HiveSQL is free again - Thank you for your support!

in HiveDevs3 years ago (edited)

A few days ago, I introduced a proposal to make HiveSQL free to use again. The aim of the proposal is to enable as many developers and users as possible to benefit from this valuable tool and develop applications and services for our ecosystem.

Today, thanks to your amazing support, I'm happy to announce that HiveSQL is free again!

This means that anyone with a registered HiveSQL account will now have access to all the blockchain data and will be able to issue SQL queries for free.

How to register your HiveSQL account?

For obvious security reasons, before being able to access the HiveSQL database, you will have to create a HiveSQL account. The activation process is very simple:

  1. Transfer 0.01 HBD to @hivesql (no memo required)

  2. As soon as @hivesql receives your transfer, your activation will be processed

  3. A few seconds later, you will receive a micro-transfer back from @hivesql.

The @hivesql transfer memo contains your new credentials and is therefore encrypted.
There are two easy ways to see its content;

  1. if you use peakd.com, click on the small green lock

  2. if you have Keychain installed, open it and click on the History button



The memo contains the following information:

  • the hostname to connect to the HiveSQL server.
  • your personal login
  • your password

What's next

Now that the proposal is funded, I will finally be able to tackle the many improvement projects that I wanted to implement. There is a lot of work ahead, among them the HiveSQL.io website update and the creation of decent documentation and tutorials.

I would also like to partially review the design of the database to further improve its performance. I also want to add tables that can be useful and avoid redundant queries.

I also have lots of other ideas, but one thing at a time... let's first consolidate the basics.

Support

If you have any questions, remarks or suggestions, support for HiveSQL is provided on the HiveSQL Discord Channel only.

Support the Proposal

Things keep moving in life, so additional support for the proposal is still welcome.

Thank you to all who supported the proposal and made HiveSQL free again!


Check out my apps and services


Vote for me as a witness

Sort:  

Glad it was approved, I like the reports Asher does.
You said:

  1. Transfer 0.01 SBD to
    I'm guessing you meant HBD and like a lot of us flick momentarily back to steem days.

I sent some, I might give it a try and see if I can learn something over the winter, I seem to be in a learning mood lately.

Damn, these bad habits that we have such a hard time getting rid of 😖
Changed SBD to HBD. Thanks for noticing.

Winter is surely a great time to learn SQL. Have fun.

Wow, this is great news. Thanks for all the hard work. Things will now be a lot easier for some developers to build some cool apps and also to get good statistics from the chain.

By the way, I wanted to ask two things:

  1. I noticed that there were a few discrepancies in HiveSQL. It will be great if it can be cleared somehow. For example, the delegation report that I fetch from HiveSQL for the account @tipu is incorrect. I tried helping @cardboard on this and found discrepancies. (I can provide additional details if required.)

  2. As you have a great experience with HiveSQL, would it be possible for you to also create HiveEngineSQL? At least a few important tables like market historical data to start with. I would also be glad to help you code it if required. It would be very helpful to pull some stats from Hive Engine and also it would help the developers working on Hive Engine.

I noticed that there were a few discrepancies in HiveSQL. It will be great if it can be cleared somehow. For example, the delegation report that I fetch from HiveSQL for the account @tipu is incorrect. I tried helping @cardboard on this and found discrepancies. (I can provide additional details if required.)

That should have been fixed by the new Delegations table that was created. https://peakd.com/hive-139531/@arcange/hivesql-new-feature-delegation-state-table-availaible

That's great. I missed the post. I guess it should solve the discrepency problem. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @bala41288

  1. Please check my previous post about delegation. If you still find errors, please use HiveSQK Discord Channel to report them.
  2. This is something I might consider. Feel free to contact me on Discord or Telegram to have a talk about it.

Great news! Thank you for HiveSQL!

Hello @arcange congratulations, you are one of the witnesses that most evidences his work in hive, at least the one I can notice.

All your projects leave benefits to the community, and I thank you, I did not know you had others besides HIVEBUZZ.

It would be excellent if you could make a publication, explaining the function of each project, for new people and not as much as I do who do not yet know them.

This one you mention here, it seems that the benefit is only for the developers of dapps?

I ask because the worst question is the one that is not asked 😂.

Thank you and congratulations. 👏🙌🤝

Thank you @soyunasantacruz

As you can see at the end of my post, there is an icon for each of the projects I created.
People can click on them to jump to the related description post.

Contrary to what some might think, HiveSQL doesn't just benefit (d)apps developers.
Indirectly, the whole community benefits if it allows facilitating developers' work so they can provide additional services to everyone.

Ah ok thanks, perfect.

I'll click on each one. 👍😘

Awesome!!! A great success for further fantastic projects on the Hive Blockchain!

That is good news.

Definitly!

Thanks for your detailed and easy-to-understand instructions. Is there a way to get more power without buying Hive?

Hey @leviet7490. There are many ways to earn Hive. Some of them are regular posting, participating in contests and giveaways (check #contest and #giveaway tags), playing games built upon Hive like @splinterlands and more.

This is a slow proccess though. The best way to go is to buy some Hive, stake them (convert them to Hive Power) so you can have more influence on the platform and then start upvoting and commenting on posts you enjoyed!

Hive is a social blockchain so communicating with other users is a must if you want to be successful in here!
Cheers man, hope I helped.

Thank you @leviet7490

Is there a way to get more power without buying Hive?

Yes. Publish great posts, have them upvoted, power-up your rewards.

Congratulations my friend and I hope that your project will grow from strength to strength!

Congrats and keep up the good work friend

Congratulations!!! Hoping for the success of this endeavor!

Thank you @silversaver888

You're very welcome 🥰🌺🤙
!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I didn't believe it will get through. Congrats

It did 😉
Thank you @sk1920

Thanks for making it free. Will be checking it out for the first time. I know some people who were very excited when I sent them the proposal link.

The community made it free, more than me.
I am also happy and delighted that it will benefit everyone who has not been able to use it so far.

Congratulations! These are amazing news! I hope to see more uses of the data on benefit of Hive(platform/community/tokens) 🔥

Congrats, a great success for a great campaign 🍾 This is very good news for many Hive devs who will have free access to a very powerful tool. Thank you for all your contributions to the Hive blockchain, be it for devs with tools like this one or users with gamification, which gives it a real added value 👍


Witness FR - Gen X - Geek 🤓 Gamer 🎮 traveler ⛩️
Don't miss the Hive Power UP Day! more info here

Thank you for your support @mintrawa

This is amazing news!

This is awesome news! Thank you @arcange because I am definitely one who will now use HiveSQL for analytics and development as a direct result of this change.

I should add that it is especially timely and important for developers because of the instability in the APIs since HF24. It gives us all another option to get data.

Glad you're now able to use it again.

Grateful for the evaluations of my publications. Successes in your Healing work. With my 68 years of age I have learned a lot in hive. Hugs from Omar Gustavo Rojas Ortiz from Cumaná-Venezuela.

Muchas gracias @omarrojas!

if you use peakd.com, click on the small green lock

I am not able to see the green lock , what I am missing ? Logged in using my Posting key.