You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Standard of Reliability - G19 Gen5 MOS

in Outdoors and morelast year

A good post on a decent shooter mate. Like I said on another comment (as my alter ego), there's not much point in spending more than one has to on a firearm if there's an option that does the job. getting shot by your G19 or my CZ P-09 or SIG Sauer P226 is shot either way and whilst there's pros and cons to each, for the civilian operator I think it doesn't much matter which.

I locked up all my guns and placed them safe at my parents home and gave momma the keys.

Just on this...Here in Australia I am unable to divulge the codes to my safes even to someone with the right licensing, as the guns are registered to me. It's bonkers. So, let's say my partner has the same licensing as I do, and the same exact firearms...We would be unable to store them in the same safe as I would have access to her guns, and she mine. It's bloody stupid right? It raises issues in respect of my dying and what has to occur afterwards to deal with my firearms. I've left instructions in my will, names and phone numbers of those who can deal with them, but it's a complex thing and I shouldn't have to right?

Sort:  

Ummmm... wow thats pretty stupid yes. So your firearm cannot be shared in the same safe due to the fact that you have access to the other persons gun??? Even though both parties are licensed for the exact firearm???

If that is the case the government should do the same to automobiles because cars are far more deadly than guns. You could probably petition that nonsense by applying it to cars since car accident fatalities are much higher globally than gun violence. Yea every country has thier own version of stupid laws. :)

Pretty stupid law for sure. hehehehe

So your firearm cannot be shared in the same safe due to the fact that you have access to the other persons gun? Even though both parties are licensed for the exact firearm?

Yep. Bloody bonkers huh?

I can loan my guns with nothing more than a signed and dated piece of paper saying where they are (the page is kept by both parties) although that person has to have the right safe category and the right license of course. Not that I loan my guns of course. But...I can't leave the code somewhere for my next of kin to find when I die...It means someone has access to the guns who may not have the licensing or permission. Having the pin code combination to a gun safe is considered being in possession of the firearms.

Maybe I should just tell you what it is, record it on the blockchain.

Safe 1: 12345
Safe 2: 00000
Safe 3: 54321

You can see how complex I make my passwords.

🤣

That is some truly interesting marketing the safe and gun companies have lobbied with the government. :) All guns in safe and when owner dies the guns just rust away together with safe... therefore the kin "needs" to buy another "new" safe. In addition to buying another "firearm" to replace the lost one. and The cycle continues.... All because if there is a gun, one cannot share passcodes. Brilliant !Whoever is doing marketing for safes and guns in Australia needs to recieve a Nobel Prize.

By the way, how did you know my ATM card passwords? dang it~! :)

It's draconian for sure. Don't get me wrong, I am all for gun safety, but it brings issues that the government won't address no matter how logical the solutions presented are.

What? Your VISA card PIN is 00000 also? Damn, we have so much in common.