You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smith & Wesson

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

Hey mate, nice shooter! Tell me please, do you also need to keep it in a safe, or just locked in the plastic case. Here, we have to keep firearms and ammo separately, but have to have the firearms locked in an appropriate safe. I say appropriate as there are different categories of safe depending on the type and number of firearms. I have to have the highest category due to what I have. The safe also has to be fixed to the building unless it weighs more than 150kg. I guess maybe you just have to have it locked in that case right?

So, I'm looking forward to the cleaning post, but not as much as the shooting post!

Thanks for posting in the Pew. The first of many I hope.

Sort:  

Thanks man! I will have to familiarize myself with the law again but I think it’s ideally in a safe. I do have a safe to store it which then I put this all into. It may be overkill but they are very aggressive at trying to find ways to fault people sometimes. My safe isn’t very big though, it’s just big enough to put the case in it, it won’t fit other items plus the case outside of some papers and stuff. The ammunition has to be stored separately so that’s in a little drawer safe. I think bolting it to the floor is desired when possible but that’s not always possible, especially living in a condo like we do so I don’t do that. I am now curious since it’s been 7 years since I took the safety course, some of those details are foggy!

I’m really hoping to hit the range with my dad but the family front is iffy with my mom being a pain in my ass, my dad doesn’t want to get in the middle. I’ll probably end up going solo but it’s better than not going!

Thanks for checking it out man! I certainly plan on hopping in here more, I like that there’s a few great posts from my quick browsing of it! I think my wife’s uncle is into shooting so maybe I’ll get to go with him to one of the local clubs. The one I can go to without a membership is 40 minutes away. Not terrible but lame when there’s one in my town but have to jump though hoops to stay a member.

It sounds like your storage laws are similar to ours. They check here though, the Firearms Branch. The turn up unannounced and we have to let them in to check off the firearms we posses, the serial numbers etc. Having a firearms license is a warrant for their entry and it cannot be denied.

I'm a member at a coupe of ranges these days although they have been closed lately, due to the virus. Both have reopened now though, so I'll be shooting handguns more. There's no real hoops to jump here, just pay membership and that's it. Of course, we get checked out when joining, but once in it's all good. Hopefully you get to shoot soon!

!ENGAGE 25

Thanks, so I remember my method was appropriate for what the law is.

State law:

The law requires guns to be stored in a specific manner. All guns, when not in use, with the exception of primitive firearms, must be stored or kept “secured in a locked container or equipped with a tamper-resistant mechanical lock or other safety device,” to prevent unauthorized use. Penalties are assessed even if no underage person obtains access.

With the numerous locks and safe it’s in, even though it’s not very big it’s enough to satisfy the state. Phew, got me a little nervous questioning my poor memory lol

I don’t think they can do checks if they want but I’ve never heard of one being done so I’m not positive. The police here were pretty nice as long as you’re a stand up person they don’t give you much hassle.

The club I was looking to join needed new members to pay dues, participate in the events they host for members and do desk duty or something once in a while. I understand they want people to participate and be a part of the little family but I’m just joining to shoot and make friends later. I don’t want to do all that crap and turn out not liking it. Turned me off but it’s the closest one, like 15 minutes away so it’s tough lol

Seems like you have met storage laws well enough.

The main range I am a member of is a military club so there's no desk-sitting, just shooting. I involve myself with working-bees and set up of competitions from time to time, but it's not a forced thing.

A 40 minute drive isn't too bad to avoid all that desk-sitting and shit. I'd be doing that I think! Lol.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.