api.deathwing.me | Node Update!

in HiveDevs3 years ago

image.png


Back in October of 2020, I announced that I have upgraded my node api.deathwing.me to serve faster and with fewer issues. So far, in the last 5 months, it has done a great job, but... why not more?

So today, a couple of hours ago, I switched the DNS records for api.deathwing.me, changing the node once again.

Node Specifications
CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Memory: 128GB DDR4 ECC RAM
Storage: 8TB NVMe (in RAID0), 50TB Potato Disks

Basically, every single thing (other than RAM, unfortunately, that's a hard cap for now) have been (nearly) doubled. Double the single-core performance and about 1.5x multicore performance as opposed to the previous node.

image.png

Here are the benchmark results from @fullnodeupdate (sourced from @ausbitbank's hive.ausbit.dev) alas, the only benchmark that the server fails (and others do too) is get_config, which I still couldn't really wrap my head around as to why.

That's all for today! Hopefully, the node should perform even better than before.


Thank you for reading through the post.

I am a witness! If you'd like to support me, feel free to send a witness vote my way :)
Vote for me by clicking here.
Sort:  

Thanks for having the best node on chain.

50TB Potato Disks

yay potatoes

Congratulations @deathwing! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 300 posts.
Your next target is to reach 350 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour

One of our latest internal servers here has pretty much the same config (except we don't have the 50TB worth of HDDs, that sounds more like one of our file servers). Are you leasing this in the cloud or did you buy your own?

Hey @blocktrades,

Potato disks are not HDDs, it was a joke that I made during my first announcement of the node. Regarding the lease/building, it's currently a lease. Though it's definitely in my plans one day to basically build one on my own and then colo it in somewhere. Unfortunately, PC/server part costs in Turkey are quite steep.

At the very least, I'd like to lease several servers in different datacenters/countries and Anycast it. In an ideal world, I'd love to have a server in NA, EU and SEA.

Potato disks:

image.png

Ah, that's too bad, was thinking could make a nice backup for our image server. It's pretty amazing what you can build in file servers now. We just built one with 8 16TB in a RAID configuration (90TB effective space after 2 disks worth of space allocated to error correction) and a 1 TB NVME drive as a cache. So 50TB didn't sound that unreasonable :-)

Hmm, it's really not that hard to get a very big fileserver with NVMe caching, just expensive.

Hopefully, one day. If I get to Top 20 and Hive goes up, the first thing I'd like to start with is having more nodes, then who knows, maybe we'll have decentralized image servers too, same with our API nodes? :)

Please spin up a full node in NA(preferably in Chicago). It sucks with most things being in EU.

BW costs are quite high in NA, driving up server prices. Unfortunately, investing in EU this much prevents me from investing in NA for the time being