You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A clip or magazine: Demonstration video (by me)

in short: clips hold ammunition. Magazines feed ammuntion. Clips may be used to fill a magazine directly (en bloc) serving as the magazine feed lips until empty, or they may indirectly feed magazines (stripper clips) before being discarded. Moon clips are a special case for rimless cartridges in revolvers. I have one half-moon clip in .45 ACP somewhere.

Sort:  

If only I said this...It would have saved me 800 words. 😁

I find watching stripper clip videos strangely soothing...although, not quite as soothing as emptying the rounds at the range or in the field.

I found my old post on the topic! It includes a pic of the moon clip.

And you replied to it!

Yeah, I see that...Just looked at it now. It was a god post, worth looking at twice. Now, if only those people who make movies understood the difference.

Excellent, I'll have a look when I finish stuffing my face with this chocolate donut.