You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Going long y'all - A post about long ranging

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

Love Strelok Pro. I was amazed how accurate it is, even with my pellet rifles as long as proper data put into it.
I recently also bought an ABL Laser for my ATN Day/Night scope which measures the distance, then automatically adjusts the scope point of impact to be dead on without having to make any manual adjustments. I recently put it on my .223 and it was dead on when tested from 50, 75, 100, 200 yards with initial 50 yard zero. Very handy since I only had 50 yard range available for initial sight in. Sounds like a great idea for a future post!

Sort:  
 4 years ago (edited) 

I used to use Applied Ballistics but when I started using the Kestrel Drop I decided to switch to StrelokPro as it picks up the environmental data by bluetooth automatically. When hunting and culling I don't really want to be messing around with things too much.

I find it to be incredibly easy to use, much more so than AB is, and it's reliable, which I found AB not to be on occasions.

That ABL laser sounds the biz! How do you think it would go at greater range and how quickly does it input the adjustments? (Or should I wait for the post?)

It may be a bit until I pull the post together. I'd like to see if I can get some screen video. To not keep you in too much suspense, they have two models. I have the 1,500 yard model, the other is 1,000 yards. (reflective, like most ratings). A simple push of the button on top and it shows an indication inside the scope that it is ranging, takes about 3 seconds to lock in the distance and make the adjustment. I haven't had it out past 200 yards yet. But looking forward to getting it out to the 600 yard range and see how it does. Check them out at https://www.atncorp.com/range-finder-abl-1500

Great, thanks for that I'll take a look tomorrow when I'm supposed to be working...I get paid to look that way. Lol.

I was out culling tonight, for around 5 hours. Was a successful trip with my longest shot being 297m which isn't too bad for a head shot on a kangaroo. Much further than that and I'm reluctant to shoot because a miss may mean a wound it and that's not acceptable...I have to head-shoot them under regulations of the culling license. Anyway, it was a decent evening. My mate brought his little buggy which was a bit of fun. I'll do a post on it in the morning.

Anyway, thanks for the information, I'll check it out.