You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Zero HIVE

in HiveDevs3 years ago (edited)

I'm running two witness servers (primary & backup) on PCs sitting right next to me as I write.
I'm in the process of spinning up another backup witness on an older MacBook Pro which will provide battery backup and the ability to switch to other internet (wifi / 4G) if my home fibre internet was to go down.

Once I get that working I'll convert my primary witness to an API node and Hive-Engine Node.

In terms of reliability my main issue has little kids pressing buttons and rebooting the PC but I've changed the settings now so the buttons don't do anything.

Since I got the backup working 2 weeks ago I've only missed one block.

Sort:  

Great to hear there is some progress on your side. Missing only 1 block sounds promising - it would be interesting to see how your setup would be performing on a higher (top 20?) load.

Let's just hope your kids do not unplug your machine ;)

!gif unplug

LOL.
I don't think they are capable of pulling a plug.
The flashing LEDs next to the buttons attracted them.

I've got automatic failover to the backup witness node so I shouldn't miss more than one block even if I was a top 20 witness.
If I get that high I'll run a third backup.