No Title... The 1997 Dodge

in Outdoors and more2 years ago (edited)

I want to open by thanking the sponsors as well as the creator of this contest for the inspiration and platform to write this story.

A true story.

The Dodge Pickup Truck Story

Begins in the summertime of 2007. A person who I considered a brother from another. Fred Leach who was a good friend for many years. He owned a 1997 Dodge Ram 4 wheel drive pickup truck. 35 inch tires. Seven inches of combined suspension and body lift. 5" suspension / 2" body blocks. (Photos)

a1.jpg

Dodgemistake.JPG

Fred and I. We were quite the beer drinkers and hell raisers together in our younger days. But in 2007 we were both in our early 40's and focused on our careers. Occasionally I would deliver a load nearby to where Fred lived in Winchester VA. (usa)

I would park the Prime Mover I owned and operated as a long haul trucker at the time, a 1999 KW w900, in the large equipment lot next to a rental house on the same property where Fred was employed. (photo)

truck by rocks.jpg

Fred was a maintenance mechanic for a construction company. He also held a license to operate oversized vehicles.

Several times a year on average. I would stop by. We would spend a few days together. Always a good time with cold adult beverages, laughter and stories of our "wasted youth."

Fred had gotten into some trouble with the law that summer. He had a few beers on a Friday after work. And the local cops were on the corner just waiting for him to leave the pub. They pulled him over immediately. He was not drunk and passed the sobriety tests. So they wrote him a drinking / driving citation. No arrest. This type of citation. Alcohol related was an automatic disqualification for a CDL (commercial drivers license) holder. A 1 year suspension most times.

Fred decided to hire a lawyer and fight the ticket as entrapment. As the police were very near to the establishment and targeting it.

He won. The violation was thrown out. But his fines and court costs along with lawyer fees came to over 5 thousand usd.

I agreed to buy some brand new furniture along with the Dodge truck for $4500. Fred even drove the truck down to North Florida where I live.

Fred told us he would use some of the monies to pay off a credit union lien on the title from a loan to purchase the couch and love seat He had just delivered. He told us to drive it on his Virginia plate registration and insurance. He would get things sorted and send the title along in the next month or two.

I had been close friends with Fred for twenty plus years. So I had no reason to believe he would not follow thru with his word to do these things.

Where's WALDO Fred?

Several months passed. He told us he was working on it. Then suddenly Fred stopped taking our calls. Several more months passed as we checked on the Virginia registration and insurance only to find it had been cancelled. We had to park the Dodge. A registered letter was sent. With an offer to pay more to get the title out of lien. It was signed for by Fred with no reply.

We contacted the credit union that held the lien. The manager there would not give us any details. But simply said the lien was more than the truck was worth. Out of anger we told them to come and remove/repossess the truck. They never came. We contacted the Virginia Dept. Of Motor Vehicles. They said there was nothing they could do. They suggested a lawyer.

I just could not bring myself to file a small claims lawsuit against Fred. I was heartbroken that someone I considered a brother would leave me hanging with a truck that was pretty much worthless. It could not be registered and driven legally.

So it sat under a shade tree here on our Pookyville Cat Ranch from 2007 till 2021. Used occasionally for brush clearing and fence building or home projects.

They Sit, They Quit...

Sitting and not being driven most times is the worst thing for any vehicle. But this old Dodge started every time I turned the key. Batteries would go dead. Brakes quit working. Tires dry rotted and went flat. Etc. But it would start with a new battery. Air up the tires and drive it like you stole it. Just drive it slowly as it had no brakes! LoL

Late last year we bought a "donor" truck. A 1998 dodge 4 wheel drive for $700 usd. It was in rough shape. But everything was there we needed to combine the two trucks together and get it legal. So me and my helpers. The Black Cloud Ferals Tore the trucks down and put them back together as a reconstructed vehicle.

(photos)

IMG_20211014_084053_HDR.jpg

IMG_20211109_165412_HDR.jpg

IMG_20211113_165947_HDR.jpg

IMG_20211113_170003_HDR.jpg

Anyone who has turned some wrenches will tell you. When they sit, they quit. The old Dodge needed the brakes totally replaced. We turned (machined to make true and smooth) the front brake rotors. Cleaned up rear drums with grinding and sanding. New rear wheel brake cylinders and pads. New master cylinder. Donor brake lines from 1998. Several of them. Many parts were interchangeable. Some were not.

Again, they sit they quit. The clutch now needed replaced. And this 1997 is a 5 speed manual shift. Not an easy fix like the brake job.

The Tranny Job

No gender confusion intended. The pronouns are... Jacks, Airtools, and Busted Knuckles. This Dodge is definately a bitch. Here are some photos of the Genital Mutalation Gender Reassignment Transmission Removal and Replacement.

Photos of my Tranny... Nakid

IMG_20220520_083350_HDR.jpg

IMG_20220520_102045_HDR.jpg

IMG_20220520_102033_HDR.jpg

As you may have noticed. For those who are not familiar with who I am. There is a misspelled crazy in my Hive profile name. Well sometimes I earn this crazy reputation. Not nearly as much as in my younger days. But I still do on occasion.

I could just not leave well enough alone while underneath this 4 wheeler for a week. I added 3 more inches of body lift in preparation of running 38" Interco Boggers or Super Swampers. (photo)

th.jpeg

src

Screenshot_20220121-102603_Brave_-_Nightly_1.png

src

Adding this extreme amount of body lift comes with many issues. I had to extend the filler neck to the gas tank. Steering shaft from steer wheel to steer gear box. Several breather hoses and electrical wires. Brake lines from master cylinder on the firewall. Bumper heights. Shifters cut, extended, welded. (photo)

Screenshot_20210921-233950_Gallery.png

20211204_144719.gif

At the time of this post I am writing. The 1997 Dodge is drivable. Runs and drives great! I have made several trips to town. Hauled a load of scrap metal to the recycling yard. Hauled building supplies home from Home depot. The exhaust is dual with no mufflers. Only Cats (catalytic converters) so it has a pretty good rumble to it. And when backing off down thru the gears it has that snap, crackle, pop. (Not the breakfast cereal) Running (cheap no name) 31" mud tread tires on it for now. (photo)

IMG_20220724_112007.jpg

It was a long strange trip to where this 4 wheel drive, 5.2 318 cu inch Dodge Ram 1500 long bed is now. It has very little rust and is worth sinking some more time and money into. I am thinking of painting it Orange and Black. To match our 2020 Mustang GT. Our dream vehicles pictured here. We have the Stang. Maybe I can make this old 97 Ram look similar to my other dream vehicle. The 2020 Dodge Ram sport short bed (photo)

2999584248044594524.jpg

The 1st & 2nd Childhood syndromes

Here I am in my 1st childhood. I was installing 11" of combined suspension /body lift into a 1979 Ford Bronco that I owned. (photo)

Bronco ( The Lift 90 ).jpg

Yes it had straight headers into side pipes. That Fu@k&r was LOUD.!!

My 1st childhood was spent wrenching on this 79 Bronco. I owned it nearly 10 years. From 1986 till 1995. I rebuilt that Bronco many times. 3 engines, 4 Non Gender confused Trannies, 2 rear drive differential axles. 2 transfer cases. But front drive was original.

Pictured here with smaller 33" winter tires on it. (photo)

Bronco ( Lake Erie 1992 ).jpg

(photo)

So in closing I would just like to clarify that I am blaming the body lift and oversized tires on a Mid-life crisis. A 2nd childhood type scenario. And not full blown insanity.

Cool Pic 3.JPG

Keep on KrazzyTrukkin'!

randy bike.jpg

Sort:  

Those cars are real gems on four wheels! I swear!

Hi there, @outdoorlife has curated your post on behalf of the the outdoors & more community. Using #outdoorlife as the first tag on posts of this type helps us find you.

#outdoorlife curation.png

All images belong to @galenkp

Got to know you pretty well just now. Shout out to @galenkp for inspiring this one, that was a nice read, Krazzy. Good looking property you got but where was that hoodie shot snapped? That ain't Florida. No hoodies in Florida.

I must thank you for melting down the last fucking brain cell I was operating on...

Haaaaa! Juss kidding bro.

I had @pooky-jax pause "The Boys" episode we are watching.

promo/commercial break

And I asked her about...

The Hoodie.!!

That was a nice walk down the memory lanes recall aisle in the brain cell department moment.

Photo was taken in Pennsyl-Tucky in the mid 2000's. It is unique as it was taken by my father as we were loading or unloading (not sure) the Harley that I had hauled up from FLA to spend a week with family and friends. It was a better time then.

True Story. Thanks for the flowers.

Ray & Randy Bike.jpg

Oh it gets better? Nice! Push pause again.

Eh, how many friends have pulled a Doug on you? I haven't had any burn me for money but life does lifey things without warning. Over the past 5'ish years I lost two friends who I never expected to lose.

Deaths and stuff don't count, that happens.

Ridiculous misunderstandings and too sensitive on their part—both. I mean cut me off completely, weird. I have the best friends in the world and more than most, I guess it's how an only whoops without parents responds but I lost those two. I thought they'd be around forever. Is it just me?

Nahhh...

Not just you.

It happens to the best of us.

Me...

see what i did there? shameless self promotion, I'm thee best

untitled.gif

untitled.gif

Oh no you diiiiiiiiinnnnt!

Check out this KRS track, he goes through all the old moves. You gotta see The Dougie. Earbuds.. turn it up.

You don't think you can play one from D and A's home state and I leave it alone I hope.

"That ain't Florida. No hoodies in Florida."

One year riding back from Daytona Beach Biketoberfest. In October of like 2010 or so. A cold front dripped down. It was 22° F when we got back to lake city at close to midnight. We stopped at every corner gas station in the 100 mile frozen ice road TRUCKERS bikers ride from hell.

Hoodies from late October to March are handy here on the north end. We are 45 miles from the FL/GA line.

My all time Fave song from Florida Georgia Line...