You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Maintaining the perishable

in Outdoors and more6 months ago

Once I'm Sure of the backdrop, I'll be able to set any distance out to a mile and a half, by anchoring a target; at whatever distance I pick. With a quad anchor on racheting straps, it will be immobilized.

I like the cardiac involvement for focusing on problems! I'm going to try that....
I find the black powder improves my hold time on target, which reduces my patterns.

I'm trying to learn to properly use the military peep sights, they fascinate me!

The Win Mag is my primary hunting rifle, and it's weight is similar to other scoped rifles. The recoil pad is a very soft urethane, that spreads wider under recoil. This fits the pad to different shoulders automatically, while distributing the recoil over a significantly greater area. The brass is about 15 mm diameter and is about 14 mm longer than a 308. It is a beast, with an 8 to 24 power scope. It's the one I want to feed with a good quality scope upgrade! The last deer I harvested with it, popped up 150 yards in front of me. It wasn't quite fair...the shot was just right, and removed the heart and lungs; she field dressed at 140 pounds!

👍💗🙏📖🙏💙😁🤠👌😋

Sort:  
 6 months ago (edited) 

The 300 WM's I've used/carry were not hunting rifles, chassis not stocks. Heavy.

Good luck with the training.

It's actually a Winchester, and they did an impressive job. I'm glad you got to shoot one, they are impressive. The Swedish mauser shoots about the same velocity, but this one throws a freedom pill about twice the weight. I admit, I do enjoy this one....

Playing nurse to a friend who had his ankle joint replaced about a week ago; but I'm taking your advice, and doing a lot of dry fire practice.

Stay safe!

👍💙🙏📖🙏💗🤠😋🤔

I've shot many 300 Win Mags, and currently own two. Admittedly I don't shoot either very much although like to keep proficient. I guess the calibre is a little surplus to my needs currently but I'm reluctant to dispose of the rifles...one never knows, China might arrive in numbers and I'll get to use it.

Keep up the dry-fire, it is one of the best ways to work on the shooting process and will increase your performance when things get loud.

Good to hear you have a real freedom see dispenser, or two, ROFLOL! I really like the round, and brought in full reloading for it.

The dry fire helps some, still need to make more noise....

👍💗🙏📖🙏💙🤠🤔🥳🎉😋

I think there's better rounds than the 300 WM but it does a good job when something heavier it required for long distances and is readily available and completely unrestricted here so a good option.

Well, the 338 lapula is good, but hard to find the ammunition. The USMC has converted from the model 700 in 30-06 calibre to the 300 Win Mag in the last couple of years. It just feels right for me....

I'm so glad it's not restricted there, I thought they blocked everything down under. They sure wouldn't like my house, ROFLOL!

👍💙🙏📖🙏💗😁🤠🤔