"Plenty Good Room" (Cover, Negro Spiritual) -- VIBES Week 3

in Vibes2 months ago

20240303_150040.jpg

"Plenty Good Room" is one of my favorite Negro Spirituals, and I sang it at my church about two weeks ago in honor of Black History Month ... but at all times, it is a reminder that no matter who says you can only do this or that based on what THEY THINK about your race, color, creed, or gender, the One Who created us all has not said that.

Historically, my ancestors were cruelly enslaved in the United States by people who thought it good to even deny the people making them rich the right even to their own humanity in this life, and Heaven in the next. My ancestors, however, pushed back, and this song is the record of their assertion that they, too, were God's children and had a right to peace and rest in Heaven, just as much as everyone else, and that they would also have the freedom to "choose their seat and sit down"!

I chose this song for this third week of the competition (and my first) because of the promise of crypto and Hive in particular ... no one can censor your posts here, and no one can stop you from accessing all crypto has to offer right here on the blockchain -- there is "plenty good room!"

(Before I forget -- thank you to @stickupboys for letting me know this competition and community was going on!)

Sort:  

I remembered Roberta Flack. Well done. Blessings.

!gifs well done!

My word -- to be compared with Roberta Flack! THANK YOU!

Lovely song. I enjoyed it. Don't remember hearing that one. Anyway Good luck in the contest.

Take care
!ALIVE

@deeanndmathews! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ justclickindiva. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Thank you so much! "Plenty Good Room" is not as common as other spirituals, but it is a personal favorite of mine!"