Sort:  

Beer is a good way to relieve stress, I used to like going to bars as a young person with friends and having a drink or two, one just needs to be careful as to how much they drink and not make the de-stress become more stress.

I hear you with that concern. It can definitely become an issue

This is true...Both aspects. Having a drink with friends can be relaxing, but over-drinking often will have the opposite effect for various reasons. I've never been a huge drinker, social-drinker is how I label myself, and I find it relaxing to have a beverage with friends, but truth be told, it's probably more about the friends than the beverage for me.

It is a hard line to maintain for some, I was very close to crossing the line, I don't hardly drink at all anymore and most years I don't even need two hands to count the number of beers I have had.

Sounds like we're similar in that. I'll have one, possibly two, but it's often months between sessions. I've only ever been drunk three times in my life and one of them was by accident...Thanks to my brothers who got me messed up on my 30th birthday. It was at home though, not my home theirs, and I wasn't driving. I prefer to maintain my senses when I'm out. People never used to understand, but I maintained my position and never bowed to peer-pressure. (Except at my 30th. Those buggers messed me up.) I have not been close to drunk since.

Once I started using it as a medication, my thought process on it changed a lot. I began to understand like any medication a person can over dose on it and do serious harm. I knew from when I first started drinking all the problems associated with it, but it honestly did not click proper in my brain until I found out it could and did help me as a medicine.

They say, all things in moderation, and whilst I don't always agree with this statement totally, it applies to many things. I mean, alcohol in moderation is cool...Raping people in moderation is not. I think you understand.

Hmm, I'd say beer drinking definitely counts. I rarely drink beer alone, it's a social thing for me, so when I have a beer it's often when relaxing with mates, at a BBQ, over a meal with my wife or some such thing so I find it relaxing. So, yes I think it counts. Let's just throw it all in together, all beer-drinking and say, yep, good stress reliever.

Yeah, a couple of my handguns there...I'm more of a long range rifle shooter but I like to run and gun with handguns too.