Forge of Empires Gameplay - First Impression

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Greetings!

When it comes to games I love those that are similar to Age of Empires and when I saw an icon of a game on the laptop that I just bought I was compelled to try it. The game's title is "Forge of Empires" which has some similarities with Age of Empires. Also, I was compelled to try it because it indicated on the registration screen that it was exclusive to the manufacturer of the laptop that I just bought. Below is the video gameplay where I based my first impression.

Logging in for the first time

The first time that I logged in, I am greeted with a series of welcome screens (photos below) telling me about building the city of my dream. I am quite interested in this kind of welcome so I read some of the screens.

2.png

One of the welcome screens (photo below )is saying about what would I want to be in this game, to be a fighter, or to be a trader. I have been a lot into fighter things playing games so I am thinking of becoming a trader this time around.

3.png

The game proper

At first, the photo below is what my city looks like as a start and I am greeted by Ragu Silvertongue that I am starting with a modest city. At this moment it really seems that I am building a city. I like the game's landscape since I am a lover of an urban setting.

vlcsnap-2022-09-05-13h46m01s577.png

A helping hand

Another likable feature of this game is the helpful instruction that tells new players what to do by means of an arrow, which I find very helpful thus helping me to feel the game.

Forge of Empires_1.gif

Correcting a mistake

Another helping hand that I found very helpful is that the game will give you an instruction that you deployed a structure in the wrong location, this helps a lot because most of the time new players do not know if he/she has deployed a structure in its correct/optimal location.

Forge of Empires_2_1.gif

Reaching a New Age

About less than a minute into the game I already reached a new "Age" which is the "Bronze Age" with a corresponding reward (two photos below). In the second photo, I can see that I started in the Stone Age, after I built a "Stilt House" I immediately progressed into the "Bronze Age".

vlcsnap-2022-09-05-14h03m53s759.png

vlcsnap-2022-09-05-14h03m21s355.png

Forge Points

The game uses forge points to unlock game features and build structures aside from Diamonds (which can be bought with real money, the currency is in USD).

Story Guide

After the instruction arrow at the start of the game, it is now the turn of the "Story" tab (photo below) that guides a player on what he/she would do next. I love this feature because it helps a player in playing the game going forward, without this feature I may not continue playing even if I love the graphics and narrative of the game. So be sure to always look at the "Story" tab for helpful game tips and updates to the game.

vlcsnap-2022-09-05-18h10m31s261.png

Here's a look at the "Story" tab when clicked...

vlcsnap-2022-09-05-18h21m37s600.png

Castle System

Within the game is a "Castle System" which can be leveled up to a maximum of level 20. Each level has a corresponding reward.

Forge of Empires_3_1.gif

Conquering/Attacking a Province

While playing, I was instructed to perform an attack on a certain province which of course I emerge victorious and later I was instructed to fully conquer a province. Below is a gif image on how an attack looks like.

Forge of Empires_4_2.gif

And below is the first province that was conquered for more than thirty minutes.

Province 2.jpg

How my city looks like after playing for more than thirty minutes

Below is what my city looks like after playing for more than thirty minutes.

Forge of Empires_5_1.gif

Final Thoughts

First of all, I can see that this game mimics the playing style and economy of Clash of Clans by Supercell. If ever you played Clash of Clans before they are very similar. As of the moment of writing this blog I am not feeling that this is a P2E game. Although you can spend real money to make your progress faster, forge points are the free alternative if a player does not want to spend money. This is a game that you can play for years to come. If ever a player wanted to spend real money the payment mode is PayPal and Credit Card.

That is all for now guys, catch you up with the next one. Wishing you all safety, good health, and abundance.

I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Sort:  

Congratulations @afterglow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 65000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List

Thank you @hivebuzz

You're welcome @afterglow, it's well deserved! Congrats on your constant involvement on Hive 😊👍

I go back and forth between loving and hating games like this. They're actually good, but it bothers me to know that they're stolen from other games. When I read your post, I realized that this game is a mix between Clash of Clans and Age of Empires. I played both games for years and enjoyed them both. What are your thoughts? For example, would you play this game for 1-2 years?

I think I am going to play this for months to come, I cannot speculate if I will play it for more than a year, it depends on my time availability and if the game offers is still significant for me to play. Thank you for dipping by and have a nice day ahead.