The temptation

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

Like most people with a hobby I'm happy to talk about mine, share some of the concepts with people. However one of my hobbies, firearms and shooting, is not widely accepted, certainly not here in Australia, and so I tend to stay reasonably quiet about it in real life. At times people get wind of it though and I tend to get asked someone interesting questions from time to time.

One of the most prevalent of those question is, can you take me shooting?

I can is the answer...However do I want to is a question I follow up with in my own mind. Taking someone I don't know well, and probably don't trust much, to a secluded location and putting a loaded gun in their hands is not something I feel very comfortable with. So, I pick and choose who I take.

A month or so ago I had exactly that happen and as it was someone I had known for a while, a young chap who hadn't been shooting for long, I felt it might be ok.

I took the lad to a big farm in the southern Flinders Ranges owned by a friend of mine, pictured above. If you are keen-eyed you'll see some targets we have arrayed out there at 250m, 350m and 500m from where the shot was taken.

The idea was to show him some skills around long range shooting as that's where he wants to focus his attention. I love it too, marksmanship, so no worries mate, let's go.

One of the rifles I took was this Tikka T3 which sits in a "bedded" GRS ergonomic stock, has a custom-made muzzle brake and a Nightforce ATACR 5-25x56 F2 scope with an MOAR reticle. The bipod is by Atlas.

I used to shoot this gun in long range competitions. I've had it out to 1231m (1346 yards) repeatably and it's nice to shoot; Accurate, repeatable and reliable.

We arrived in the early morning and once set up I started doing some instruction with the guy which he took on-board well. Sharp lad.

The 22 year-old hasn't got a firearm of his own yet. He has fired a few, .22LR's mainly, but based on suggestions from people like me has held off from making a commitment on a centrefire rifle until he has fired a few and knows a little more about what he likes and doesn't like. It's smart to do this.

Over the course of the day he got better and better which means we started to stretch the range out a little further. We ended up out at 500m. Half a kilometre isn't a massively long shot for a marksman, but is far enough that many factors come into play, the same at greater distance. Of course, I wanted him to be accurate and so we put a lot of work into the skills required and he seemed to soak it all up.

Below you can see what we were shooting at, a steel torso-shaped target with a head, set at just over 500m.

You'll note two distinct groups on the target. One of five shots (on the head) and several on the chest area. Mine are the head shots and the young lad shot the others. (We repainted the target a few times over the day. These were the last shots.)

At the start of the day the lad was not able to shoot like this. He could hit the target, but there was no consistency and his shots were spread all over the plate, and that was at 350m! He made a great improvement I'd say and it's a good indication that he listed to what the old G-dog had to say. My super-good dialled in rifle helped too of course.

He loved the .308. In fact the shots on this plate above were all taken with that rifle. He just sort of connected with it; It became an extension of him and he felt really comfortable...That was the problem...He liked it too much.

The day was successful.

We packed up and started the two hour drive home. That's when it happened.

"G-dog, you ever thought of selling that .308?" Said the impetuous young chap hopefully.


It's been a few weeks since this day and he has been pestering me ever since. He started off with a price and I just kept saying it's not for sale, but his price is rising and rising and...Well, it's getting to a point where I could sell the .308, which I rarely use, and replace it with something else, plus have a lot of change. He wants the scope and all which is cool...And I've been thinking about adding a new zombie gun to my collection, one with iron sights instead of scoped...It has been tempting, and considering the price he is talking is almost what the gun cost me in the first place...Hmm, tempting.

Have you ever been tempted by price, to sell something you didn't formerly have any intention of selling? It's a really hard decision! So many I know never sell guns, but I'm one who doesn't like to have stuff for the sake of it and I don't see much point in have things I don't use. Hmm, I'm making a good sell the gun argument I think...Tempting.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

If you're still pretty attached to that gun you could always give him a build list and he can buy his own XD

On the one hand I'd want you to teach me how to shoot (probably just on a normal range as 350m seems like a very long way to send a bullet never mind further XD) so I have some idea of how the gunslingers would be handling their weapons. On the other hand I don't want to be anywhere near a gun because they would probably go off from me being in the general vicinity x_x

I'm pretty bad at selling things. If I don't have a use for something anymore I'll usually give it to someone who does (and sometimes they give me money for it because they want to/feel they should, and if they do it's rarely what I would have gotten if I'd strasight up sold it properly, and meanwhile I'm being screamed at about how I'm an idiot for not selling it) or it just stays with me forever.

I'd teach you to shoot no worries. You have a respect for firearms and it's often these types of people that pick it up quickly and are good at it. The gung ho types are usually shit at it.

I tried to sell some camera stuff on eBay a while back. You may recall. The buyer never paid me and I lost interest. eBay seemed more on her side and froze things for ages. I ended up giving it all to a friend who is getting good value from it. I didn't ask for money. Didn't want any. Knowing she would use it all was enough. I tend to do that sort of thing a lot.

This gun well, it's a lot of money and I'll not let it go for less than it's worth. I like the fact that someone else will get to use it as I have, at long range, and that I will have input on his training. I'm not sure if I'll sell it, but it will get me a decent new one (iron sights) plus money in the bank. Seems a good trade off considering how many guns I have. We'll see.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

You have an expensive hobby by the way.

It's true that it's not comfortable to have someone especially when the gun will be loaded. We don't know what might happen.

350m seems very far to me, well I haven't experienced it anyway. Maybe he really loves your gun after seeing how he was hitting that plate.

Maybe you really value yout things so you didn't sell. There are some people like you but if it's me I think I'm going to sell it. lol

Yep, it's very expensive. That rifle in the image is worth $8,000 all up.

350m isn't far for a marksman. I shoot a lot further, but when teaching someone there is no point shooting and missing at great range. Learning to long range shoot starts at close range. 100m actually.

I'm leaning towards selling the rifle to this guy. Not because I need to, but because I'd rather someone use it for its intended purpose and he's a nice lad; Polite, respectful and with the intention to join the Army. So, I'm happy to help him out. I'd rather he spends his money on a decent rifle instead of something else about which he knows nothing. We'll see how it goes, but I'm leaning towards selling it to him.

!ENGAGE 25

Well you have a good reason why you're selling it to him. It's true that he's fit for it since he's planning to join in the military. Maybe it's nice to train him for now while he's not there yet.

8,000 dollars, dang that 40,000 pesos here in my country. I'm happy that I don't love guns because I have no money to spend for that. lol

It's a lot of money yes, and that's not my most expensive rifle either. I've bought them all over time though, many years and some I've even sold for profit to buy others. It's not different to most hobbies; It costs money. I'm fortunate I live in a country that gives me the opportunity to have a job and earn a few bucks.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

The hard part, if you sell, is when he comes back and tells you you sold him a lemon. That it doesn't work any more, or the scope fell off, or can you help me clean it, can you help me change this or change that, or help me help me. Better off taking it to a gun store to be sold, and then telling him what store has it for sell. Then you can say, I don't know what the gun store did to it.

Lol, yeah you're right; I thought of that. It's an issue of course, and one of the reasons I never sell vehicles to people I know, despite my vehicles being in excellent condition.

The thing is with the rifle, is that it has only ever been mine. I have a log book outlining every shot it has ever made, dates etc. I keep such a log book for every rifle I have. (Not the hand guns.) It is in excellent shape and shoots well. This lad has seen me shoot it accurately at well over a kilometre and knows it is a decent gun. It will fail in the future, or not, but t is known to be an excellent rifle, one I have won many competitions with.

How he treats it will matter of course, and I'm happy to show him how to do so properly and I'll shoot with this guy some more I think. None of that means your suggested situation won't arise though. It's a risk.

The gun shop thing isn't much of an option though. They will buy it for 50% less than they can sell it for and I would never sell it for that money. I'd rather give it away than do that.

I'm still not sure what I will do. I'm leaning towards the sale, but I'll miss it, and also the situation you mention gives me pause.

Need to put my thinking cap on. Lol.

!ENGAGE 20

As long as he really understands, if he is new to shooting, then care and maintenance needs to be learned. Did he help clean or watch what all you had to do after getting back from the range? If not maybe next shooting you should show him all the work that goes into maintaining the rifle in a ready to shoot conditions. It has been a long time since I cleaned a rifle, but it seemed like it always took me a couple hours of work especially if I did a lot of shooting.

On the first shoot was it your hand loads, or store bought loads, that also makes a big difference sometimes to accuracy. Once again more time involved in getting that good accurate grouping. You sound like the teaching part is fun for you, so teach away, if he wants to continue learning, then a sell to him may become a bit easier as he learns all the ins and outs of the fun part.

Clearly you know what you're talking about.

Yes, I'm working through the whole shebang with this lad from cleaning and maintenance to mounting the scope correctly plus all the shooting technicalities to shot at long range effectively. We did some work on calling the wind from grass, trees and mirage on the day we went shooting, but that's advanced stuff so it will take time for him to pick it up.

I only ever shoot my own loads which are precision-loaded by hand which I am also teaching him (eventually.) I'll teach him load development and reloading and he'll probably use my equipment for a time too.

My wife Faith and I are childless (long story) so imparting this knowledge to someone gives me a bit of a feel that I am doing what I would have done with my own son or daughter. I help out a lot of people, not just young ones, and get a buzz out of it, seeing them progress. It sort of justifies the thousands of hours and dollars I've invested. Shares it around. I hope to show my niece and nephew these, and other skills, too someday.

I'm not one to value slacking off, so don't worry, the young fella is going to have to put the work in. Lol.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I can is the answer...However do I want to is a question I follow up with in my own mind. Taking someone I don't know well, and probably don't trust much, to a secluded location and putting a loaded gun in their hands is not something I feel very comfortable with. So, I pick and choose who I take.

I used to think the same way about rock climbing. You have to trust you life to your partner, and a lot of people don't qualify for that sort of treatment.

I may sound flippant at times, about firearms, but in reality I am not. Turning and shooting someone intentionally (and unintentionally) is a real hazard. It has happened many times. The Chris Kyle (American Sniper) and Chad Littlefield shooting in 2013 is a perfect example.

It's no different in rock climbing of course, as you say. Someone gets belaying or a knot wrong, or some other such thing, and it's often a long way down.

I'm not very liberal with trust, I'll be honest; It takes effort to gain it, and to retain it. A simple, seemingly harmless comment or act, can see it evaporate in a moment.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

A really amazing and expensive hobby. I wonder if you can make #threespeak video for this, it will be great if we have a Gun Community here. I still do not have any experience of touching a gun in my life but will love to see our own community showcase their collection of Guns. Great post @galenkp, Cheers!

Hi there.

This post was posted in a hive Community.

Subscribe to THE PEW

I don't use threespeak personally and rarely do any videos at all although have done a few on guns a while back, me shooting and stuff.

Thanks for commenting though. If you are interested in guns you should take a look at The Pew community, (link above) as you will find plenty there.

!ENGAGE 20

oh, great! Thanks for telling THE PEW, already subscribe now. Happy to be part of this community, cheers!

Great! I hope you find something there you like.

I really appreciate you dropping in on my post and hope you do so again. It's the interaction and engagement here that brings me enjoyment, so I encourage it. :)

I followed you from now on, not to miss your future post.

It's the interaction and engagement here that brings me enjoyment, so I encourage it. :)

Your post has real value and definitely worth checking it out. Happy to meet you here, gunman 😅😁

Thank you for the follow and all the best for the rest of the week. I'm sure I'll see you around some more. :)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

You are very right to say that it is a great commitment to take someone to shoot dear friend @galenkp you never really know who you are talking to.
the young man apparently learned fast, gave some good blows to the torso of the steel model, his undoubtedly makes the difference and makes him look like a true professional.
What a difficult decision to sell the weapon, however, I think that everything has a price and for an acceptable value I could sell it
I admire your hobby dear friend.
Success in the transaction, you could buy the weapon you plan to buy
I wish you a great night

The lad has a long way to go but got a good start. I'm always happy to impart my skills to others who want to learn. and if I do sell him that rifle I know he will put it to good use.

without a doubt, the young man is taking his first steps, the good thing is that he can be a good student.
Have a beautiful night

Hehehee 😅. I think I need to acquire new hobbies. How pleasurable is it to aim and shoot at a target?... Who knows, I might eventually fall in love with it if I get to try it out someday. I never held a gun before. Even my childhood was denied of owning or playing with a toy gun 😫. I only saw other kid had fun with it.

Yes, it seems you are quite familiar with guns. There have been this thought about guns that burdens me. Do guns have a counter effect after been fired? I mean, like some kind of force that can fall you if you aren't taking a proper stance. If it does, is it all guns? Also, can anybody fire a gun? I mean having passed the children level maybe from teen upwards.

Loading...

It’s a sell from me - seems like it’ll help you both out, more than not trading.

Pricy machinery!

Lol...Sell is where I'm leaning. I'd like to throw a few bucks into something else, a zombie iron-sight gun but most would end up in metal.

It's all costly when it comes to guns. My CZ Shadow 2 handgun is $2300 and my sniper rifle is $12K+. Dumb really, but cheaper than water skiing and owning the ski boat, or a drag car for instance.

How well do they hold their value if kept in excellent condition, which I presume yours are?

That depends on the rifle and calibre, how desirable it is. Most competitive long range shooters moved away from the .308, myself included, and so they are not as desirable for competitive purposes, but to hunt sambar here one must have a minimum of 30-cal so many hunters want them. This lad is intending to use it for multi-purpose, probably more in the field so it's more interesting to him.

Generally though a rifle will loose money. I've broken even a few times though, if it is something not readily available, or if someone is impatient.

Fair enough. Well yeah, might as well pass it along then if you don't use it much and have an eye on something else :)

It'll help the lad out, and clears out something that doesn't get used at all. I'll pull in some cash too. More room in the safes mean...Room for something different. 😂

The question is, if you don't sell it; will it whisper his name in your ear every time you use it?
If they're meant to be together (and the price is right) I say go for it.

I tend to agree...It's sick of sitting in the safe...Nobody keeps baby in the corner style. Lol. It want's out to do some dirty dancing.

I obliterated a watermelon.

Selling a gun is a big decision to make and you have to consider other things other than money. You already pointed out your worry about giving someone a loaded gun while in a secluded location but in this case you won't be there but anything done with that gun will no doubt be tracked to you. I hope there's some legal process that will show that you ave relinquished ownership of the rifle completely if you do?

Well, I've sold my Playstation Portable before after intense buying pressure from one of my classmates back in my university days. I think back at it and I sort of wish I didn't sell it because I wasn't really in need of money at the time. I ended up spending the money on some useless shit I can't even remember.

There is a legal process to change firearm ownership. It must be done through a dealer (I have mates who are dealers) and everything is recorded. I then need to submit the disposal slip showing new owner name, address and firearms license. From the point I had it to the dealer and it is entered in the books I am no longer held responsible or accountable for it.

I've done that too, sold stuff for the money and regretted it; Not for a long time though. Disposing of this gun will mean I can bring something else in, namely the zombie gun. You see, a gun with a scope is only as good as the scope. If it breaks, comes loose or gets damaged in some way the firearm is basically useless as it is impossible to aim.

So, I want a gun that uses iron sights, like the SMLE .303 I have, but newer. That gun is over 100 years old. I'm not sure what I'll get at this stage, but probably something in a calibre I already have which makes it easy from the ammunition perspective.

Well yeah that makes sense from an economic point of view. So guns in the same class/category use the same amunitions irrespective of their year of creation?

If a rifle is a particular calibre, say .308, then yes whether it is old or new the same ammunition will run through it. Of course, firearms can tend to only like a particular type of ammo, a particular brand for instance.

I make my own ammo so do a load development of the perfect round for it and then make that round, over and over again, exactly the same. Factory made ammo is made on mass and is quite often not exactly the same. This variation, at long range, can mean a miss.

That makes sense considering all you've told me about these rifles. Small margins can alter the precision of your shot.

When you participate in the ranged shooting competitions, do they let you come with your custom made ammo or are there contests standards that must be adhered to?

 4 years ago (edited) 

Nah, they're sniper comps so we can run whatever we bring. The calibre has to be under 30-cal though.

And yes, small margines make big differences to a shot. Even breathing incorrectly will often result in a miss. Everything matters in long range shooting.

There's a lot of science behind it. Professionals make it look so easy.

My favorite under 30 cal is 22-250. Check the ballistics, reloading options, and bullet variety. I'm sure you may have your favorite picked, but definitely one to look at if you're still undecided.

Oooo temptation in the house hahaha. I think it is harder to sell things we got emotionally attached with. If you take the emotion part and think money, you would have made the sell by now. And there is a thing: people want what they can't have even more when you deny them. I have a feeling you could even make a profit if you would still say no. Not to take advantage, but to study human nature. It all depends on the person. Some might back down knowing it is not worth to pay extra, some might want it so much they no longer look at money. Either way you look, there is a tiny bit of emotion in that decision. The emotion of making a profit, a sell, good buy etc. Does he want it because you have it or because he needs it? Ahh I am fascinated by the human nature in making choices

He doesn't need it...I don't need guns. We want them though and that's what matters.

If he wants to shoot at long range he will need a gun though, not mine, but a gun. He likes mine though and is happy to pay for it knowing he will get a decent gun, accurate, reliable, modified and proven. He has also shot it a lot and knows what it does. If he was to buy a second hand gun elsewhere he would not have that benefit.

I will not take advantage of him financially though; I'm not that way inclined. I have some other gear I'll throw in with it too, some ammunition, ammo boxes, a tactical sling, gun case. I haven't told him yet, but I like the kid and I think he will appreciate a few extras for the same price.

I'm leaning towards the sale and told him so today. He's getting the money prepared. I told him I will make my decision by the end of the week. He's pumped.

Ooooo you will make him so happy, someone is getting a big bro hug for this, I am sure😂😂

Thats a nice bolt action. But i always thought t3s fired 7.62! Dont know though, just my "googled" Knowledge speaking. However, some black tips and youll be a badass like Mark Wahlbarg from Shooter. lol

Loading...

Ooo, not into guns as such, I do appreciate a good gun though, Python, Desert Eagle, and i'd like to shoot a supressed pistol - I love shooters on the xbox and wouldn't mind shooting stationary objects in the real world, I used to use hunting catapults Barnet Diablo with a weights set and sight, and the odd Black Widow, just target practice - i've also shot with a 2.2 many years ago. As for the names Super Varmint... Must have one

More people I know don't like guns than like them, it's just how it is. I respect those who have a go though as it gives them perspective. I took someone shooting a while back who didn't like guns...She now has several and shoots weekly. Some also who will never shoot again.

I do so many things, shooting is just one. I like the science behind it. Seems like you have had a little experience. Could you see youself shooting some more?

An interesting question, I like looking at weaponry, once at a carnival in Silverdale, a dear friend, leant me a Sten and a German helmet, that wouldn't happen today - he had a phenomenal collection, the jewel being a VW Kubelcar with 50 Cal mounted on it, he was called Chippy Carpenter.
His collection was in a hidden saferoom, the vehicle featured in many films, A bridge too far etc. He said he acquired whilst fighting, it was just sat there :)
My Grandad also had a 12 Bore used to shoot small animals, preferred the 2.2 - he was a crack shot, we had ferrets too. Yes i'd enjoy revisiting it, I think, ps just written a tour of the garden i promised you some time ago :)

Firearms, and their owners, are made out to be bad but in reality the typical, lawful gun owner, is no different to anyone else. I mean, some people revile those who like them, and yet a drunk driver walks about in society with impunity...And many people drive under the influence of drugs and alcohol daily...It doesn't make a lot of sense. I mean, if I decided to sling a rifle on my shoulder and walk to the mall I'd be arrested and charged in minutes.

It seems you have an interest and maybe some day you'll push on with it and shot some guns.

I love mediaeval weapons. Swords, axes, morning stars etc. I'm fascinated by them. I have a few also. I also love militaria from WW1 and WW2. Had a day visit to Tank museum at Bovington, UK in 2018. Loved it. You been?

I'll check out the post. 🙂

No I haven't, a guy I used to play World of Tanks with always wanted to go, sounds well worth visiting and yes weaponry always picqued my interest and someday I may well revisit it, thank you

I'd say it's worth the effort and found it fascinating.

Great story. I also think hard before taking folks shooting. Many do not realize that not only can the ammo be expensive (often $1 to $5 per shot), but then there is also the followup time for cleaning the weapons and maybe for reloading that comes later. It is often rewarding though to introduce new people to the sport. It certainly sounds like we have a new supporter in this case!

I had a similar experience in reverse with one of my old shooting buddies. A group of us got together to shoot some sporting clays. A friend of mine brought in this Beretta semi-auto shotgun. I typically prefer pump action, just because I enjoy working the action. But I picked up his Beretta, and it was like a custom glove. Not only did I shoot it better than any shotgun previously, I out-shot him and everyone else with it that day. I begged him to sell it to me, kept referring to it as "my gun" every time we would get together to shoot. Well, eventually 2 years later, he decided to upgrade to some other new shiny toy (he was never able to shoot it as good as me) and sold it to me for a reasonable price. I still enjoy it.

I've also sold some others, for various reasons, a few I regret, but most were either calibers or models that I just decided I preferred others, or upgraded to better models and let someone else benefit from the learning and experience.

That looks like a really good shooter, and I'm sure will make him a lifelong fan. For me, I enjoy building up a new rifle and getting it all tuned in just as much if not more than repetitive shooting. Some great deal of satisfaction to take a steel rod, a piece of wood, and some small pieces of metal and powder into an efficient delivery system.

Enjoy!

The cost, yes another reason to be wary of how often, and who, we take shooting...The time involved pre and post shooting also. If I take someone to the range and do handguns I make them pay for the ammo. I generally buy some S&B 9mm (about $99.50-$110/250rds) and then I keep the brass for reloading. With rifles I charge them by the round at $1.50/rd. It might sount miserly, but what choice do I have? That guy the other day shot 150 .308 hand loads plus I drove up there in the big-dog so about $60 worth of diesel...My time, the cleaning etc. I think it's fair.

I like that story of the shotgun, especially that you were shooting it better than him. So many times people blame the gun and will dispose of it for another...Only to find they shoot the same! You were the winner there for sure. my shotgun is a scrub gun, I use to sling on my back when pig hunting, a back up. It's a 12ga Fausti U/O and is about as basic as it gets. I've had it since 2002 though, and it's not failed me. Scratched, scraped and ugly as hell, but well-used. Lol. Cost me $950 at the time...Probably worth $150 now!

I'd like me a Beretta, my mate has a nice one that I keep asking him to sell me, at 50% off...Lol. Same deal as you and your mate. I'll keep plugging away. (We shoot the same though, in fact, if I'm honest, he's better at shotgun than I am.)

Ah, temptation. When an offer gets really good, it is hard to pass up.

Money talks bullshit walks you know...

I think I'll sell.

Aye. Hope the sale goes well.

How nice of you to groom lil' Dog on how to shoot properly, and give a show of true marksmanship. It's quite the distance for a newbie who's used to .22LR, but it's good to hear he's been able to improve that much in just a few hours. I guess then, it's a double edged sword. This Tikka is the one that has engravings on it, right? I remembered not long ago when we talked about Finish guns, and those Nokia .308 rounds.

It would be a shame to sell it, since it looks like a pretty neat gun. But I suppose if the price is right, and you're willing to let go, then there's nothing wrong with selling it. As you say, no point in keeping something just for the sake of having it. You could always kill zombies with a bucket load of other .308 rounds. I've had a fascination with the FN FAL, though that's purely for the heck of it, and I'm not sure if its legal for you to have one...

He's a decent lad, comes from a difficult background with no dad. I've got no children of my own so it seems to work. If it was anyone else I'd tell them to fuck off, but I think my gun will go to a good home and I'll cut him some slack on price. Help him out a little.

Nah, this is a different gun. The one you refer to is my Tikka CTR .243. This one is a T3 .308.

Nope, semi-auto rifles are regulated here. I know mates who have them, and I fire them sometimes, but most people can't have them. The mates I refer to are professional shooters who make their living from shooting out of helo's in the outback. (Culling.) They mostly use the M4 Carbine in various formats. Heavily regulated firearms.

Ah, that's very nice of you to help out the lad. He's pretty keen on it, and with the skills he's earned in just one day, I think he'll get some good use out of it, as you said. If I recall from watching an old episode of Top Gear, don't they use helicopters for ranching?

You Aussies have some huge farms, but I didn't think you'd be shooting rifles from choppers. That sounds like quite a challenge, with the shakiness of the platform, and I suppose the draft from those propellers could have an effect on the bullet's trajectory, no?

 4 years ago (edited) 

They round up cattle and sheep with choppers yes. Plus shoot pigs, brumby's and camels when culling. The hunt in NZ by chopper too.

There are special rigs that get strung up in the doorway to help support the gun. Still, some skill is required. The rotor's don't really have much of an effect. They're only shooting at relatively close range and the projectile isn't under the rotor-wash for long. See video below. Skilled pilot. (Warning: Killing is shown, not blurred out in this video).

http://www.sportingshooter.com.au/video/one-shot-kills-the-most-lethal-aussie-chopper-cull

Jeez, they don't lie in the title about it being 'one shot, one kill', do they? That accuracy is astounding... A steady pilot, and a focused shooter. It looks like those rigs have some sort of gyro, or stabilisation to it, no?

That rig is probably one of the best available. Its very stable. Most have a rope set-up stung up within the doorway where the gun sits in, stable, but nowhere near as stable as this one.

I think that rope set-up reminds me of a video from a Vietnam War documentary. They strapped an M60 machine gun with some rope/cord on the roof. Must've been quite the change to go from that, to a dedicated mount on the side of the helo.

image.png

As somebody who once almost shot a corporal... By accident I hasten to add when I was a bright eyed, bushy tailed, whippersnapper, new to the armed forces, I understand entirely your hesitancy upon being asked the question first time, by somebody you are mentally trying to measure up. Oh man that first ever kickback still stings even just to think about it.

Handling a gun the first few times when it is something you have had zero experience of in your life, whilst experiencing nervous energy and excitement can be a dubious combination. When it comes to selling your cherished .308, how much emotional churn or potential regret will there be in parting with it? How much excitement or fun would there be as a payoff from a new toy? That's the equation I quickly use when I have been laboring over a stick or twist decision for too long.

Still not sure if this post is merely to convince you or us lol... The decision will be right either way, I don't have you pegged as someone who acts impetuously.

Could have been worse...Could have been the sergeant! Lol. I bet they made you pay for it though. (I would have. Lol)

You're right, one hundred percent! The regret/payoff equation. To be honest I think it's going to find a new owner and I'd rather it was this kid as I think he will really respect it. He has had a tough life, no dad, handed around...I'm a bit of an influence on him I guess and with no kids of my own it's nice for me to be able to impart some knowledge. I'll look after him on price and get to see him stretch it out to 1200m over time.

I'm not impetuous...Although donuts have made me that way at times.

Oh yes... My final line was meant to be... Of course the corporal had his revenge for a whole month or so...

That extra bit of info has convinced me entirely... One day when you have 5 minutes downtime, give THIS a scan... You will relate. It's also possibly the direction my career will take to replace 'machine operating grunt' in a food factory lol.

The kid OK'd the post before I clicked publish BTW - There were tangible tears from a so-called little hardman :)

Donuts... Well of course!

Mentoring is a very rewarding thing to do, in any situation and I'm not surprised it resonates with you. I mentor people professionally and from a life perspective also and have done for years. I get as much from it as do those I mentor.

Maybe it's time for a follow up post? How's things with that kid?

Ah! Sadly, he went back to live with his birth Mother a few months back. It's a story you will have heard before... As have I. Once he was in a different sphere of influence, most certainly not a positive one, I lost almost all power to have any positive influence.

I reach out from time to time without pressuring, I am of the mindset that once he realises that his trajectory is not going to take him towards the goals he shared with me, he will ask for help. I ((without judgement or chastisement about his choices in this period)) will be ready and ask him to go find the statements he wrote down about himself and we will begin a review...

I'm 49% pragmatist and 51% optimist... Hope abounds.

Giving is easy, we can't make someone receive it well though. It will play out and either way you will know you played your part as best you can.