THE ESSENTIAL SACRIFICE FOR GROWTH AND FULFILMENT.

in FreeCompliments17 days ago (edited)

Every dream has a process and a price tag. Those who embrace the process and pay the price, live the dream. Those who don't, just dream.- Jeremy Riddle


In life, we are faced with challenges and difficult tasks that we need to overcome to progress. I have come to understand that embracing these challenges is essential for self-development and to live the life I desire.

You see, life is a continuous journey that involves passing tests to progress to the next stage in the process. Every phase is an opportunity for growth and development and it is only when we successfully overcome these challenges that we can move to the next level.

20221031_155607.jpg

It is highly important to understand that the current phase we find ourselves in is part of the process and we need to focus on passing the test to scale through to the next stage of life.


I have experienced paying the price to obtain the prize at various points in my life and would love to share a part of it with you.


Back then in my university days (2009-2014), I made time to back cakes for students, it's a hobby turned business. I sacrificed my sleep and also took the opportunity to study at night while the cake was baked in my local oven (a big pot with empty tin cans and the cake pan placed on it). It wasn't easy but I still had to do it to practice and get better at my cake baking and decorating skills and also earn some money in the process. You know how sweet it is to work and earn your money no matter how small, the joy is satisfying.


Fast forward to 2017-2018, I decided to go for professional courses in cake decorating. Knowing how stressful my work was as a customer service rep. at that point, I knew I couldn't miss the chance to go for the training or wait until I get a more flexible job to enable me to achieve that.

One of the courses took three weeks but on the days, Monday, Wednesday and Friday, the time began by 10 am until we were done for the day. Most times the class ended by 6 pm-7 pm and there was always a practical assignment to submit in the next class.


My shift at work that period was the night shift, 10 pm to 7 am the following day. At times I went to work from the training venue and after my shift, I returned home to have a little rest and do my cake-baking assignment before my next shift.

After my shift on the day I am to go for the course, I would rush home to freshen up, take some food and leave the house with my assignment. On other days, I prepared my things and carried them along with me for the night shift to go for the training straight from the office. There was a room for me to use in the office building whenever there was need for it.


When I say it was stressful, it was but during that period I prayed to God and put everything in His hands and I was glad that I did not break down along the way.

You can have a view of this post to check out part of the process.

20230212_111247.jpg


Being able to overcome those challenges made me stronger, and bolder and overcome greater challenges. I received pieces of professional training and am very good at what I do now. If I remained in my comfort zone and waited for a free opportunity or time to take the training, I probably would still be dreaming yet to make it a reality. I don't regret and won't any other challenge I would face in life because it is all for the better.


We all have a price to pay as long as we desire growth. The challenges are to make us stronger and better and in the end, we benefit greatly from it.

If you are facing one presently, hang in there, it is a process and you achieve what you desire.

This is my first blog post in the Freecompliments Community and here is my response to the prompt for the Thinker's Corner Contest May edition initiated by @kenechukwu97

What Price did you pay to be who you are today? Do you regret having to pay that price?

Thanks so much for taking the time to read my blog. I would love to hear from you in the comments and if you enjoyed reading this post or learned something from it, stay connected for more.

Love from @winanda ❤️


SEE YOU SOON IN MY NEXT BLOG.



About Winanda

Founder, Winanda's WorldWinanda (Ikwuoma Winifred Diala) holds a Bachelor's degree in Petroleum Engineering. She embraced her passion and became a baker, recipe developer, creative writer, and food content creator. Composing songs, listening to music, and seeing movies, are a few of her hobbies.


Images are mine.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @winanda! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks so much for the update Buzzy.

Awesome job @winanda! Keep pushing yourself and you'll reach your Hive goals before you know it.

That's awesome. You did so well going back and forth from work to your training centre. You knew you could do it and made sacrifices, and now... you are doing so well.

I celebrate you because it sure wasn't easy but it is very rewarding.

Thanks so much, dear for your kind comment. It wasn't easy but it was worth it. It's what we do for growth.

One of my sisters has been baking after graduating from secondary school while waiting for Admission into University. She learned and is still learning bakery, but she's already making peanuts, and cakes and supplying them to her customers. Haha.

I didn't even know it was so stressful to do all these until when I traveled home around November, last year. That was when I saw her doing her thing.

Y'all are really doing well in that side of life. You paid the ultimate price to get to be where you are and you deserve every good thing that's coming your way.

Oh! Wow! That's great. I'm sure she's enjoying it and the joy she brings to her customers will be of great satisfaction to her.

Hahaha... It could be stressful but when the passion is there, she may not feel the stress but keep having fun.

Some of my siblings only enjoy baking when I'm around, lol. They usually say it is stressful, especially when it comes to chin-chin.

I'm still learning because the industry keeps evolving so being innovative and creative could help stand out.

I'm glad to hear that your sister started after secondary school while waiting for admission and my prayer is that she'll succeed beyond her expectations.

Thanks so much, Kene for your kind words and "Amen" to your blessings.
#freecompliments