You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My New Shooting Gallery...

If you're looking to build a portable version, I would recommend making something smaller, maybe with 4'x4' back boards, this way the whole thing will lie flat in a truck bed, but also to cut down on weight. Each of the back boards is about the limit for what I can carry, and I don't even know how much they weigh, so I wouldn't attempt carrying the equivalent of one plus two 4"x4"x8' posts on my own. One other change I would make for a portable version is to add stakes to the stand: mailbox stakes for the main posts, and cables with stakes to replace the diagonal support boards that I used. It won't be as stable as digging holes in the ground and sinking the posts, but setup will be a lot quicker. Alternatively, you could add large feet to the posts and simply rest it on the ground, though this wouldn't be a viable option unless the ground is level.

Sort:  

Thanks for the tips. I was actually thinking (2) 4'x4'x6's with feet made from 2"x4" spreading out 4 different directions at the bottom of each post, then two old tires, one each, to weigh them down. I like 4'x4' backstop recommendation. Maybe even make it into a folding backstop and folding shelf at the bottom.

Feet like this?

Wood post foot.PNG

Yes, and then slide the tires over the top of the post down over the feet.