You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A clip or magazine: Demonstration video (by me)

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

Haha, an airport names after a TV character. That's gold!

Now I want to watch The Rat Patrol. I can remember thinking their Jeep with the 50 on thee top was the coolest thing ever. (Ok, I'll be honest, I still do.)

Sort:  

Pappy Boyington was a real person, and the show was just a heavily fictionalized narrative based incredibly loosely on his memoirs. He was born in Coeur d'Alene, Idaho. That city basically merges seamlessly into Hayden, where Coeur d'Alene Airport/Pappy Boyington Field is located. One of the more interesting homeschool field trips I had was a flight in a kit plane from there before the renaming.

Oh, I didn't know that. What can I say, other than use the I'm Australian and am clueless defence. Works every time. 😉

I was only telling someone the other day I need to get myself Stateside for six months. I'd love to investigate around a bit, see some natural places and learn some history. It's little stories like this that fascinate me.

Well, if you ever make it to the inland northwest, there's a lot of neat mining and timber history in the Idaho panhandle. Spokane has the Museum of Arts and Culture with interesting stuff to see, and Manito Park is a good place to visit. There are also lots of trails and forest wilderness areas to explore.

Bing Crosby is another local icon, BTW. There are also many good authors who grew up here or called the area home for a while. Outdoors humorist Patrick F. McManus grew up in the Sandpoint, Idaho area and spent much of his adult life in Spokane.

There are also lots of trails and forest wilderness areas to explore.

This is a surefire way to get me anywhere.