Roman gold coins found off the coast of Spain/ Re-blog lottery

in FreeCompliments6 months ago

I have always enjoyed treasure hunting stories. One I heard in a bar in New Mexico about a prospector who found a cave in the Caballo mountains filled with bars of gold the Spanish had had hidden while fleeing the native Americans. Absolutely elated he took a couple bars with him and sold them and began to brag about his find. One day the prospector disappeared and the police found his shirt full of bullet holes and soaked in blood. His body was never found. I guess the moral of the story is if you find lost treasure it's best to keep your mouth shut. Is it a true story? Who knows?

That brings me to another more recent story that occurred off the eastern coast of Spain. Two free divers had been exploring the reef when they saw something odd. They saw a shiny object while diving on a reef and went to check it out. There they found a bunch of Roman gold coins in about twenty feet of water and proceeded to dig them out of the reef using a Swiss army knife corkscrew for the next two hours. They walked away with five Roman era gold coins in their hands.

Now as a treasure hunter myself the conundrum kicks in. Do I keep my mouth shut about my "secret spot" and keep digging out the coins under the rule of "what I finds I keeps" or report it to the proper authorities. I think I probably would have kept my mouth shut honestly, but these guys reported the find and a full archeological study was done of the the site revealing 53 pristine Roman coins. They also found evidence of an ancient wood chest they believe contained the coins. It's believed someone hid the chest prior to an invasion to keep them safe but obviously didn't survive to collect them. They think they have been there for at least 1,500 years.


archaeonewsnet.com
A few of the coins still in place on the reef


cnn.com
Archeological documentation being done at the site

I have not been able to find any follow up articles or information on if the divers got to keep any of the treasure or got a reward. I suspect they probably got a pat on the head and a big thank you for your troubles, the coins belong to the government now. A truly lousy end for finding priceless Roman gold coins on the bottom of the ocean...

What do you think you would have done? Kept the coins or notify the government?

There are literally lost treasures all around the world, there might even be some in your backyard... I enjoy searching for gold nuggets and enjoy searching the beaches in Florida for old Spanish shipwreck treasure. Nuggets I have found but have yet to find ship wreck coins, but that won't stop me from looking! And if I find it I think I might just keep my mouth shut...

Thanks for stopping by to read my post, I hope you enjoyed it. Please feel free to leave any suggestions, comments, or questions below. Thank you everyone for your support! Have a great weekend!

References
https://www.cnn.com/travel/article/roman-coins-spain-divers-scli-intl-scn/index.html

If you liked today's post you might also like:

Gold and emerald ring ship wreck treasure

Discovering gold on the reefs of Florida!

Re-blog lottery for the chance to win 3 HSBI

Now for the winner of the re-blog lottery! Today we had 26 people re-blog my post, thank you so much! You guy are the best! The people who re-blogged were:

@blitzzzz
@bulliontools
@caleb-marvel
@claudialesly
@daddydog
@ericburgoyne
@flaxz.alive
@florakese
@ganjafarmer
@henruc
@irfanmustafa
@kungfukid
@kunschj
@ladymisa
@liliana02
@matthew1
@maurojd
@monsterbuster
@olaf.gui
@pepetoken
@stekene
@trautenberk
@trumpman
@vaynard86
@vrezion
@vrezyy

Voluntary daily reminder list for those who request to be on it: @ganjafarmer
If you want to be added to the list as well just feel free to ask!

Thank you everyone! I have been working to improve my engagement and all of you have really helped out! If you have any recommendations or suggestions please feel free to let me know. I'm always looking to improve my posts.

Good luck to everyone!

And the Wheel of Names results:

Congratulations @liliana02 !
You will receive 3 HSBI!

Now for today's re-blog lottery! You just need to re-blog my post you will be placed on the Wheel of Names for a spin to possibly win 3 HSBI units! Just one prize for the lucky winner. An upvote is not required but is always greatly appreciated. Bots aren't allowed to win the prize. Contest ends at 14:00 (2 PM) California Pacific time tomorrow. If I somehow missed your re-blog please let me know and I'll add you to the next draw.

What are HSBI units? They are units that you can purchase to sponsor someone and you in turn receive a unit as well. This way we both benefit! They give you occasional upvotes on your posts for a lifetime, and the more you accumulate the more often you receive upvotes and the bigger they can be. You can read some more here:

https://hive.blog/hive-189312/@steembasicincome/hive-sbi

If you have more questions feel free to ask.

Sort:  

I think I read this article before, still one of my favorite subjects; Shipwreck Silver, Sunken treasures! Worth reblogging again.

You may have seen it in the news a couple years back. I love sunken treasures too! Thank for the re-blog!
!luv

Man, it's hard to say what I would have done. Likely gotten a lawyer so I could work out some kind of rights to the story if I don't get to keep the stuff. A lot of that stuff is pretty niche and it would be hard to unload it unless you melted it down. Which just seems wrong given it is an antiquity. I'm with you though, I love me a good treasure hunt story!

Regarding the item itself:

  • On the one hand, it's an antiquity;
  • On the other hand, it's one of many like it.

Those are two considerations worth keeping in mind.


Consulting with a lawyer on a matter like this is always good advice, especially if you get good news. In that case, fees can be paid from the sale of the find.

If you get bad news, all you lost was time. It's possible you may still be compensated in some other form (maybe a finder's fee); in that case, something is better than nothing.

That was kind of my thinking about the fees.

I agree unloading it would be an issue, probably would have to sell it to some prince from Dubai! It's hard to know what you would do until you're actually in the situation...

I wonder if one day they’ll be like “treasure from 20th & 21st Century found off the coast” and study how our money doodles become less silver as did with the Roman’s! Even though it’s done nowvdigitally , they’ll see physical evidence of it being done from the sixties and say the same thing about us as the Roman Empire 🪙🪙🪙

They will all ask how did those cavemen manage to survive? They will study our garbage, our coins, and even our bones. That's why when I die I want to get buried to give and archeologist in the future a chance to dig up my bones!
!lol

A boy in school put his report card on the ceiling
He needed to get his grades up

Credit: reddit
@geneeverett, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(1/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

What a cool story, I can't say for sure what I'd have done but probably kept it to myself at least a first to find more info and take it from there. @bozz's comment is probably smart, first find out your rights so you know if you're handling it ok legally at least.

!PIMP

Probably the smartest way to go. I just read this morning that they have found some 30,000 or more roman coins just off the coast of Sardinia They think it may have been an ancient shipwreck nearby.

How's your body holding up?
!PIMP

Wow that's pretty cool!

Funny that you asked me yesterday as that was the first evening I really had to lay down and stop doing everything. I took one of my last pain meds. It also made me realize I probably should ask for another box for these days that it gets this bad as we will be busy here for a bit longer because we can't do everything at once.

Today my back is fine, just a huge headache when I woke up, which got worse over the course of the morning. Hopefully, it's over by the time I need to pick up the kid.

Is your foot doing any better with prednisone? Having anything on the leg/foot is a nightmare because it limits you so badly, doesn't it.. Will keep sending healing vibes!

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I think maybe a little better on the foot, still pretty tender though. We shall see as the day progresses. I hope that headache goes away, that is miserable.

You should definitely get some more pain pills just in case your back decides to flare up. Are they still fixing your window today?

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thebighigg just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thisismylife.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District


You must be killin' it out here!
@thebighigg just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thisismylife.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

So very interesting, I’m sure there is lost treasure all around the world!😀
A good friend of mine years ago during the financial crisis of 2008 buried $10,000 in US Fiat in two different locations on their property.
The problem is later when he went to dig it up he forgot where he buried it!😳
He did eventually find a $10,000. The bills were wet and moldy!🙄

Kind of reminds me of that movie Vegas Vacation with Chevy Chase and Randy Quaid. Eddie buries money all over his yard but can't ever remember where so they end up digging everywhere find a few dollars here and there!

lol…. I remember that movie that’s exactly how my friend was digging up all over his property!🤣

hahah, I would do the same, and I will keep my mouth shut until I retrieve all the coin.
!LOLZ !PIMP

Why should you never play poker in the jungle?
Too many cheetahs.

Credit: marshmellowman
@thebighigg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of ekavieka

(3/6)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Always smart to keep your mouth shut!
!lolz
!lol
!pizza

How can you tell if your smartphone is good at playing music?
By the number of gigs it has.

Credit: reddit
@ekavieka, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(4/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ


You must be killin' it out here!
@ekavieka just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

It always baffles me why people feel the need to brag. Just keep it to yourself and enjoy the find. Great article! 😁

Always smart not to brag. Just shut up and smile! Thanks!
!BEER


Hey @bulliontools, here is a little bit of BEER from @thebighigg for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

All these treasures others are finding is making me depressed where is mines 🤣

Once the kids are a little bigger they can help you search!
!lol

I was going to tell you a time travel joke...
but you didn't like it.

Credit: reddit
@bitcoinman, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(5/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Hopefully 🤣

I won 🥳🥳🥳

Congratulations!
!luv

Thank you very much, I'll keep an eye out for the next ones. 🤗

re-bloged

count me in please @ericburgoyne

Sure thing! Thanks for the re-blog!
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Bragging never helps anyone.
Thanks for sharing the story!

I would probably keep a couple and declare the rest properly

untitled.gif

Probably wouldn't have been a bad move!
!pizza

!PIZZA for you as well!

!LUV

Thanks!
!luv
!lol

2000 people die at sea every year.
Let that sink in

Credit: reddit
@thehockeyfan-at, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(3/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

I love sunken treasure! I have two sunken silvers—very tiny!
!LOL

How do locomotives know where they're going?
Lots of training

Credit: reddit
@thebighigg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of silversaver888

(4/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

You received an upvote of 30% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thank you ssg-community!

!hiqvote

@thebighigg, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/1) but the mana is too low. Try again later.

As a consolation, @thebighigg gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Congratulations @thebighigg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 12000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 13000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - October 2023 Winners List

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@stekene(1/10) tipped @thebighigg

I wouldn't have said anything. Do you have a metal detector?