You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Maintaining the perishable

in Outdoors and more6 months ago

I don't shoot them at much over 350 metres so no that's not long range. I can shoot well past one mile (well over 1600 metres) accurately and with a solid hit-probability but on the cattle farm shooting at that distance would be a little dangerous due to the size of the property. It's just not big enough to shoot at those distances, the farthest I'd probably shoot there would be 800 metres and that would be only at a deer which I would shoot centre-mass. Kangaroos have to be head-shots as part of the government regulations for those culling them.

The ammunition is precision-made, something that can only be achieved by hand...automated ammunition production lines are designed for speed, not a precision-made piece of ammunition. With the elements of long range shooting...there's a lot and leaving one out means reduced accuracy and hit probability...there's so much I've not mentioned, but I've done many posts on each thing over the years...most of them anyway, I don't want to create some sort of manual or text book for it. I generally only allude to certain things and leave much out.

Sort:  

I guess I was thinking you were always shooting from a higher vantage point and the bullet will go straight to the ground afterwards. I didn't know it can go that far, and I can see why you couldn't do it regularly and on the farms. Thanks for answering my questions.

 6 months ago (edited) 

That's the theory, but not always the case. I'd never shoot at something out there if there was no immediate backdrop of course, the side of a hill or something. There's other factors. Rifles that shoot greater distances weigh more and I'm not inclined to lug one around out there. Also, the ammunition is more costly to make (heavier projectiles, more powder and so on) and I'm not inclined to spend $3 a round to cull kangaroos. As it is, the .243 rounds I make for it at almost $2 each to make. So, there's a few factors.

Also, an unimpeded bullet could travel for several kilometres, depending on the calibre, and still have the ability to do damage. Not something I'm willing to risk.