Pokemon Brilliant Diamond: A Journey through Time and Space

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

This is a pretty late post, but Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl just dropped recently, and I was hella excited. Pokemon Diamond and Pearl was one of my first Pokemon games and so I was couldn't wait to try out this remake. This was my first Pokemon game in a while, the last one I played was Pokemon Black and White on the NDS.

I recently bought a Nintendo Switch so I could play Pokemon again xD
Pretty hyped about Pokemon Legends: Arceus as well, can't wait to play it when its released next year !!

I have spent too much time on Pokemon Brilliant Diamond lol, I have dedicated most of my time these last 2 weeks into the game. That is also why this post is so late xD

Here's some images from my playthrough:
My overleveled Staraptor decimating Candice, the Ice type Gym Leader, even though Flying types are supposed to be weak to Ice types
2021112202191700-7DCC42E2AF4C1BBE54BB71700F7161B6.jpg

Battle with Flint, one of the Elite Four. You have to beat all 4 members of the Elite Four before you can challenge the Champion.
2021112215504700-7DCC42E2AF4C1BBE54BB71700F7161B6.jpg

I beat the main storyline as fast as possible, in order to unlock the post-game content. Still lost to the Champion, Cynthia, a few times before I finally beat her to claim the Title of Pokemon League Champion as my own.
Unfortunately no images of the Cynthia fight, I was too preoccupied with trying to win to remember to screenshot 😅

The Grand Underground, where you can catch many pokemon, including those not native to the Sinnoh Region (and also try digging for fossils)
2021112219302800-7DCC42E2AF4C1BBE54BB71700F7161B6.jpg

The great underground is a great place to burn time, theres something satisfying about digging for treasure that just sucks you in and leaves you wanting more and time just flies

Post Game Funs:
Pokemon games have always been pretty easy to beat, you just have to play through the story and that mostly allows your Pokemon to level up enough to beat everything. If thats not enough, simply go back and battle every single trainer that you can fight.

1. Challenging Rematches

The post game of Brilliant Diamond/Shining Pearl gives players the challenge they always wanted: you can rematch the Gym Leaders and Elite Four, and they will have different teams of stronger Pokemon which synergize with each other nicely.

Gardenia, the grass type Gym Leader, has a Sun Team. For those not familiar with Pokemon. Sun teams revolve around this move called Sunny Day, which boosts Fire type moves and certain grass type moves. In this case, her Pokemon all pack an attack called Solar Beam, which usually takes 2 turns to attack beacuse its so powerfull. With Sunny Day however, it only takes 1 turn to cast, allowing it to one shot your Pokemons :D (I outsped her with my overleveled Staraptor and took her down kekw)

As for Cynthia, the "Final Boss" in the whole series, her Pokemon can go up to level 88 in the rematches. ( No more sweeping her team with overleveled Pokemon D: ) You're gonna have to get really lucky, or train a good team to deal with her. I chose the latter, and started breeding my dream team.


Egg hatching at its finest xD

2. Shiny Hunting (sorta)

On my way to hatch a decent Gible to take on Cynthia, I managed to hatch a shiny Gible !! I've never been a shiny collector, mostly focusing on getting the strongest Pokemon, but this still feels good 😄

3. Collecting Statues in the Grand Underground

While excavating for fossils, you can sometimes find Boxes, which contain these statues. Other than looking real cool, they increase your chances of finding Pokemon of the same types.
2021112600471700-7DCC42E2AF4C1BBE54BB71700F7161B6.jpg

4. Battle Tower

The real test of "skill". All pokemon here are restricted to level 50, so it really relies on your skill and strategy to win here. It's pretty easy at first, but it gets progressively harder, which the opponents using cheese strategies to destroy you. One match I had the opponent put me to sleep while they spammed Double Team, a move which increases their evasiveness A LOT. To put it into context for non Pokemon players who play Splinterlands, its like having a 1 speed monster up against a 4 speed monster with flying and dodge, makes you wanna throw your switch across the room xD

(Anyone remember Focus sash, endeavour ,quick attack Rattatas? same vibes)


All jokes aside, I really enjoyed this game, sorry in advance if my article seems a bit scuffed, I really want to share this with everyone but I'm very late haha, so i kinda rushed this post a lil. If anyone wants to trade pokemon or anything let me know, I have some Marills, Chimchars and Gibles that were I bred :D

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Nice dude, I was contemplating getting this one since I never played any Pokemon games after the 3rd generation. I think that was the Rube & Sapphire generation. I haven't gotten around to it though. Been to addicted to Final Fantasy XIV to play anything else. Looks good though. I like that underground area and the fossil minigame seems pretty fun.

Haha yeah, the underground is hella fun, I think I have spent more time in the underground than in the overworld. I would love to see this feature in other Pokemon games as well but so far it's only been in the Diamond and Pearl games, both the original and the remakes

Congratulations @abyssalsoul! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

This game looks cool, I remember playing one pokemon game like 2 years ago. I can't remember which one it was but I had a lot of fun.

I liked the 4. Generation and the remake looks realy nice +_+