You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Going long y'all - A post about long ranging

in Outdoors and more4 years ago (edited)

Excellently written article. I'm a fan of long distance shooting too. Dude if you're hitting targets with .243 at 700-800 yards thats pretty impressive. I used to be able to hit targets at 600 yards with Hornady 168gr TAP .308 through my old rifle back when i was in the states. (i spend most of my time in the south burnett region of Queensland these days. Was fortunate enough to fall in love with sn aussie gal.) Even targets at elevated positions 400 yards out without the bipod. Alas i havent shot in nearly 3 years and its a frangible skill. 700-800 yards is impressive. I would love to play with your rangefinder. That's a pretty sweet tool. All i ever had was the old mark 1, mod 0 eyeball and a 40mm x4-16 scope.

Sort:  

Hi there, thanks for reading and commenting.

I've had my .243 out to 800m, but not on a life target. It did the job pretty well though and I think I'd be accurate at 1000m. I built it for culling and shorter-range practical rifle competitions (200-600m) which it handles with ease.

I use my 6.5mm Creedmoor for long range usually 1600m and have had great success with it. Once I worked up my own load and got it all dialled in it shoots like a laser. I'm the weak link, if anything.

Here's that gun. It's great for fixed position shooting, and a little movement, but for hiking around the farm and culling it's dumb as it is simply too heavy. Also, the 6.5CM round is too much for what I need out there. I love shooting it though. Deadly accurate and I've had it way out there.

20190328_182825_2.jpg

I used to shoot a .308 a lot and liked it. I competed with one for a couple years and had great success but the flatter trajectory of the 6.5mmCM was too much of an attraction; Means less need to dial or hold elevation and in practical comp-shooting that's a good thing.

So, you're a yank who came over and stole one of our Aussie gals huh? Well, that's great although...Not shooting for three years? Geez cobber, you must be missing it!

Thanks for commenting. I believe the first time you've done so on one of my posts, and I appreciate it.