You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Going long y'all - A post about long ranging

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

Hi there, thanks for reading and commenting.

I've had my .243 out to 800m, but not on a life target. It did the job pretty well though and I think I'd be accurate at 1000m. I built it for culling and shorter-range practical rifle competitions (200-600m) which it handles with ease.

I use my 6.5mm Creedmoor for long range usually 1600m and have had great success with it. Once I worked up my own load and got it all dialled in it shoots like a laser. I'm the weak link, if anything.

Here's that gun. It's great for fixed position shooting, and a little movement, but for hiking around the farm and culling it's dumb as it is simply too heavy. Also, the 6.5CM round is too much for what I need out there. I love shooting it though. Deadly accurate and I've had it way out there.

20190328_182825_2.jpg

I used to shoot a .308 a lot and liked it. I competed with one for a couple years and had great success but the flatter trajectory of the 6.5mmCM was too much of an attraction; Means less need to dial or hold elevation and in practical comp-shooting that's a good thing.

So, you're a yank who came over and stole one of our Aussie gals huh? Well, that's great although...Not shooting for three years? Geez cobber, you must be missing it!

Thanks for commenting. I believe the first time you've done so on one of my posts, and I appreciate it.