You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The .45-70 Makes its Debut... as a Whitetail Rifle?!

Props to you for breaking out the big cal.! Dad always used his .30-.30 or 7mm, but I had a friend who uses her .45-70 guide's model deer hunting and it serves her well. The only .45-70 I've ever shot was a big octagon barreled one like Quigley used, lol, but I loved it!

Another well thing, you have some lovely, tasty backstrap in your future, YUM! (Oh wait, I read further, you did eat some and had wine too, super YUM!)

We got over 18" of snow today (and counting) so my life is full of snow removal instead of other pursuits, but I have to say, this post brought me joy as I was eating a bowl of homemade vegetable soup lol! And thanks a bunch for sharing scenes from your hunt, it reminded me so much of my childhood (there was always a dead deer hanging in my papa's shop).