A design for a DIY tool to safely remove ticks.

Tick bites are becoming an ever increasing problem these days, and safe removal is important; as a direct result.

This tool is my own design, and has been tested for over a decade; by several veterinarians and myself. To date, this design has removed several hundred ticks successfully.

It is built on a curved hemostat, using a hand file. An area is opened in the top of the jaws, that provides space for the tick's body; without compressing it.

IMG_20220712_233320786~2.jpg

Here's how to make this tool.

First, we need to prepare the hemostat, because they seldom line up on the jaws. They must match surfaces, to work properly:

IMG_20220712_231733163~2.jpg

This is the offset in the Jaws on this example.

The closed jaws are first filled flat:

IMG_20220712_232145073~2.jpg

Using a good single cut mill bastard file is best:

IMG_20220712_234801999.jpg

The handle is needed for precision control, and it will save your hands!

Once the bottom is flattened it will look like this:

IMG_20220712_232409733.jpg

Both sides must close at the skin level to work right!

The next step is to file away the excess on the jaw face:

IMG_20220712_232729220.jpg

The cut is at roughly at 45 degrees, and removed two thirds of the serrated jaw surface off the top side of the hemostat. Both sides are cut the same depth, leaving about a sixteenth on an inch of the original jaw at the bottom of the jaws.

The last step is to form the tip to a triangular shape:

IMG_20220712_233138248.jpg

This will allow the tool to remove smaller ticks too. This tool removes them alive, so they must be dealt with once removed. I use a jar of alcohol to drop them into, because it cleans the jaws for another removal if needed.

It is important that the tick's proboscis is first sealed at the skin level, to stop the reflux of dangerous fluids. This is critical, because most of the time; the tick body is compressed during removal, acting like a bellows for tick born contagions. The clearance built into this tool prevents this unintentional injection.

Once the tool is closed, the head can be removed intact; and the tool allows this, by it's firm grip on the proboscis. Lifting the closed tool removes the entire portion of the head that's under the skin.

I clean the area with alcohol, and place a pain patch over the bite location. The patch kills bacteria under the surface, and reduces post removal itching!

This tool minimizes complications from secondary infections from tick bites. Full exchange of fluids takes a day or more, so quick removal is critical.

One of the vets testing this tool removed over 140 ticks from a family pet. He didn't expect the wayward mutt to survive, due to the number of bites; and the site infections. He's the one who told me the ticks were completely intact, and recommended the alcohol swabbing. That dog made a full recovery, and was thrilled to find his way home! They fixed their broken fence....

I considered producing these commercially, but have too many other projects that are more important. Here's hoping that this helps someone out there! I carry one in every first aid kit, as it will still work for original use too.

Sort:  

I wish there was away to safely to deal with poly-ticks

Those are the dangerous blood suckers, ours are in DC!

😆😂👎😭😡💸🦅

Here they like sucking the cattle blood. The cattle get slaughtered and they dry out along with the animal skin. They end up tragically.DC means dangerous compound.Ah ah ah.

I like it, LOL! They are a dangerous compound for sure...and bloodsuckers of course.

🙏💗🤠😆👍💸💸

Fabulous. I have a funny story about ticks I should tell sometime...

This toy is very effective, so much so that they are still alive after they are pulled. That's why I drop them into alcohol.

Post the story, fun ones are always appreciated 👍🤠💗😁🙏🐕‍🦺

Looks like a great idea. I bought a tick removal kit that included a little fork with a triangle notch cut out that was supposed to let you pop them out without squeezing. Didn't work too well on the initial one I tried on our dog. It also came with some tweezers that I used successfully. I really like this idea, and am going to be giving my dremel some action to try duplicating.

I've seen that at tool, but it's too flexible to work well. Tweezers can work, if used skillfully, this tool removes the guesswork, and allow you to concentrate on the tick!

I'm glad you're making one, that's why I posted this! The vets still fight over this tool, so I need to make a few more.

I used a grinder on the first one, but the file is safer for a novice to use. The Dremel will do you a good job, enjoy!

👍💗🤠😁🙏

I hate ticks. And slivers. Will this work on slivers?

With the sharp triangular point it will pull slivers if there is any wood poking out.

👍🤠💗🙏😁🤕

Sadly, the part sticking out broke off from the part deeply embedded. I will likely die now. 😂

No, it will fester and erupt; which will drive out the foreign body. Or, you can dig it out with a sharp blade....

😭🤮👎😳🤕

I've tried all these things. I read that if I can't get it out, my body will encapsulate it and then it will be permanent. HAHA! 😞

Wood will fester, metal might stay. I drove a splinter through my finger once when it was cold, didn't feel it. Saw it when I came in, dig down and pulled it while the finger was still cold. Longest splinter I've ever pulled, but not the biggest...sadly.

Soaking it in warm water will help on my the digging by softening the region. The icing helps, as I learned the hard way!

I'm pulling for you!

😭😳🤕👍🌧️💗

HAH! I soaked it again tonight, and used a sharp knife to open the skin some. I can't even see the splinter, I can just feel it. This was really long as well and I pulled part of it out but it broke off. I think I might try the onion in a sock next.

I hate ticks and I don't wish to ever have it

Tick are a problem, but this tool helps a Lot!

🤕🙏💗😳🐕‍🦺🤢