What's in my boot

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

20220723_102512.jpg



That's my right boot; a little grubby for sure, but these boots have seen a lot of use and the scars they carry, the mud, dust and wear, all tell a story of where we've been together.

They're by 5.11 Tactical and are called A.T.A.C 8" Arid, we've been together since 2017 and I think there's a year or so left in them. But this post isn't about the boots, it's about what's in them...and I don't mean my foot.

No matter where I go, I have a knife with me - even when I'm at work. The knife changes depending on where I am of course, and sometimes I have more than one, when I'm hunting or camping for instance. When I'm not at work I usually have thse boots on because I'm often working at home or wandering about in the wilderness and, no matter what, my boot knife comes with.

20220723_102013-COLLAGE.jpg

This knife is by Kershaw and, whilst there's more expensive options, I wanted to go for a balance between quality and cost; that's because the knife lives in my boot and could be easily lost; knives I carry in other ways are never a compromise. I've had this one since I got the boots, purchased specifically to fit in the boot knife-pocket and it's been used so many times since I can't count them. Like the boots, it's a little banged up, but it's still effective.

As you can see above, it's a folder with a slide-retainer designed to hold it in place in a pocket or boot pouch. It's lived in my boot since I got it and has never worked loose.

It has a quick-deploy mechanism so if clipped into the pocket of shorts or trousers can be pulled out and the blade deploys which means it's ready to work. That little hook at the top of the knife (top photo above) catches on the pocket lip and flicks the blade open so it's ready to use. It can also be removed from the pocket without deploying the blade of course.

It can be opened easily with one hand using the thumb-catch which you can see a little forward of the hook in the same photo. It's very easy to deploy and after all the use mine has had it opens very smoothly.

20220723_102137 (1).jpg

It's not a big knife, you can see it above against a ruler in millimetres. The blade is about 70mm and opened the knife has an overall length of 185mm. It fits nicely in the hand and is perfect for many applications. I keep this knife razor sharp and, if careless, it would cut skin incredibly easily. I've never done it of course, but I've come close - usually through stupidity and incorrect usage.

Generally this knife is used for small jobs as it doesn't have the size or strength for anything too strenuous. I've trimmed things, cut string, fishing line, fabric, electrical wire, duct tape, bandages, whittled wood and even skinned a few tihngs with it when I've needed too, although it's not designed for that particularly. There's so many uses for a knife like this and I've often found new and interesting uses to put it to as need arises including personal security situations should they present themselves.

P7230048-COLLAGE.jpg

Because it lives in my boot it's never clean, you can see some build up of general dirt and dust and suede fabric dust from the boot itself in the images above, its scuffed and damaged from used also. It's a utilitarian knife, not a show-pony, so I don't mind that it looks used. It's earned all of those marks the hard way.

This knife has given me five years of service and there's years in it still. Every so often I give it a good clean, sprinkle a little graphite powder on the moving parts and hone the edge a little more then slip it back into my boot. Whether I use it for cutting a thread from a shirt, stripping paracord to make fishing line, slicing chunks off a sausage I've just cooked on the fire, removing a splinter or any other need I have for it...I know it'll be waiting right there, in my boot.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any images in this post are my own

Sort:  

I've never had one with that handy quick release hook. It's quite nifty, I will have to keep an eye out as I didn't know there were such things!

One must have a quick deploy knife, it's a Titan thing.

I find myself in hearty agreement!!

Get ye some of these boots too boomy, you'll not regret it.

I do need a decent pair of boots. I have been sorely lacking in that department for a few years now

They look even better when yo ugo through the specs!

Oh hell yes, Kershaw is where it's at. A nice Union Made USA knife. Practically a requirement on job sites back home.

I'm not surprised you know the brand, they do a good knife and the way this one takes the abuse I give it attests to that. I have a couple other Kershaw's, all equally as good.

Never owned a fire arm, but Rocky goes in my pocket everywhere!

Released gut from bird legs on beaches, never know when you may need it, yes a tool one should never be without. Folding back lock, easy open with flick, good blade regularly sharpened, this has been with me twenty odd years. Inscription on blade is Rocky, picked up in park years ago ever since constant part of attire.

Thought this interesting....

“I have filled him with the Spirit of God in wisdom, in understanding, in knowledge, and in all kinds of craftsmanship, to make artistic designs for work in gold, in silver, and in bronze, and in the cutting of stones for settings, and in the carving of wood, that he may work in all kinds of craftsmanship.” Exodus 31:3-5

!BEER

I figured you'd have something like this handy; in truth, I don't know how people get by without a small pocket knife or multitool on an every day basis. There's so many uses for a small blade. I'm happy being that guy who produces a knife when someone says, has anyone got a knife?

Apple never falls far from the tree they say, my Mom always carried her little knife which I have in safe keeping, blade is about 25mm long. Peeling apples and fruit I think was reason back then.

I have a knife my grandfather had, I don't use it but it's never far away.

!LOLZ the little things we keep holding good memories.

I'm looking for an arsonist interested in a romantic relationship.
I want someone who can set my world on fire!

Credit: reddit
@galenkp, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart
Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/6)

This is the knife I am actually looking for. But here in my country, its quiet expensive. I planning to buy that for security purposes and unlike yours, I wanted to put it hidden... like beside my thigh..

Cold weapons, like knives, can make for an excellent form of personal security if one knows how to put it to use, and how not to be disarmed and have one's own weapon used agains oneself. A thigh-rig is a good option provided access is easy and fast. I'm sure you've thought of all of that though. I hope you manahe to get what youj're looking for.

Yes yes, exactly. And with that, I am actually willing to learn some basic self defense.

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts @galenkp ✨✨

If that knife could talk, how many adventures would it tell and which ones would it remember the most? Without a doubt, that knife is that object that must be chosen in those hypothetical circumstances where we must choose a single essential object.

I read you and not only do I notice that there is history behind that knife but even personality. I find it very strange that this knife does not have a personal name, or does it? He seems to me like a Walter, a faithful companion, inseparable and equally powerful. It was very interesting to read your post. He reminds me a lot of my brother, who from a young age started collecting razors and knives, and loves fishing and wildlife. Unfortunately, personal circumstances sometimes lead us to other destinations. That's why it seemed like a good end point:

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

Sometimes we just live it as is, "by default", not all of us find it easy to think outside the box. Although thinking of my brother, his life is not at all daily, despite the fact that he has had to support himself in a routine job, perhaps out of his preference. This has given me some great ideas to write about. But it is an excellent reflection.

I don't name my knives, but yes, it's seen a lot of action and if it could tell some of the stories I think people would find them interesting.

😎 I am sure of it. I thought that knife did have a name, but I loved the way you told us about it in your post. Have a good night🌸

this is so excellent. i love this so much. life is all about creating what you want. sadly only a few know this reality. lots of field are flooded, we need to create things and make the difference. Thanks fams.

Most people are too busy doing what it is others have led them into thinking they want to do. I prefer to design and create for myself rather than be led around on a leash.

The needle ;) It might save your life, though.

This is true indeed, it pays to be prepared and this is one small way to be prepared.

I am just wondering if this knife is any good. I have a Magnum knife and I am not happy with it. Not sharp at all, even straight after sharpening...

Sometimes the cheaper knives won't hold a good edge or become dull quickly. It could also be in the sharpening process as well I guess. I don't go for cheap knives as they never represent good value. I'm notsaying yours is cheap though, I don' know the brand. I guess have a look at your sharpening process, make that's right, and then eliminate thepossibilities from there. If it's the knife's fault, then I guess it might be time for a new one.

Well, it certainly wasn't an expensive one. I was sharpening on a stone where usually kitchen knives got the sharpness, but not on this one. It is this one https://www.boker.de/en/advance-pro-fixed-blade-02ry300 . However, what brand do you recommend?

Buck make a decent knife, I have one as my hunting knife. It might be a good idea to check out the range. Of course, Kershaw also make a decent knife. Good luck with it.

THX, will check it out

We all have these little things that we always carry with us during the outdoors life and I totally feel you with the boots because I still use mine from 2016 that resisted pretty well in front of many challenges :)

I've had bad boots, an experience that rarely ends well for the boots. When I find some good ones I do what I can to extend their life but, having said that, my boots always earn their keep.

The life of the knife that lives in a boot. Great story. The boot probably has lots of stories to tell too. From your prompts I am now creatively looking at things differently- inanimate and living.

That is one handy knife. I have only ever had a Swiss Army knife which I found useful when I travelled extensively. However now I never have a knife but I see how it could be useful and could easily carry out many tasks.

 2 years ago (edited) 

My boots have been to a lot of places and covered a lot of ground, this pair and others. So many stories, I wish my boots had hands so they could type. 😊

A Swiss Army Knife is a very handy gadget to have and I'm glad to hear you agree. It's when one doesn't have such a tool that one realises how handy they can be.

So many stores, I wish my boots had hands so they could type.
I can only imagine.
It's when one doesn't have such a tool that one realises how handy they can be.
So true.

This knife would come in handy anytime... dependable and it might not be strong for strenuous jobs but it would do a fine job with what's expected. It has served its purpose and yet it has more years left. The blade is super sharp and I always love curvy blades like that...they cut deeper without mercy.

I can't believe that boot has used 5 years. Wow. Despite the usage, you have always been someone that knows how to take good care of things. I am like that too. Why won't we if it means we don't have to spend unnecessary on buying a new one. I don't go for fancy too but the kind of ones that can do the job. It doesn't have to be too expensive but be strong and cost effective.

I would love that kind of pocket knife. It's really nice. I have a tiny one with the keyholder and it has helped a few times too but this one is really classy and nice...

I've always looked after my things. I was raised in a family that didn't have much to spare after the bills were paid so what I had needed to last as there might not be a replacement. It taught me valuable lessons and now, whilst I can afford anything I want, that habit endures.

I'm glad to hear you have a pocket knife, I don't know how people get by without one.

Yes sir, our experiences shapes us. We are a product of what we have been exposed to and they stay with us. This is a valuable lesson to pick from the past.

Pocket knife would always come in handy. It's always nice to have one.

Oh that was so handy and your boots can carry it everywhere you go but I wondered if you can bring it to work? Here we cannot bring that one to work because it will be confiscated by the guard in the entrance gate.

That brand have a great quality because imagine that small knife serve you in 5 great years? Wow! for sure it will serve you more long years.

I don't wear these boots to work so the knife doesn't come to work. I have a different one for that, it looks like a key, so makes it through scanners. I even take it on aircraft. It's small, but sharp.

Wow! good to know that there are knives like that, imagine can still pass through scanners? You really have a different kinds of knives that you can bring everywhere. Thank you so much @galenkp for your help and support too.

It's a useful tool indeed, but won't get through security scanners; not that I've tried, I'm not that foolish, but I know it won't and so when I fly it goes into my checked luggage to emerge and go back into my boot on arrival to my destination.

That is a great tool for you and everyone for personal use. In the workplace it is a great help for any emergency, and I am not saying this because of attacks on people, I am saying this in case you have to cut something, of any kind.

Yep, I've not used it on someone that has atrecked me yet, but I've used it on so many other things I can't even count them.


Hey @galenkp, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I'm dead jealous over that descent kind of boots. I used to hike alone and always carry a handy knife with me, incase. Now I realized what I lacked. That's cool!

A man must have decent boots, and a decent knife; I am fortunate to have both.


My brain is so into it @galenkp . I really wish to have it one day!😀

You are of arms to take, but for those who use those arms it is better to use those tools.

But what do you do when wearing shorts? Those boots and shorts won't look so good together I think. 😳

Relaxed fit pants would do well . Might look funny in shorts🤣


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @marbrym ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I have never tried owning a firearm. And besides, I am really so sensitive for this. I am not so strong to handle. But surely this is a requirement for you galen.

Ah ok, well, this posts is about a boot knife, no firearms involved.

I have seen a knife and I am thinking of some firearms as well. I am sorry for that galen.

But I have not really tried to wear something like this in my entire life. I am more of a “kikay” woman. Thank you.

keep this knife razor sharp and, if careless, it would cut skin incredibly easily.

I know that well-enough =/ Still have an ugly scar on my finger after cutting myself with a similar-sized knife.

Haha, yeah we have all got scars from cutting ourselves with knives by accident...It's a right of passage. 😂

I've never worn a boot in my entire life. I mean, I don't think I have ever needed to wear one going to places I have been before. Also, I don't think I've seen any from the family who owns boots. I don't know if it's just culture difference or a certain necessity in your surroundings but, I know that there are people here in the Philippines who wear boots during hiking. - I know that at the very least! (joke :P)

Kidding aside, I was actually going to say that at first I thought you will be talking about your boot and I did noticed something attached to it... turns out it was a knife. But what I saw afterwards were mostly about your knife. And then I thought, "he could've put the knife as the thumbnail rather than the boot".

But it's understandable because I know you have your ways, and it was very wise I think. It's just I wanted to say that. haha

Kidding aside, I was actually going to say that at first I thought you will be talking about your boot and I did noticed something attached to it... turns out it was a knife. But what I saw afterwards were mostly about your knife. And then I thought, "he could've put the knife as the thumbnail rather than the boot".

I decided upon the title for this post before I wrote any text and went ahead with the picture of the entire bot, with the knife in the boot pouch, to support the title which I thought would add a little mystery, and therefore interest, when people initially scrolled and came across my post. A photo of the knife would have meant I couldn't use the title and had the same impact.

Mehn! The only knife I own is sitting pretty in my kitchen 🙈