You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Roman gold coins found off the coast of Spain/ Re-blog lottery

in FreeCompliments6 months ago

Man, it's hard to say what I would have done. Likely gotten a lawyer so I could work out some kind of rights to the story if I don't get to keep the stuff. A lot of that stuff is pretty niche and it would be hard to unload it unless you melted it down. Which just seems wrong given it is an antiquity. I'm with you though, I love me a good treasure hunt story!

Sort:  

Regarding the item itself:

  • On the one hand, it's an antiquity;
  • On the other hand, it's one of many like it.

Those are two considerations worth keeping in mind.


Consulting with a lawyer on a matter like this is always good advice, especially if you get good news. In that case, fees can be paid from the sale of the find.

If you get bad news, all you lost was time. It's possible you may still be compensated in some other form (maybe a finder's fee); in that case, something is better than nothing.

That was kind of my thinking about the fees.

I agree unloading it would be an issue, probably would have to sell it to some prince from Dubai! It's hard to know what you would do until you're actually in the situation...