Some thoughts on a backup concealed carry firearm!

When you decide to carry, you take on a great responsibility! You have decided to become a protector (sheepdog) of others (sheep); from bodily harm. You have also, hopefully after soul searching, decided that that protection should include deadly force. This is a weighty decision, and since the bad guys won't stop unless stopped; in my case it is the right choice!

Now, what does that mean? Most of the time, you are on your own. This is why you Must practice often! Also why you must carry spare ammunition, you run out, you die.

Now, we must assume that a spare firearm will fill in if your primary weapon fails, and your drills won't allow you to clear it. That is why this post came into being. Should you carry another exactly like your primary, to use a common magazine?

I'd like to offer a second option. Carry something like this:
IMG_20220416_211333857.jpg
It has a good round (38 special), which is solid backup; but it has another advantage most people don't think of. You can pick someone you trust, and arm them!

One sheepdog, protecting a dozen sheep; has a poorer chance than two sheepdogs, protecting eleven sheep.

The advantage is simplicity:
IMG_20220416_211234324.jpg
Even an untrained sheep-puppy can make this gun go bang💥💥💥, which the wolf must assume is a serious threat. Giving you a better chance to collect a wolf pelt!

She has a big throat:
IMG_20220416_211315186.jpg

The worst drawback is the 5 rounds she holds:
IMG_20220416_211251160.jpg
But she is easy to reload, especially with a speed loader. But a sheep-puppy may not be able to do this. So if you loan it out, be sure to limit the rate of fire!!!! Tell them there is only 5 shots, period. I always carry 50 plus rounds as my daily carry loadout, with more in the car; In my go bag with the long gun...which is a different discussion.

A distraction from a second location, especially if you can relocate; may change the wolf's mind; which would be the best outcome! If you can outfox the wolf to disengage, that is a full win!

One of the sheep, can be put to work calling 911. So the sheepdog only need delay the wolf as long as it takes for the police to arrive.

One other point to consider; when the police arrive, tell your sheepdogs to disarm themselves! The incoming help must assume everyone still armed, must be engaged as wolves.

Sort:  

I’m certainly cognizant of this stuff when I’m thinking of the day when I’ll carry while I’m out. It’s not something to take lightly at all! Thankfully in the meantime pepper spray won’t get you on the news lol

I carry every day, and carry insurance for defending myself, if I'm unable to talk my way out!

Pepper spray is too unfocused for me. I watched a Tulsa Police officer incapacitate himself when the wind changed. Then they charged the perp with attacking a police officer, when he had actually Done nothing!😭🥵👎🥺 But I'm glad it works for you, it can help a person get clear!

I do carry a telescoping stinger and be a tazer unit, when I carry for security in a specific place (church and homeless meals), but I also up my pistol count with a shoulder holster too. 👍🤠🥺🤕💥🚀

Stay safe! 👍🤠😁

I’m not surprised but there’s insurance for that type of stuff? How much does it cost out of curiosity? I know there’s lots of factors involved with that. Unless you’re meaning insurance as in another carry lol

Damn editor erased a full comment!

USCCA and the CCWSafe, are both good sources for real insurance for legal fees!

I used the CCWSafe at less than $20 a month, because they have no cap on legal fees; but both are a good source!

https://ccwsafe.com/link?auto=N&company_no=414&wasClicked=Y&messageID=45834cf6-2424-41c0-abe1-eacf3aec7a48&newsletter_no=ZmxhcHwyNjY5NnxqYWNr&reference_type=customer&reference_no=YmFzZWJhbGx8MjgyMzM1Nnxzb255&url=mailto%3ainfo%40ccwsafe.com

https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/membership/
I had this coverage for a long time, and they are a good company too

Cool thanks for the links and info! I’ll send this to my dad at least, he wants to carry but is nervous to for this legal shit.

It's wise to cover all options! I hope it helps. They both cover any weapon used in self defense, including impromptus. 🏒🗡️➰🔨

That way, I can protect my family, without putting them at risk legally....

💗🤠💙👍🚀

Good advice.

The .38Spc is still an effective defense cartridge, and it's easier for most people to shoot than the .357.
Another thing about a wheelgun is that if a primer fails, you just pull the trigger again. No trying to clear a defective round while under a bunch of stress.

Absolutely spot on! Also, I've been known to train new shooters with a .357 loaded with 38 special. This gives them a low recoil, until they are more confident. 💥🚀💥👍

I sometimes force better firearm control, by random alternation of these two rounds. It improves my placement, by increasing my control, and removing recoil anticipation!👍😁🎯🎯💙

Stay safe!💗😁👍🎯🤠

Absolutely a revolver is a good choice for a backup for humans defending themselves....

Although nothing terrifies criminals more than razor sharp teeth and the fangs... Just a primal fear that comes over them and loosens their bowels....

Bork bork nom nom.

So true, criminals hate K9 officers! 🐕‍🦺🐾🐕‍🦺🐾🐕‍🦺

But revolvers are pretty basic, and Intuitive; yet still hits like an express train.🎯🎯🎯

🐝Bee safe! 🐝

This is a weighty decision

Indeed. But whether armed or not, the potential of using violence in self-defense must be acknowledged as a real potential.

According to Paul Harrell on YouTube, the average self-defense encounter is ended with 6 or fewer rounds. A 5-shot snubbie with a speed loader is probably enough. But training is still essential, because I have managed to bind up a wheelgun with sloppy ejection technique.

My insurance covers any weapon used. 🗡️✊🏒😛

I have never jammed this one, although I bought another revolver that needed work. It's fixed now of course.... 👍💙🤠

But the speed loaders do need practice, maybe I need to make one of my own. I think a central button to drop the rounds like a ratchet release button would be faster and more intuitive...may need to machine one of those.🔘 With a release button of course. 🔘

👍😁🚀🏦💸

Fun fact: most speed loader pouches also work well for the standard flush-fit Ruger 10/22 mags.

That's cool, they are best when handy! The long ones need to be shaved some to get them to work well.

💙🤠💗💥👍