The game I spent 1000's of hours playing in my childhood - Star Wars Battlefront II

in Hive Gaming14 days ago

Gracias por pasar, version en español abajo
image.png


In a walk through some of the games that I have enjoyed the most, I remember one in particular that I don't really know how it came to my Xbox but I do remember having played it until I was tired, at a time in my life where video games were my escape, I had a few friends because I spent most of my time traveling and not being in a fixed place, there was no internet so talking to them was a protocol, but there was an Xbox that could take me everywhere

Along with many other games it is clear, but none like this one, I think that at all times I have had a very particular folder of games of the best that stand out to this day, SSX, Halo 2, several of the LEGO games and many other shooters, although the latter without much attention on my part.


image.png

image.png


If they put you in a galactic scenario where two armies kill each other, and in the middle there are sorcerers with lightsabers who can kill you in an instant, I think you already know which game I'm going to opt for, this game in its time will do it. I played until I was tired, reliving the movies and the scenarios they had as well as creating my own narratives.


image.png

image.png


You have different game modes that I am not going to explain, the mode that I played the most was conquest which is one army against another, this is the main mode of the game although not the only one because in this installment of Battlefront space battles are introduced that At first they were a pain to understand but then they became my favorite multiplayer mode.

In it you have to reach a certain number of points, having two star cruisers with various weak points that we can attack, the command bridge, the thrusters, the communications antenna, we can even sabotage everything from the inside with a combat ship, Take a couple of our companions and kill everyone inside.


image.png

image.png


The AI is not too intelligent on this difficulty, although we can enter hell and put it on the Elite difficulty where just by entering they are already killing you, and well your team doesn't do much anyway, we always have to be decisive to win the conquests of the planets at the same time that we take care of the control points of our troops and I already told you that it is important to have several control points in various areas if you want your bots to be useful for something.


image.png

image.png


But if you are good, have a good streak and don't get killed you will have the opportunity to meet a hero and be able to control him, and this is the most accurate representation of chaos in battle because this special character has powers far superior to the troops. On foot, whether a Jedi, a Sith or a bounty hunter, we can walk around the entire stage, killing the troops more easily.

It is a delight when you get some of these heroes, because you know that now you are going to go through the battlefield, although be careful because a couple of shots can still finish you off.


image.png


In addition to the variety of battlefields, the sounds that make you feel like you are in that mythical galaxy fighting a duel against some droids, the game modes that are usually the most entertaining, I think it is the perfect Star Wars game before That everything went to hell with the purchase of Disney and the subsequent remakes that DICE and company made, it is a game that does not age and how good it is is evident from the first moment you start the battle.


untitled.gif






Español


imagen.png


En un paseo por algunos de los juegos que mas he disfrutado recuerdo uno en particular que no se muy bien como es que llegó a mi xbox pero que si recuerdo haberlo jugado hasta el cansancio, en un momento de mi vida en donde los videojuegos eran mi escape, tenia unos pocos amigos porque me la pasaba viajando y no estando en algun sitio fijo, no habia internet por lo que hablar con ellos era un protocolo, pero si estaba una xbox que me podia llevar para todos lados

Junto con muchos otros juegos esta claro, pero ninguno como este, creo que en todo momento he tenido una carpeta de juegos muy particular de los mejores que hasta hoy resaltan, SSX, Halo 2, varios de los LEGO juegos y muchos otros shooters, aunque estos ultimos sin demasiada atencion de mi parte.


imagen.png

imagen.png


Si te ponen en un escenario galactico en donde dos ejercitos se matan entre ellos, y en el medio hay hechizeros con sables de luz que pueden matarte en un instante creo que ya saben por cual juego me voy a decantar, este juego en su tiempo lo jugaba hasta el cansancio, revivia las peliculas y los escenarios que tenian asi como creaba mis propias narrativas.


imagen.png

imagen.png


Tienes distintos modos de juego que no voy a explicar, el modo que mas jugaba era el de conquista que es un ejercito contra otro, este es el modo principal del juego aunque no el unico porque en esta entrega de Battlefront se introducen las batallas espaciales que al principio eran un dolor de cabeza de entender pero luego se ha convertido en mi modo preferido en multijugador.

En ella tienes que llegar hasta una cierta cantidad de puntos, teniendo dos cruceros estelares con diversos puntos debiles que podemos atacar, el puente de mando, los propulsores, la antena de comunicaciones, hasta podemos incluso sabotear todo desde adentro con una nave de combate, llevarnos a un par de compañeros y matar a todos los que esten adentro.


imagen.png

imagen.png


La AI no es demasiado inteligente en esta dificultad, aunque podemos entrar en el infierno y ponerla en la dificultad de Elite en donde de solo entrar ya estan acabando contigo, y bueno tu equipo no es que haga mucho de todos modos, tenemos que ser siempre determinante para ganar las conquistas de los planetas al mismo tiempo que cuidamos los puntos de control de nuestras tropas y ya les digo que es importante tener varios puntos de control en varias zonas si quieres que tus bots sirvan para algo.


imagen.png

imagen.png


Pero si eres bueno, tienes una buena racha y no te matan vas a tener la oportunidad de encontrarte con un heroe y poder controlarlo, y esta es la representacion mas acertada del caos en la batalla porque este personaje especial tiene facultades muy superiores a las tropas de a pie, ya sea un Jedi, un Sith o un cazarrecompensas podemos pasearnos por todo el escenario acabando con las tropas mas facilmente

Es un deleite cuando te salen algunos de estos heroes, porque sabes que ahora vas a ir por el campo de batalla sobrado, aunque con cuidado porque un par de disparos aun pueden acabar contigo.


imagen.png


Ademas de la variedad de campos de batalla, los sonidos que te hacen sentir que estas en esa mitica galaxia batiendote en duelo contra unos droides, los modos de juego que suelen ser los mas entretenidos, creo que es el juego de Star Wars perfecto antes de que se fuese todo al carajo con la compra de Disney y los posteriores remakes que hicieron DICE y compañia, es un juego que no envejece y lo bueno que es se le nota desde el primer momento que empiezas la batalla.


untitled.gif

Sort:  

I remember reading recently that they absolutely butchered the remaster of this. The legendary loading screen was even all wrong.

I never knew they attempted to resurrect the old games. Maybe their memory lives on better in my head. Even my siblings who did not play remember the iconic old loading screen.

I can still hear it...

boop, boop, boop,

boop boop boop

BEEP BEEP BEEP!

 14 days ago  

I remember playing this installment, at that time these graphics were very amazing, especially in the fashion in which the series was very popular, I lived good times in this game.

While I did enjoy this game very much, especially the chance to play as heros and other new features, the game's prequel will always be my favorite. There's just something about that first original Battlefront that I loved that the second game sort of missed. Maybe it was just my nostalgia.

Favorite planets: Kamino, Bespin, Hoth, Rhen Var...

But only on Geonosis was I able to reach ultimate high records. In a single battle I personally defeated almost half of the enemy's reinforcements (110 units to be exact; I'll never forget it).

Needless to say, the Republic awarded me with such titles as Dead Eye, Tank Buster, Killing Spree and the like. I was a lot of droids' Nemesis. Bantha Fodder, the lot of them!

Although I am a lover of the Star Wars saga, I was never able to play any of its videogames. I think I'm still in time to try their best titles. This one looks pretty faithful to the movie franchise, and of course, a game that mesmerizes for hours. It's great that you were able to enjoy it to the fullest.

 13 days ago  

A mi aún me sorprende que lograran tener fallos en lo que sería una idea millonaria: Eso que pedían los jugadores por tanto tiempo de una versión remasterizada de los Battlefront clásicos y lo hicieron a medias ganas.

Pero bueno, algún día, quizás, finalmente me anime a probar el original para finalmente ver con mis manos y ojos de donde viene esta leyenda de la que tanto escuchado, incluso una vez de mi hermano mayor que en sus años de adolescencia lo jugó unas cuantas veces en pantalla partida en una Xbox.

Totally agree about that Star Wars feel! The sound effects, the music, the different planets...it really felt like you were right there in the action.
Then i was playing alot the 2016 version too, still today has a lot of players and is awesome. Was a shame EA abandoned the development of this game. Did you have a favorite map or game mode?