You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 (+1) Camping and Survival Tools You Might Need

I never thought of a spade'y type digging thing before. I have many blades and a hatchet. That and my striker flint thing and a torch is usually me good to go!

Wouldn't mind a machete right enough but it could bode ill for the world.

Sort:  

Bode Ill for the World 🌎

😁😁

In my treasures from Dad series, I have a huge machete ON DECK for a future story! I need a good sharpener for it HAHA
I'd like a giant Lansky style

A huge machete would be grand! I just don't think I would be able to stop chopping!

Is your theme song Mack the Knife or Butcher Pete?

Most definitely Butcher Pete!! :OD

img_0.014803844718605472.jpg

16-20" is about right for a machete. I bought a longer blade from Cold Steel a while back, and it's just not very useful at that size.

Blade or blade + handle?
I showed 23" with about a 5" handle... call it 18" blade?

You didn't hear it from me, but rumor has it some work with an angle grinder can transform a leaf spring from the wrecking yard into a reasonable facsimile of a sword.

I can confirm that - sword blades are frequently made from the exact same alloy as leaf springs.

Oddly enough, there is a really old book in my library called The Boy Mechanic that shows you precisely how to make a crossbow out of a leaf spring.

Say no more. I am certainly not holding this information tightly within for my next sword leaf spring harvesting opportunity...