You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hivesigner UI simplified, 0.2.0 release

in HiveDevs4 years ago

I hope that HiveSigner has an extension/add-on for Mozilla Firefox.

I might also install it on Tor Browser, which is a hardened version of Firefox. I always use Tor Browser to access any Hive app using my @anonymouser account. I might become willing to take the risk of installing any extension on Tor Browser, since I also have a VPN running on my computer (from a reputable provider) which will protect my identity as a last resort.

Sort:  

Hivesigner never records any personal data, all happens client side without backend. I will check if we can create Firefox extension out of what we have with minor changes. Thanks!

If privacy is important why not use the brave browser? It’s one of the best from my understanding and you can earn BAT crypto if you want to it into brave rewards.

I do have a referral link if you’re interested, if not continue on!

I already use the Brave Browser for online activities which do not require heavy privacy protection. Using Tor Browser for Facebook or Google breaks the website, so those are examples of where I use Brave Browser. (Everyone has their own threat model, and my use of either the Brave Browser or Tor Browser depends on what exactly I need online.)

I like Brave Browser's privacy protection features. The only thing it can't do is to hide your IP address from the sites you visit, or hide your browsing activity from your ISP. In that case, I use the Tor browser.

Thanks for your invitation though.

Ah so that’s the benefit of the Tor browser. That’s interesting! On my laptop I can’t do anything nefarious since it’s owned by my work but I will keep that in mind. I plan to eventually convert one of our older laptops to an Ubuntu Linux laptop at some point to do some research. I like the deep dives community here but a lot of the searches are risky and it’s not worth getting fired for or anything like that so I’ve abstained from it.

Will put the browser on my list of things to get.

Regarding the BAT rewards for using Brave Browser, I can't claim them without giving up a lot of my privacy by undergoing identity verification with Uphold. I just contribute them automatically to the websites I visit, since I could not withdraw them. That said, I want Brave to partner with something that would allow withdrawal of BAT without giving up (much) privacy.