You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The temptation

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

Yes, it looks easy when we're doing it, but years if effort have gone into making it look easy. It's not actually easy though. It all comes down to doing everything properly, from setting up the rifle, load development, making the ammo to calling the wind and environmental factors, determining the shot and the right trigger pull plus more. I've written about some of those elements in The Pew. Not all.

Even then, things can go wrong and a miss can result...

Sort:  

Knowing all these things have to be considered makes it even more impressive. Also, the part about breathing also indicates that you have to have a level of physical fitness. I've read stories about military snipers holding a position for many hours. That will definitely strain something in one's body for sure.

Also, the guns have stands but I reckon the recoil will also have some effect on your shoulder and all that. Man it is so impressive.

Snipers will stay in their hide for many hours, sometimes days yes. It's not just about shooting. Stalking and making a hide, their camoflauge etc. Plus they have to have excellent memories and power of recall. These days snipers are more about intelligence and information than shooting. It is often snipers who light up targets with laser for smart bombs and missiles too. Certainly SF operators anyway.

I don't do any of that though of course. For me it's the marksmanship, speed and problem-solving, at least as far as competitions go anyway. When I shoot to Kil it's about human dispatch if the target.

Having the skills I do, plus the survival skills etc. brings me a nice level of confidence. I like knowing I can take care of myself and those I care about.

Have you ever had to stalked/hunt something with your training before? Like in a simulated or real life situation

Yes, quite a lot actually. I'm pretty good at it. Better when I was a little younger, but I can still move quietly and know how to remain undetected.