doesn't exist and I don't try for it. I'm more interested in continual improvement.

I have a cat yes, her name is Cleo and she is very special to me. When I am away, someone I trust looks after my house and Cleo.

How different can we brothers be that while one seeks to lay foundations, to build, the other seeks to walk in the open air, to look for ways to feel free? These days I was looking at the trees and thinking that even if they are static and take root, their branches and leaves are looking for ways to go elsewhere, they are looking for freedom. Although there are many people who bet on unforeseen trips and say that they are the best, there is nothing like being prepared for any eventuality. Forewarned is forearmed and you are forearmed. Greetings, @galenkp

If one ventures into the Australian wilderness seeking unforeseen adventures they'll probably stay there, meaning die. Preparation is key for any wilderness adventure and if one survives without that preparation, it's likely blind luck, or due to someone like me, a prepared person, coming to one's aid.

I'm not prepared for everything, but being prepared, and I mean in all aspects of life, is important to me. It's not just about survival. If I go on a date I prepare for it. If I am having a BBQ I prepare for it. I prepare for my present and future, and therefore I get better value from it, and look back without regret.

Thanks for your comment, it's appreciated. I hope you're having a good weekend.

Fancy. Very fancy.

I had a tent and some firewood with me last time...and a few of those old-school camping dishes - the ones that are blue with the white dots - that I heated oatmeal and hot chocolate in over the fire. Lol. Beat that. Kidding. You've already beaten it :)

Good to hear from you as always.

Yeah, I am fortunate enough to have some camping stuff but, deep down, I'll always be the boy from the bush and I still sleep in a swag, or right under the stars sometimes. I love my camping and have done it in so many various ways...I think I've paid my dues and deserve a little luxury now and then though.

Also, yep, I have those plates too.

I'll have to do one of these of my own next week. I reckon the power is essential to run a 12v fridge.. lord knows we are old enough to recall eskys and sliced cheese floating in icy water. We have a lithium battery in the van... Wish I'd bought two pre COVID inflation.

Lol, yeah food floating in water isn't the best way to go. I've had fridge/freezers on-board all my four wheel drives, for years, and couldn't go without it. Even around town, going shopping is so easy and I can multi-task more through not having to head home with the cold stuff.

I'll switch to lithium on my vehicle and the camper trailer next time I need batteries but yep, the cost of them is pretty high right now.

Well you are well sorted @galenkp, that is a wicked setup. I would love to drive through Africa with something similar one day.
I got a lithium battery last year for my solar after years of using lead acid batteries, AGM are good batteries as well.
I agree there is skill needed to camp safely and responsibly, so happy that you have been sharing your knowledge xxxx

It's taken me a long time to get set up and has been a hobby of mine I guess. I enjoy camping and it's funny to look back on some of the set ups I've had, the basic ones from the early days.

I want to go lithium on my batteries next time, it's the way of the future I guess, good benefits and so much better than the AGM I have now.

I know what you feel. Twice I ran away and the sense of freedom is hard to explain; it kinda corrodes the mind when we come back to the 'normal' life. It's doable to live as a backpacker, though it's tiring. Same for cycletouring.

I've been thinking about moving into a pickup truck. Your rig looks perfect for a long therm experience. The only thing I don't like is dealing with regulations, taxes, and all the other bureaucracy of having a vehicle. Plus the gas cost involved. If 4x4s were super cheap over here I'd definitely be out there already.

There's a lot of cost for sure, and here vehicles are probably more costly in comparison to many other countries. It's my passion though, getting into the wilderness and it's the only way it can happen so I have little choice. I enjoy it so much though, it doesn't seem to matter how much it costs and it repays me over and over by being there, out in the wilderness.

This something i love from hive blog, i get to see this kind of things that for me were a dream!!

i sometimes go to camping but i does walking or in bus and only with a bagpack and my tent.

This is the equippment one would dream to have, and you have it! is amaizing... 100% you could go away and camp for a solid 1-12 months in a row , specially if you earn money online and don't need to meet a schedule.

and i actually loved the fact that you clean the whole place and let it even better that when u found it. We really need to take care of our planet, it is our home.

I could camp away for a long time I guess, if food and water were available. I'd like to take a year off work and do just that however I have commitments here and that's not possible at the moment. One day though.

I think it is something that every human in the planet should do if they are able to. Just to train your mind if something bad happnes one day (hoppefully it doesn't)

I agree completely, on both counts.

First of all, I have to say that I don't really like camping. It's nice to live in nature, but I already do it in my house in the village for a few months of the year. I have to admit that the tea I drink and the food I eat taste better when I go to the mountains in the open air. I know my comment is a bit complicated, but sometimes I can't summarize what I want to say.

What you are doing is really great. You have such extensive camping equipment that you can live alone in nature for a long time without any human contact, which is great. Dealing with people is like death sometimes. If you can spend weeks away from people that's great, I applaud you.

I'd rather go camping than be in the city; it's about being away from society and being with nature more than anything else.

I'm pretty well set up really. The only real limitations are good and water, but that's something I could work around. I have 130L of water on board and the ability to filter it from other sources. With both fridges stocked appropriately I'd be self-sufficient for quite some time. The longest I've lived out of my camper has been five weeks though, and that was moving about a bit so I could fill up the water tanks and replenish the food. I could do a year or more quite easily though, longer even.

A year or more? I didn't expect that, my prediction was about 2 months. I don't know if I want to stay away from people for 1 year. Sometimes I want to stay away forever though hahaha.

I'd be happy to stay away for a year, but then I'd probably not want to come back. There's no much about society I'm that interested in to be quite honest.

Awesome setup you have there, you are indeed very prepared. I'm nowhere near this level, but still get out there to enjoy the magic of being out in semi-controlled surroundings. I love tent camping and haven't done luxury still glamping like you describe.

I tend to forego the need for hairdryers while out in the wilderness and a lot of other things too, generally for safety sake I'll stay at National Parks where they have the basic amenities like plug points available.

There's nothing like a night under the stars and waking up to making coffee over the campfire.

I tend to forego the need for hairdryers while out in the wilderness

People that take hair dryers into the wilderness probably have no place being there.

Nights under the stars, are nights well spent. It is known.

It's best to stay prepared in most if not every situation as that gives us an advantage over unforeseen circumstance. Just as you like going to the wilderness to walk and feel nature in its finest condition, I love to visit the ocean, swim or watch the waves to feel how free the waters move from side to side and taking up a large portion of the earth.

Being a prepared man means I'm less likely to run into situations that take me by surprise, or that I cannot handle effectively. It doesn't take much effort really, however so many people are reliant upon others and choose not to gain the skills and equipment to be self-sufficient.

I like the beach also, and don't live very far from the coast at all. As the weather gets better I'll be found there often.

Thanks for your comment, I appreciate it.

Wait! You don't rough it every time? Shocking! I like that grill, by the way, the one you tossed sausages on.

You have a lot of useful equipment, some of which I have never seen. I like inverters and their usefulness cannot be argued with. I daresay that if the world went to hell in a handbasket, you could survive it until it came back. Each piece was obviously well thought out and until I see it in action, I had no idea it could be.

The refrigerator/freezers are great, but, the extension of the shelter that was packed on the Ranger, is brilliant. I love camping still, I thought I would grow out of it, but, it is truly being one with Mother Nature and myself that does it for me.

We need more places here in the US where you can just pull off and camp. But, the National Parks do a pretty good job and there are many of them. When we lived in Europe, we were able to just pull over and stay, but, people say that is different too.

I guess we live in a different world now.

Thanks for showing off your equipment! That was so much fun!

I have a lot of equipment, all purpose-made and I generally look for things that have more than one use to minimise how much I have to take. It's all compact though, and fits nicely in my vehicle and the camper. When I go camping in a more basic way I really cut down the stuff, but I tend to have just as much fun.

The free-camp sites here can be very good to be honest. Some are totally amazing. Of course, some are little more than a small section off the road somewhere, but generally it's not difficult to find a really nice one. I have an app these days, and that makes it much easier. We have to pay a little at the National Parks but, of course, I don't mind that.

I have so many cool things for camping, it's a massive industry here and some very smart people have come up with some great products. Most makes my life easier, some is essential and some luxury, but why not right? I've done my time living in the dirt.

That is exactly how I feel and don't feel guilty about it. The further West traveled here, the better the open spaces and places get. The Eastern part of the US is a bit more crowded and developed, but the National Parks are pretty awesome. The other place that is pretty nice is a campground (semi-organized) built by the Army Corp of Engineers. This site tells about them, but they are 99% free, and always great places.

https://www.recreation.gov/about-us

Hey Swigs, ai hope you're well. Tha ks for the link, I'll have a look when I'm not at work. ✅

Holy moly.

This is how you camp? :)

Can I come and stay month to month and pay rent, please? This way you don't need to set it all up when you want to get away from the city.

And you may get to work less with some passive income and get away more often.

It's a win win situation.

I'll stay in my tent a bit away while you\re there. And do the cleaning afterwards as part of the deal.

?

As I said, I've camped in just about every way from the most basic to more lavish camp set-up's. Most times I use my camper trailer now, but not always. I hunt a lot and use my swag generally, but it all really depends if where and for how long I'm going away I guess.

I'd accept a rent on my camper, especially if it was enough to allow me not to work at all!

😁

Well I'd better start saving then!

Wow..you can stay in the wild for longer days with that complete materials..
I've been thinking to go on a hike, it's just, my buddy is always busy and I can't just go alone..
Happy weekend Galen

Hmm yeah, lone hiking is sometimes not the best depending on location and other factors. I hope you manage to make it happen soon though, it's pretty enjoyable huh? Have a great Sunday.

I hope so..it's great to hike this season..not so hot up there..

I also want to go to the wilderness but in today's society we are slaves of money we can only take short vacation and the get back to being a slave

Yep, it's similar here for me. I'm working towards it I guess, but the progress is slow; the reliance on money seems to have taken over life for most of us.

Awesome chronicle.

!LOL
!BBH
!PGM
!PIMP
!LUV


Dafuq @truth2, you gotta stake more PIMP Tokens!
You need Stake at least 1000.000 PIMP power.
(We will not send this error message for 24 hours).

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@galenkp! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @truth2. (1/1)

Your post has been curated on behalf of the outdoors and more community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

#outdoorlife

All images belong to galenkp

Wow I really like the way you get prepared
I learnt alot here

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!