Sort:  

I agree with you! (And have one). It's a really nice calibre and very suitable for an iron sight back up rifle. Mine is scoped and I use it mainly for foxes off the back of a truck at night. It's a pretty deadly gun.

I was actually considering a Remington .223 7615P. There's loads of them around with some modification and the 30 round mag is available (and legal) in my state. I don't think it is as accurate as a 22-250 would be but can be fired rapidly and at 300-400m would be fine to impact a 12 inch target pretty much every time. (Also good for close up work).

I'm undecided.

I was thinking of simply removing the scope from my 22-250 (T3 stainless) but I use that gun 10-15 times a year in its current configuration so am reluctant. I was also considering installing back up iron sights on it. Cheaper option than a new gun.

Sounds like a great use case to leave the scope on and add one of those side mounts or 45 degree side mounts for the iron sights or Red Dot. I've been very pleased with my Vortex Venom's so far. It's not a Trijicon, but good quality for the cost.

I thought about doing that, the side-mount sight. There's actually a few options that would mean the ability to keep the gun. I could simply take the scope off also I guess, set up some iron sights. Part of me wants to and part of me wants to see this young fella end up with a decent rifle, and I know it is. I've never been one to hold in to things that don't get used, just because, or to discard things because there may be a new one just released. I'm thinking about this decision long and hard.