You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The temptation

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

More people I know don't like guns than like them, it's just how it is. I respect those who have a go though as it gives them perspective. I took someone shooting a while back who didn't like guns...She now has several and shoots weekly. Some also who will never shoot again.

I do so many things, shooting is just one. I like the science behind it. Seems like you have had a little experience. Could you see youself shooting some more?

Sort:  

An interesting question, I like looking at weaponry, once at a carnival in Silverdale, a dear friend, leant me a Sten and a German helmet, that wouldn't happen today - he had a phenomenal collection, the jewel being a VW Kubelcar with 50 Cal mounted on it, he was called Chippy Carpenter.
His collection was in a hidden saferoom, the vehicle featured in many films, A bridge too far etc. He said he acquired whilst fighting, it was just sat there :)
My Grandad also had a 12 Bore used to shoot small animals, preferred the 2.2 - he was a crack shot, we had ferrets too. Yes i'd enjoy revisiting it, I think, ps just written a tour of the garden i promised you some time ago :)

Firearms, and their owners, are made out to be bad but in reality the typical, lawful gun owner, is no different to anyone else. I mean, some people revile those who like them, and yet a drunk driver walks about in society with impunity...And many people drive under the influence of drugs and alcohol daily...It doesn't make a lot of sense. I mean, if I decided to sling a rifle on my shoulder and walk to the mall I'd be arrested and charged in minutes.

It seems you have an interest and maybe some day you'll push on with it and shot some guns.

I love mediaeval weapons. Swords, axes, morning stars etc. I'm fascinated by them. I have a few also. I also love militaria from WW1 and WW2. Had a day visit to Tank museum at Bovington, UK in 2018. Loved it. You been?

I'll check out the post. 🙂

No I haven't, a guy I used to play World of Tanks with always wanted to go, sounds well worth visiting and yes weaponry always picqued my interest and someday I may well revisit it, thank you

I'd say it's worth the effort and found it fascinating.