You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Zero HIVE

in HiveDevs3 years ago

Both internet connections I have access to are abysmal (10 mb down 3 mb up each) - therefore I can't host my server at either of those places. Fibre/faster internet is not available in either place either, so I can't do that.

My witness node is currently hosted on a Hetzner Dedicated Server which I do not have physical access to unfortunately (but at least it has decent internet)

Sort:  

There are a lot of witnesses using Hetzner and 75% of API nodes.
I am sure they are good but its a major single point of failure / attack at the moment.

While I agree 100% and this is something I referenced in my comment as well, they do have a lot of data centers, even in the same area.

A lot use Privex as well (as they can't/won't maintain their witness) which also uses them but also uses other servers as well.

As I stated elsewhere, running the witness is pretty insignificant part of the equation, being there when there is a hardfork/emergency, knowing wtf you are doing when there is (beyond just following the 8 steps for Hive in a box), and actually providing intelligent insight for changes/issues, and perhaps even reviewing hardfork code. That is what a witness really is, but unfortunately it's really just boils down to running Hive in a box or renting a server from Privex for most of them.